We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”
Review of Friar's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friar's Lodge
Ranked #17 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2008

What a wonderful stay!

Hotel itself is right in the middle of kinsale down a quiet side street with private parking.
Superbly well kept building and rooms, with notable attention in everything that they could possibly do.

Check in was great, staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful with great reccomendations of what to do and where to eat. Room was huge, with the most comfortable beds and spotless bathroom.

Best aspect was the attention to detail, for example...
the offer of different types of pillows for a perfect night sleep
weather forecast card slipped under the door in the evening to help plan the next day
guide books in the rooom

Breakfast was best that we had the whole holiday, great variety and superb presentation.
Value for money-wise, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and would reccomend it to anyone for a perfect stay.
Thank you to all of the staff

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravellerCu11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Friar's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 256 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2008

Stayed at the Friars Lodge Friday 8th February for 1 night.We had a huge bedroom with two double beds and one single. Very clean and well decorated. The Lodge is only 5 years old. Beds very comfortable and the room was very quiet. Bathroom is huge. Again spotlessly clean. Breakfast in the morning was a delight. Fresh fruit,juices,cereals,full Irish breakfast,toast,buns etc.. Location is ideal only 2 minutes walk to town. Large free car park that can house 20 cars so no problems with parking. Would certainly stay at Friars lodge on my next visit to Kinsale.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pabloholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Just returned from weekend at Friars Lodge. Had late flight in and a telephone call from reception letting me know who would be available on arrival. Quality of accommodation excellent. Breakfast very tasty with good variety on menu. Waited on by uniformed waitresses who were extremely pleasant and attentive. Room was large and bathroom huge. Linen and towel passed my smelling test - smelled of being newly laundered and fresh. All in all a very friendly guest house with quality furnishings etc yet retained a comfortable homely feel. The next day after return home booked again for next trip in three months and no doubt will do so again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triplover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

This is a great place to stay in Kinsale. The only reason I didn't give it a five-star rating is that the owner, who manned the front-desk most of the time we were there was not very welcoming or helpful.

The public spaces are great, the location is very good, and our room was spacious and comfortable. There is free internet access in the lobby. Supposedly, WI-Fie is available, though I couldn't get my laptop to connect for some reason. Breakfast was standard for Ireland.

Kinsale is a beautiful town! The inn is convenient walking distance to the center of the action.

The only complaint I'd have, aside from the usually brusque front desk assistance, was that the water pressure in the toilet was poor, necessitating several flushes at times, with long waits for the tank to refill. Annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MaryFranSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Friars Lodge is a straightforward proposition - it's a guest house, not a hotel; so no restaurant or bar. It does what it does very well. We had an excellent room; as a family of four we had a huge room with two double beds and a single. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As they don't have a restaurant they are happy to keep the menus of every restaurant in town available in the reception area. I found the staff recommendations to be very accurate. It's a 5 minute walk to the town centre which means it's also very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

The Friar's lodge is located in Kinsale within walking distance of the downtown hub. The rooms vary in size from large to small but all are relatively new and all very clean. There is an excellent breakfast. We have stayed here twice while playing golf at the Old Head course which is about a 35 minute drive from Kinsale.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnyjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Our group of eight golfers stayed one night here while playing Old Head. This was the first night of an eight night golfing trip. Friars Lodge was reasonably priced, very clean, comfortable, and convienently located. We didn't need a lot of help from the front desk but they were pleasant enough. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AU_golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.2 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friar's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friar's Lodge

Address: Friar Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Hotel Class:5 star — Friar's Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Friar`s Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing