We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Really Sure if This is Worthy of 4 Stars...”
Review of Friar's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friar's Lodge
Ranked #17 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Bit expensive for what we got, room wasn't exactly 4 star quality. Breakfast wasn't great, buffet and basic Irish breakfast. Location was good though. Bit short on customer service! Oh and be careful of buying crisps from the vending machine, mine were out of date by a very long time frame!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Friar's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

A wonderful place to stay--cozy atmosphere, clean rooms with plenty of space and comfortable beds, and great breakfast (good selection and tasty!). Friendly, helpful staff--we arrived after check-in hours (the doors were locked), but they had left a note and key so we could get to our room. Perfect location--right in the center of town, but on a quiet street with car parking. Perfect!

Room Tip: Room 118 has plenty of room if traveling with older children (late teens)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A brilliant find - this is warm and welcoming, right in the centre of things in Kinsale, but quiet at night. Friendly service and brilliant breakfast. The rooms are a good size, and there's car parking too (believe me in Kinsale, that's a winner). You even get a sherry to welcome you in. Will definitely be back soon. Kinsale is pretty brilliant too - we went for the Arts Festival and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoscoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location for this B&B was excellent. We enjoyed our time in Kinsale. The room was so spacious. Finally the room had enough seats for three of us . The beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBabs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have just returned to the Friars Lodge having not been there for 2 years. It was good to see that the extremely high standards of cleanliness and helpfulness have been maintained along with the quality and choice of breakfasts. We chose to return as we had remembered the beautifully furnished and spacious bedroom we had previously and we were certainly not disappointed with the one we had this time. This is the first time we have taken our Dalmatian dog and she was made to feel welcome with no silly extra charges for her.
We will definitely be returning to this fine, friendly establishment on our next visit to Ireland

Room Tip: When booking ensure you specify your precise requirements
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just stayed for one night, perfect location, just a few minutes stroll downhill into Kinsale. Private car-park is a bonus. Reception area is very homely and welcoming, complete with a complimentary decanter of sherry for the guests to help themselves!! We had a large, spacious room, with a King-size bed and choice of pillows! Bathroom was adequate, shower was a bit small but piping hot water. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and a large choice on the menu. Staff were very pleasant, very accommodating and cheerful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Friar's Lodge is okay, but we did have some issues when we stayed there. My wife, daughter, dog and I went to Kinsale for a long weekend. There is parking available which is convenient.The room was a fine size and comfortable, there was a bed waiting for my daughter, as we requested. The bathroom was okay - the sink stopper was missing and there was an odd sulfur like smell coming from the sink. The breakfast provided was not really worth it - and it was free. The toast, cereals and mini pastries were fine, but the hot menu was eh - I tried the tar paper like bacon and a fried/poached egg - it seemed like it had been cooked and reheated. We stayed for three nights and I made my breakfast ordering error only once. The service at breakfast was attentive and friendly. The really off and off-putting part was that one night, an uninvited person entered our room. While they quickly left, and there was no harm done, the point of getting a room is to have privacy(and comfort), if there is no privacy, what are you paying for. To make matters worse, when I mentioned this to the person at the front desk, the response was odd "oh that was probably the night watchman" and "I will look into this" - not sure how that made it okay.. I suppose I would consider going back to the self catering houses, but I would need to bring an extra lock.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friar's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friar's Lodge

Address: Friar Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Hotel Class:5 star — Friar's Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Friar`s Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing