We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Golden Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate House
Ranked #23 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the BEST B&Bs I have stayed at in Ireland - it's a close walk from the Desmond castle and church. This perfect B&B is close to some of the over priced recommended B&B on Lonely Planet but by far the better option !! The hosts are so friendly and go out of their way to help you in any way possible. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, all furniture and finishes are brand new. Breakfast is fantastic - try the waffles and scones - they are AMAZING !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this superb B&B in Kinsale for four nights and used it as a base to travel Cork county. Situated a mere three minute walk from the town centre, this B&B is centrally located, yet much more reasonably priced than the other B&Bs further along the same road. The pristine bedroom with ensuite bathroom was newly furnished and very spacious. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, and they gave us great tips on activities, walks in the area, and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was scrumptious - Carol's homebaked scones and waffles were out of this world! We would've stayed longer if we had the time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FallonMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The owner of Olde Bakery recommended Golden Gate House to us and we had a wonderful time. The owners are warm,friendly, and very helpful.Our airline had lost our luggage and Carole helped us get our luggage. They also made wonderful recommendations for food and entertainment.The golden Gate house is about 10 minute walk from town. Our room was very neat and clean. The bed is comfortable.The food was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynnK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The owner of Olde Bakery recommended Golden Gate House to us and we had a wonderful time. The owners are very warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. Our airline had lost our luggage (over the Easter holiday no less) and Carole helped us get it immediately by working with the delivery driver. Also, they were filled with great recommendations for restaurants and pubs. Their house is by Desmond Castle, just a short (probably 5-10 min) walk to Kinsale center. The breakfasts were delicious, and there were multiple options beyond just the traditional irish breakfast. I would recommend Golden Gate House to anyone staying in Kinsale!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This B7B was recommended by the owner of the Olde Bakery B & B, she kindly helped us as we were knocking on an empty building late in the day, tired, cold and looking for a B& B with rooms available. The owner came down and we followed her to the Golden Gate which is set up above the town but in easy walking distance to the town center. Very accomodating, and gracious hosts. The room was quiet and beds were comfortable. Good breakfast. The scones were wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.7 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Joy's Accommodation
Joy's Accommodation
#48 of 53 in Kinsale
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate House

Property: Golden Gate House
Address: Golden Gate House Barrack Street | Kinsale, Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing