We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b with balconys and garden.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely b&b with balconys and garden.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at pier house. A little difficult to find. Garden courtyard and balconys beautiful. Got in early evening so parked right across street in parking lot free as long as we weregone by 10:30. Bathroom a little small . Great breakfast.
Decorated very nice. Wished we could of stayed another day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludwig001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    64
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
135
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This B&B is well located, the rooms are excellent and there is a lot of attention to the surrounding features. What makes this place "excellent" is the personal attention and service form the staff, particularly Anne. We had a fantastic time and would definately return to Pier House :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After an initial hiccup with our booking and it being resolved by Ann, we had a very comfortable 2 night stay. The venue is very well located in the centre of Kinsale and the rooms were very good size and quality. There is some street noise late at night in the room facing the back but nothing too terrible. A good breakfast is served in the nice dining room and having use of the garden to relax or for sundowners is a plus. Thanks Anne.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CyndyPurchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongan Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The B&B was excellently located, close to all facilities in Kinsale and right next door to a fantastic cafe- Dino's.
The host was warm and welcoming. The room was clean with comfortable beds. The grounds were lovely with places to sit and relax; allowing us time to just take in the atmosphere of being in such a lovely place. Then stepping through the gate we were right in the middle of the town.
Breakfast was really good, sustaining us for the busy day ahead.
We highly recommend Pier House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban,South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Pier House. We chose a room with a balcony and were pleased to look over the lovely garden. Room was big but bathroom very narrow, however impeccably clean. Ann was so welcoming and friendly and position of the guesthouse cannot be beaten in Kinsale. Right on the Marina yet behind a wall is this tranquil garden. We were able to use the gas barbeque and the little gazebo area one night as we wanted a break from restaurants. It was a lovely evening. I will return to this fabulous spot, my favourite on our whole trip around Ireland.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms with balconies are best. Back rooms are just as nice but face a busy road with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Enjoyed a three night trip to the Cork region with girlfriends in July 2013, which was booked through McKinlay and Kidd. We spent only one night at the Pier House but would definitely return. The location is extremely central, the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really good. I have no hesitation in recommending the Pier House as an excellent place to stay when visitng Kinsale.
Just to add that we had a lovely dinner in Fishy Fishy restuarant and thoroughly enjoyed Don and Barry's historic stroll around the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I loved this B&B! I normally chose hotels over B&Bs, but I'll be reconsidering that after this visit. The B&B is ideally located, exactly in the centre of town. It has lovely gardens and a little decking area that you could sit out in. Ann was very friendly and welcoming when we arrived. Our room was not one with a balcony, but was still quite spacious and beautifully decorated. Everything was clean and fresh. Despite the windows overlooking the street, the noise from outside was not much of a distraction. Apart from that noise, we weren't bothered by anything else in terms of noise. The facilities are great for a B&B - there's a roof terrace where you can sit outside and enjoy the evening, a lounge with internet access and - my favourite - a wine station with ice buckets, glasses, ice and corkscrews. We bought a bottle of wine and let it chill in our room while we went out for dinner. When we came back, we had lovely cold white wine waiting for us.

The only area I felt was a little below my expectations was breakfast. I'd have liked a bigger selection from the continental options - there was just yoghurts and cereal. I'd have liked some pastries or cheese too.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and were very impressed with the B&B and its facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pier House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House b&b
Pier House Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing