We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better for the expensive price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rooms are ok, location is good, kept waiting in the hall for 10 mins while somebody went of to gets room keys, breakfast was very poor overcooked and it was very busy and we had to wait for a table only one waitress working , expected more for €70 a night each

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnamallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 299 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pier House ticked all the boxes for location, cleanliness, nice updated room, good breakfast and very helpful owner. After a long day of travel Annie's friendliness and help with the luggage was much appreciated. If I am ever fortunate to get back to Kinsale I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived in Kinsale late afternoon and walked around a bit looking for a place to stay... we happened upon the Pier House in its great location and we're so happy to have found it! Ann was a very welcoming hostess and showed us a few options of rooms that were available. We picked the large and spacious Room 7. She filled us in on all of the details of the B&B and area and gave us a great recommendation for dinner that evening. Breakfast the next morning was quick and delish - couldn't have asked for much more! We made friends with Toby who's happy to just have his belly rubbed :)

My only real complaint was that the WiFi really only worked in the sitting area, not the rooms. But other than that, we really enjoyed our brief stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piercey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read all the great reviews on The Pierhouse, I was dissappointed not to have actually stayed in the property. I arrived at the property only to be told that my 2 night booking for myself, partner and 6 month old, was no longer available as they had not received my credit card details to confirm my reservation. Very upsetting, considering that I responded to the booking email immediately with all my details and the mail shows as having been sent successfully from my side. The Landlady did try ringing around a few other b&b's to look for alternative accomodation for my family, but I felt the damage had already been done and put a stain on our trip to Kinsale.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Pisces17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time in the pier house... Great location, our room was huge and spotlessly clean
Yummy breakfast...
But most importantly the owner and staff were so friendly, helpful and warm.. you cant beat a welcoming smile and helpful tips about kinsale and of course toby the dog showed us around town...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in Kinsale for one night on our way back to Dublin, and were very pleased with our experience at the Pier House. Comfortable room, tasteful decoration, very nice breakfast. The Pier House is across the Main Street from an outrageously good restaurant, Max's, which our hostess Ann recommended, and we do too! Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our flight was delayed and we arrived around 12.00pm on a saturday night and I cannot fault the owner for waiting up for us and still being pleasant.The room was a good size but overlooked the street which was noisy and could still be heard with window closed. At 3.30am we were woken by other guests coming in drunk and threatening to kick each others doors down, they then proceeded to either have a few extra drinks in one of the rooms, it seemed like it was next door as I could hear every word.
The breakfast was lovely and we remarked to owner about the noise however she said she did not hear it. I am surprised as we are not light sleepers and have never had such a situation in a B&B before.
Pier House is in a good location especially arriving late due to free parking across the road, however it is expensive and not as good as other B&B's that I stayed in on trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 52 in Kinsale
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $144 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House b&b
Pier House Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing