We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY UNSAFE DISGUSTING KIP”
Review of Dempsey's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dempsey's Hostel
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Do not stay here. Avoid at all costs. No receptionist, door wide open all day, signs everywhere to watch your valuables, no locks on doors, no locker facilities. One toilet and shower room between about 6 rooms on the first floor incuding dorms. Aggressive owner. Filthy kitchen. Tourist office said they had received so many complaints about it. If you want to have your stuff stolen and feel vulnerable and unsafe, have a fetish for dirty kitchens then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank HelpMeHelpYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrymanfan, Manager at Dempsey's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2011

Ok OK! i took over as manager in June 2008, so this is before my stint, let me assure you that EVERYTHING has been rectified, their is always a receptionist now, i personally am on hand to welcome guests, check them in and assist them in any way i can, ALL doors have locks and dorms have combination codes, door IS open if it's warm, but their is very nice gentleman working in the garage next door who can watch the place, and i am never very far away, also the tool hire across the road has people to keep watch! Kitchen is now well equipped and spotless, as for toilet upstairs, still only one but 2 showers downstairs and 3 toilets!

Sorry your stay was so abysmal, things are very different now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2007

I stayed there recently and really enjoyed my time. Yes,it is a basic hostel and kitchen facilities are not up to date with no oven just gas stoves, but the owner and the staff do their best to satisfy your stay.When i needed a tin opener (the other one was broken) the owner went to the store right away to buy a new one.
The beds are comfortable, i liked the conservatory with the ping pong table and cozy sofas to hang out on. And the tv room with a collection of videos. The hostel is not far from town and for emergency shopping there is .Texaco right next door.Very useful if you need to buy the papers in the morning and some cans of beer in the evening :)
There is a doorcode on the front door which is closed by night but is open during the day for arrivals.The only thing i have to complain about is that there are no keys for the rooms, although the private rooms have a bolt on the inside door. Apart from that i found the hostel clean. Just the kitchen needs updating.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank analena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alessiol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank angiolinajolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofiabrt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bever45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dempsey's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dempsey's Hostel

Address: Eastern Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kinsale
Price Range: $16 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dempsey's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing