We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind folks!”
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchorage
Ranked #32 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
3,376 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,926 helpful votes
“Kind folks!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The McCarthys are so kind! Breakfast was wonderful, and the beds were comfortable. My friends and I enjoyed ourselves and knew that if we needed anything at all, we need only ask! The shower was a little confusing, but just make sure you ask about that when you check in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Anchorage and quite honestly would not recommend it. Our room was tiny with precious little space to navigate around the bed. A kettle was provided but no tea or coffee accompanied it. The walls are very thin and other guests returning to the B&B In the early hours could be clearly heard. Breakfast was poor, toast was inedible, service was slow. We will definitely not return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Agatha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stumbled into this B&B just hoping we would find a place close to the action in Kinsale. It is clean, quiet and our rooms were huge! The king size bed was great after having a lot of smaller sized beds on our trip. Mary, our main contact is such a character! She gave us a recommendation for a fishing guide "Butch" who took us out to the bay and we had a GREAT day - caught pollack and cod! It was so much FUN! and we would never have found him without Mary's help. Get over the steps - it is good exercise. The breakfast was just fine - loved the mushrooms and the bend over backwards to make you feel at home. You have breakfast down the hill at the other B&B, but who cares? We LOVE Kinsale and would go back in a heartbeat. It is a great place to enjoy Ireland and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a hike, stay where the view is amazing. We just took what we needed out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The room was very very small.No bedside lights and one window view was the boiler flue about six inches from the window. every time the boiler started up you heard it in the room. tea coffee and kettle provided. The shower room was very small with nowhere to even put a toothbrush.The public car park was very busy and had difficulty finding a parking space at night.

Room Tip: book Rock View to avoid steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariondp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I arrived late Sunday afternoon without a booking, Brian and Ann came back from their lunch to show me the rooms here and in their other B&B the Rockview. They were very accommodating and helpful. My room was huge, quiet, clean and warm. The bed was very comfortable and cosy. The ensuite bathroom was very small, especially the handbasin - it was a bit tricky to get any water in the bottle. The internet is free, but unfortunately not very good. Breakfast is served in Rockview and was very nice. Though if you have lots of luggage there are a lot of stairs! Lucky for me Brian offered to carry my bag. I would recommend and revisit this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teejaydfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Brian & Ann run a very pleasant B&B and what is handy about it is they also run Rock View which is placed right beside The Anchorage. Both B&B`s are to a high standard, very clean and tidy and comfortable, a very pleasant place to stay. I run motor bike runs round Ireland and as anyone who has read my reviews know Im a bit fussy. Its nice and quiet and staying in The Anchorage you have nice views just round the corner in the town 4 mins walk away. The breakfasts are super and plentiful. The only thing about The Anchorage would be the run of steps up to the B&B but if you let Brian or Ann know your not the best on steps they will put you in Rock View which is on ground level.There is a large area for car parking and motorbikes are safe there to. We have stayed there two or three times on our journeys round Ireland and we always have had excellent service. Two very pleasant folk and look forward to getting back.

Room Tip: Any room really there all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hill Farm
Harbour Hill Farm
#9 of 53 in Kinsale
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Joy's Accommodation
Joy's Accommodation
#48 of 53 in Kinsale
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#37 of 53 in Kinsale
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: The Anchorage The Glen, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing