We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cosy home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Lobster Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lobster Cottage
Sitting Room Nice Open Fire Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Lobster Cottage
Sitting Room
Nice Open Fire Place
Sky TV and Wifi
Adjoining Dining Area
Springs Flowers on window with and outside patio view
Kitchen Bright and Modern
Equipped with Dryer and Washing Machine
Dish Washer, Microwave,
Large Fridge Freezer
Twin Bedroom no 2 front of house
View from bedroom  no 3
Bedroom Small front of house
master bedroom 5 ft bed back of house no1
shower and toilet attached to master bedroom
Main bathroom large shower
view from fishing marina
View from castle Marina
food in Kinsale
food in kinsale
seafood chowder a must in KINSALE
Harbour view from pier road
Small streets of kinsale
milk market outdoor seating for food
Stairs to upper level
Coal effect fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharelle...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable cosy home away from home”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were 2 couples who stayed in Lobster Cottage. The owners met us and explained everything in the cottage as well as gave some tips on where to go in the town. We enjoyed a wonderful 3 nights in this cottage on the water. It was a quick picturesque walk to town and we even walked over the bridge to the ruins on the other side of the bay. The only small thing that could be improved is a door on the ensuite. If ever we are back, we'd stay there again. Thanks Mary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home. Renovated main bathroom. Had everything you needed for a short or long stay.
Liked least: no door on the ensuite,
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canuk_Gyp...
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Lovely cozy cottage which is surprisingly spacious.”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed for 3 days and found the cottage very convenient to downtown Kinsale with lovely view of the harbour. Would certainly visit again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you for the visit, hope you come back for a longer time in the not too distance future.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
228jill
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Great place to land Old world charm outside modern inside”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Great place to land Old world charm outside & modern inside very nicely done comfortable
Charming Kitchen fully equipped with all modern conveniences every room beautifully decorated
Owner very easy to work with. Met us at property with a big smile and welcome, helpful tips and advise and a followup later in week by phone to make sure we were well.
The Ocean inlet outside your window, boats docked, a lot of Marine life seals otters and the usual seagulls but great Blue Herons and many other species as well very active docks and colorful lobster cages and working vessels all around ... this wonderful cottage was great for 2 to 6 people .... a lovely experience

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Thanks Jill. Happy to have ye for the weeks.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christed
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, everything at Lobster Cottage as stated by the owners!”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

I am sorry to be so late with our review. Four adults had a fantastic time in Kinsale, out and about each day and tried to sample as many of the excellent restaurants that we could. I will mention Fishy Fishy here as it was the one that we went back to for our last evenings meal in Ireland as we had enjoyed it so much the first time around.

Our host at the cottage was very accommodating and available for anything if needed to be. We were very fortunate to have off street parking. Everything was as stated and we found it very comfortable and well decorated. The walk into town felt just like minutes, coming home there is pub on the way out and we "fell" into there several times and met up with a bunch of gentlemen that had come from Dublin to fish, what a night of fun and celebrations that was, never to be forgotten!

We would certainly rent this home again and hope to do so another year.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Thank you all for visiting kinsale and staying in no 2 lobster cottage.
Hope you return again in the near future.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaver055
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location and a clean comfortable cottage”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Mary and Ed met us at the cottage and showed us around, explaining a few things. The location is excellent, easy to find and right on the water front with the centre of Kinsale just a few minutes walk. There is a supermarket 15 minutes walk or just a few minutes by car - (underground car park). Parking space right next to the cottage was great. The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed. It would be suitable for a family or 2 couples with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms as well as a downstairs toilet. A few minor things - there was a dishwasher. but no dishwasher detergent was supplied. A couple of lights didn't work and the cistern in the bathroom took a very long time to fill. Overall though it was a great place to stay. Kinsale is lovely and Charles Fort is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: only staying 3 nights
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for staying, thanks for letting us know the bulbs were not working, also.
We look forward to your return,
Mary and Ed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirs71
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, home from home & great location”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great location with parking and within easy reach of Cork airport and city. We were warmly greeted by Mary on arrival and settled in quickly. The facilities in the cottage are superb & everything you need, comfy beds, plenty of space and lovely views of the harbour. A nice stroll into town where there are a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops. Our favourites for food were Kitty O'Seas and Hamlets, Kitty's was a great venue for live music too.
We will certainly return to Kinsale and Lobster cottage :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgw2
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Accomodation”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a week spent at 2 Lobster Cottage Kinsale, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Cottage is lovely, bright and clean and had everything that we could have possibly needed and more. The bedding was very clean, which is something that we always look for, and the bed very comfortable.

Although the weather was cool in the evening we did not need to use the heating at all, as it is a very warm cottage. We actually switched the heating off!!!

Ed and Mary were lovely and accommodated our every need. We would definitely return and highly recommend the cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing