We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family run inn”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #2 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Old Presbytery for 2 nights in July 2007 as part of our 2-week visit to Ireland. We loved this inn. It is run by the nicest family, who are eager to please. They help book dinner reservations, and provide information on things to do while visiting Kinsale. We met the husband and wife, and their son Matt and daughter Laura. All are lovely.

The inn is in town with free parking. Our room was on the top floor but there are not that many stairs as it is laid out with small landings, as opposed to large staircases. Our room was huge as it was a jacuzzi suite with a sitting area, queen bed and single bed (we only needed one bed but wanted the suite so just had an extra bed!), big windows with views over village streets (but still quiet), a large sitting area with a sofa, and a big bathroom. Room to really spread out.

Breakfast was very good, served in a lovely little breakfast room which also had free Internet access on a computer set aside for guests - a very nice touch.

All in all, we loved our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LisaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 868 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2007

The Old Presbytery is charming in every respect, in picturesque Kinsale.
Full of country antiques from the linen and lace hung in the reception to the Victorian washstand in the bathroom.
We stayed at the very top of the hotel with a wonderful view over the rooftops of Kinsale to the harbour, where the sun sparkled on the water morning and evening.
At every turn and corner there is another antique, an old cot or a butter churn. Our room had a large brass bedstead and a comfy sofa in the window.
Housekeeping was superb and the family who run it extremely helpful.
The breakfast menu was delighful and included fresh fish, whatever was the catch of the day.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area of Cork. It is less than half an hour from the airport or Cork town and very easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

We spent one night last week at the old Presbytery. The room was very clean, and well furnished. We agreed that it was the most comfortable bed we had in the six places we stayed. The breakfast area was lovely and the breakfast was the best we had on our trip! We also appreciated the internet access offered.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

The Old Presbytery was a great experience. Noreen is a very gracious hostess and her careful direction made the experience luxury class. Rooms were pleasant, appeared newly decorated...or just extremely well kept. Breakfast offered a great selection of delicious alternatives. Off-sreet parking was convenient. Restaurant recommendations were excellent....try The Cracked Pot!
Great location within the town and the Fort is walkable.
Enjoy....hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

I stayed at the Old Pres for 2 nights during a week vacation in Ireland. It was my favorite B&B of the trip. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was second to none (especially the fruite crepes). Very convenient to Kinsale. Off street parking a plus. Room was spacious and had a sitting room and balcony.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank LovetoTraveltheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Had a nice room, very clean and not too girly. Breakfast was excellent- one of the best in the 2 weeks we were in Ireland. Off street parking was a plus! Bathroom was very modern and clean. The only negative was the strong smell of cleaning stuff (I am guessing) or a moth ball like smell that permeated the entire place, I opened windows to try to air it out but it was so strong it was giving me headaches. Since we were only staying one night and the smell was everywhere, esp. in the common areas I did not say anything. Very crowded the night we stayed, the breakfast area in the morning was a zoo! But breakfast was worth the wait.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

The Old Presbytery was one of eight upscale B&Bs/hotels we selected for our recent visit to ireland...it ranks a highly competitive #2 on our overall list of favorites. We were greeted by Noreen who made us feel very much at home and showed us to our very charming ensuite room with a brass & iron bed, love seat area, and small but private balcony. Everything was exceptionally clean, comfortable and quiet. The Old Presbytery provides their guests with the use of a common area computer with internet access...allowing us to check in with the kids and to let them know that their inheritances continued to dwindle. And what an outstanding, high class breakfast selection we were greeted with in the morning. We opted for the rosettes of salmon and scrambled eggs...probably the best breakfast we had of all our numerous stops. Note that when traffic is a little heavy in Kinsale and if you're not familiar with the area, finding the place can be a little difficult but well worth it. Parking is provided in an off the street courtyard behind the building. The Old Presbytery is very highly recommended to you...we sincerely hope to return there someday! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stratguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $119 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing