We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B+B in a wonderful town”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #2 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B+B in a wonderful town”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our stay here in Kinsale was restful and relaxed. We were traveling with another couple and Philip and Noreen gave us a downstairs suite with a common area with sitting area and kitchenette. Breakfasts were wonderful and afternoon tea and snacks provided extra comfort. Rooms were comfortable and warm. The town is a great place to explore with good restaurants and plenty of sites to see. We were lucky to play nearby golf course, the Old Head. I'd come back in a heartbeat. Great place and very welcoming!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
157
454
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Philip and Noreen make this a perfect place to relax and soak up the beauty of Kinsale. We were greeted when we came in by Noreen and her wonderful dog. She and her husband have worked very hard to make this an exceptional comfortable and beautiful B&B. After she settled us into our room, she made us a beautiful tea. Her dining room is chock full of different tea cups and tea pots. Each table is graced with fresh flowers. I was so taken with her graciousness and sense of humor. All I wanted to do was move next door, and have her and Philip as my neighbors.
Our room was spacious and beautiful. We had a twin and queen size bed. There was additional room for comfortable chairs. The bathroom is lush…with a Jacuzzi and shower. We had thick terry cloth robes available. Our room, bath, and dining area were spotless. A lot of care has been given to each detail.
I was touched that Noreen is always up and available. Our breakfast was as perfect (thank you Philip) as every other aspect of this B&B. If I ever get to Ireland again, I will always visit the Old Presbytery.

Room Tip: I think that any room in this B&B would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We loved Kinsale, and The Old Presbytery made the stay PERFECT. First of all, this is a GREAT and beautiful town. There are great hikes, walks, and running, stunning views, delicious food and wonderful people. Only adding to the wonderful-ness that is this town was The Old Presbytery. We stayed in two different beautiful rooms. The building is old, and so charming. The rooms were spotless and so comfortable. We have the great fortune in staying in room 6 (I think) which has the most perfect sun room. Everyone who works there is so kind and helpful with whatever you need. They have lovely coffee/tea and snacks out in the evenings which we loved. Another added bonus was the parking they provide has Kinsale has narrow and busy streets, so I was happy to park the car and leave it there for our stay. Last tip, we LOVED our dinner out at The Shack. Don't hesitate to book! You will love The Old Presbytery and Kinsale.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

One week prior to our trip departure friends recommended we go to Kinsale vs Cork and we were so glad we made that change. Noreen and Philip run a beautiful B and B in Kinsale and this place was one of the highlightes of our trip. Upon our arrival we were immediately greeted by both Philip and Noreen who were always there to help with whatever we needed from restaurant ideas to great places to walk and things to see. When we walked into our room we couldn't believe our eyes. The place was large with a cute sitting/sun room area and large balcony over looking the town and harbor. The room is spotless and has many special touches like candles,fridg to keep your drinks cold and jacuzzi which is great after a long day of walking. But the view is what really grabs you. Once you park your car, which is free, the town and everything you need is in walking distance. The restaurants we went to (Fishy Fish and Szechuan Express) were about the best food we had all trip. The town is adorable and there were fun pubs to go have a drink and listen to music. Philip suggested some great, long walks with lots of beautiful scenery. We loved it and felt like we left with a real feel for Kinsale. Lastly, the breakfast, which is all prepared by Philip was amazing. Definitely the best we had all trip. I had the Fruit Crepe which was light with lots of fresh fruit and also the smoked salmon bagel the second morning. My husband had the Cashel Blue Chees Omlette, twice, and said it was the best he ever had. The specialty coffee machine which provides 6 different styles of coffee was also a treat. Philip and Noreen truly have a gem here and we're grateful that our trip changed so we could experience this fantastic place.

Room Tip: Room #6 was large with a fantastic sun room that looks out over the town and a balcony to sit outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1toppump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The excellent reviews of The Old Presbytery in Kinsale do not lie. This place was exceptionally comfortable. Noreen and Philip were incredibly kind and helpful and made sure our stay was meaningful. The room was the best we experienced in Ireland, from the comfy bed to the bathtub. The breakfasts are so delicious and the dining room is well worth a stop for afternoon tea. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spent 4 Nights here on a recent golf trip , Noreen and Philip are extremely nice people who take great care and pride in the B & B .

The food was wonderful and they were very accommodating, would highly recommend staying here .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistolpetes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Old Presbytery in March and we highly recommend it! Noreen and Phillip were such kind hosts and they really take great pride in their B&B and making sure their guests are comfortable and happy. The entire property was clean and comfortable and they really decorated all areas so well and made you feel like you were in a traditional Irish B&B. Each common area room was appointed with antiques, some with fireplaces and old books and comfy chairs. The breakfast area was lovely and they spared no expense to make sure we ate great gourmet fresh cooked Irish breakfasts. Their food was delicious and such a great treat to look forward to in the morning. Our room was lovely and spacious with a beautiful bay window with views overlooking the village behind the building. The furnishings and decor were beautiful and comfortable and they gave the room the perfect ambiance. The fireplace was lovely. Our bed was cozy and we slept wonderfully. We got several great recommendations from our hosts for local dinner restaurants and music and were very happy with their suggestions. Phillip and Noreen were kind and spent a lot of time talking to us about the B&B and sharing some of their stories. We even talked a bit about Rick Steeves. This is a top notch B&B and any guest will not be disappointed with their stay! We hope to return again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing