We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in the Heart of Kinsale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Heart of Kinsale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The excellent reviews of The Old Presbytery in Kinsale do not lie. This place was exceptionally comfortable. Noreen and Philip were incredibly kind and helpful and made sure our stay was meaningful. The room was the best we experienced in Ireland, from the comfy bed to the bathtub. The breakfasts are so delicious and the dining room is well worth a stop for afternoon tea. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
147
433
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spent 4 Nights here on a recent golf trip , Noreen and Philip are extremely nice people who take great care and pride in the B & B .

The food was wonderful and they were very accommodating, would highly recommend staying here .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistolpetes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Old Presbytery in March and we highly recommend it! Noreen and Phillip were such kind hosts and they really take great pride in their B&B and making sure their guests are comfortable and happy. The entire property was clean and comfortable and they really decorated all areas so well and made you feel like you were in a traditional Irish B&B. Each common area room was appointed with antiques, some with fireplaces and old books and comfy chairs. The breakfast area was lovely and they spared no expense to make sure we ate great gourmet fresh cooked Irish breakfasts. Their food was delicious and such a great treat to look forward to in the morning. Our room was lovely and spacious with a beautiful bay window with views overlooking the village behind the building. The furnishings and decor were beautiful and comfortable and they gave the room the perfect ambiance. The fireplace was lovely. Our bed was cozy and we slept wonderfully. We got several great recommendations from our hosts for local dinner restaurants and music and were very happy with their suggestions. Phillip and Noreen were kind and spent a lot of time talking to us about the B&B and sharing some of their stories. We even talked a bit about Rick Steeves. This is a top notch B&B and any guest will not be disappointed with their stay! We hope to return again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Old Presbytery and Kinsale are just beautiful. This B&B is charming, extremely clean and gives you the feeling of being at home. Philip, Noreen and Scampi (their dog) are so friendly and welcoming.

The six of us stayed in two rooms. My husband and I stayed in Room 6 and love it. It has an outdoor deck that overlooks the town, what a great view both at night and early in the morning. The rest of the family stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. They love it. Two great bedrooms each with their individual bathrooms and a sitting area between the bedrooms where you watch TV , read or play cards. Both rooms, #6 and the double bedroom suite, had super comfortable beds (the best that we had in our trip) and large bathrooms (we love the tubs).

Breakfast was fabulous with lots of choices. I love those scones, the best that I have ever tasted. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to visit again and maybe they will share their recipe for the scones.

The Old Presbytery is in a great location, a short walk to the town center. Kinsale is a gorgeous, quaint little town that is worth visiting. I would definitely recommend Old presbytery as a place to stay when visiting Kinsale. We did not want to leave this beautiful B&B.

Room Tip: Room #6 has a nice view of Kinsale from the outdoor deck. It is located on the top floor of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchid-lady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Everything about this B&B is A+. The owners take pride in their establishment, and their staff really like their jobs, which is evidence of great management by Noreen and Phillip. Our stay was for two nights and we were very comfortable....wonderful linens, lovely room, amazing breakfast, and a dynamite espresso/latte machine that couldn't be beat! Book early....this place fills up quickly because it is so fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Four of us visited Kinsale for one night and stayed in the penthouse suite.
The room - made up of two rooms on a split level was fantastic and also had a really nice view of the whole town including the harbour.
The facilities were great including a kitchenette with fridge etc. & fast working wi-fi.
The breakfast was also delicious and nothing was too much for any of the girls working there.
Noreen the owner was friendly,had great local knowledge and very accommodating.
I really can't recommend this place enough...on top of all that the price was more than reasonable. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for past 2 nights . It really is a fab place to stay . The owners are warm, friendly and v helpful without being intrusive.
The house is full of character, the bedrooms are spacious clean and v comfortable . Our twin room had 2 double brass beds and also had a seating area.
The breakfasts are amazing ! porridge came with cream honey and berrys on the side. smoked salmon and scrambled egg equaled it for taste and presentation. Afternoon tea is avaiable all afternoon from 2 pm . The guest house is only few mins walk from the town centre . I would advise anyone planning a trip to Kinsale to book this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#5 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing