We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO cute, inside and out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“SO cute, inside and out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

By far the cutest and best of our many hotels on a trip around Ireland, The Old Presbytery is quaint, trendy, and comfortable. Ditto for the town, which is easily walkable and offers lovely distractions, especially when the weather is nice. The OP's receptionist (there late, until 10 PM I believe) is an extra bonus, as you get the B&B feel without inconveniencing anyone if you're arriving in the evening. Breakfast was average but solid (buffet of toast and yogurt plus a cooked meal of your choice). Off-street parking is included, as is wi-fi. Of all the spots we stayed in Ireland, Kinsale is the first I'd visit again, and I'd definitely stay at The Old Presbytery.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a beautiful view of the roofs of town. We also had a small balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoy_period60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
147
435
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Presbytery. Had a bit of trouble finding it in a pouring rain but once we found it they had plenty of parking. The staff was very pleasant and had plenty of good recommendations for dinner and music. Plenty of good restaurants nearby as well as good pubs with great music. The breakfast at Old Pres was fantastic! The best of our trip. So much smoked salmon on my eggs I couldn't hardly finish it all (but I did). It was fun going up and down all the stairways trying to find our room after coming back from the Pubs! An Seanachai pub is a short walk and has great music. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscUsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ten years separated our stays here and both visits were exceptional. They are great hosts, the breakfasts were wonderful with lots of choices. They also found us great accommodations for our next two stops (Kenmare and Dingle town). We loved the many shops available in Kinsale and we will always try to stay here whenever we are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had the top-floor room with the balcony and our view was just fantastic. Great breakfast, cooked fresh to order! The B&B is about a 5 minute walk from most of the pubs/restaurants, which is actually a pleasant stroll through the town. We had a great time at Kitty O Se's down the street, be sure to check that place out for a pint. Fantastic, friendly hosts in one of our favorite Irish towns!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights here. The location is excellent, just steps into town. Plenty of parking in private lot. Philip and his family were so nice and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful, lots of choices, I especially enjoyed the fruit and cheese plate. Afternoon tea was served with lots of goodies, not only the best scones of our trip, but pecan pie and chocolate cake. The DVD library was an added bonus and we caught up on a few Irish films. Don't pass this one up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 425mandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We only had one night in Kinsale but plan on returning and staying at The Old Presbytery. We were welcomed with tea and homemade baked goods. The room was quite and very clean, and breakfast was delicious. The hosts were wonderful, they made recommendations for dinner and pubs, and the next day they called and made reservations for us at our next guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscruzrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in a clean room with a spacious en suite bathroom. Hosts were wonderful and gave us great suggestions for a night on the town. Big breakfast and afternoon tea served - very homey and welcoming. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingFeet26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing