We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with great location”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portstewart
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with great location”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We recently had an overnight stay here and we are so glad we did. With great location, private parking, friendly welcoming hosts, spacious and exceptionally clean rooms, very comfy beds with lovely breakfasts. I would definitely recommend Old presbytery as a place to stay when visiting Kinsale.
Thank-you Marie & JJ

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macportstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
157
453
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently stayed at the Old Presbytery B&B for 2 nights and it was an absolutely wonderful stay. We had booked the triple room but were pleasantly surprised when we were given the penthouse suite, which is 2 rooms on top of each other connected by a spiral staircase. Both rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The lower room had a double bed and its own bathroom, which has a shower, while the upper room had a king size bed and its own bathroom, which has a large soaking tub (complete with 2 white terrycloth robes). The upper room is the highest room in the house and has an amazing view of the harbor and town center. A chaise in front of the large window is a perfect place to unwind with a book after a long day of sightseeing. (Google "Old Presbytery Kinsale" and click on "Images" and you'll see how nice this place is.)

The entire house is absolutely immaculate inside and out. It is decorated in period pieces and has a well stocked DVD and book library. Owners Noreen and Philip and their adult daughter are consummate hosts and made sure everything was to our satisfaction. The breakfasts were excellent and were served in a comfortable dining room that had about 5-6 tables.

The Old Presbytery has a convenient parking area right behind the house through an arched entryway. There's also a pretty terrace sitting area behind the house surrounded by plantings.

The location of the Old Pres is ideal, particularly for those not keen on walking far. It is less than a 2 minute walk to the center of Kinsale and its harbor. Desmond Castle is literally a stone's throw from the Old Pres.

If you're looking for traditional Irish music, check out Kitty O'Se's. The night we were there, there was a session with 5 talented musicians, but the highlight was when Kitty's husband Seamus sang a few songs. What an amazing voice! Nice friendly bartender there too. Kinsale is a highly walkable town with many nice pubs and eateries.

I highly recommend the Old Presbytery and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is perfect for 3-4 people, especially 2 couples traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seagreenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at the Old Presbytery in Kinsale. It was a charming place with wonderful hosts in Noreen and Phillip. The breakfasts and tea were amazing. Our room was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The inn was within walking distance to all the great shops, pubs and restaurants in Kinsale. We highly recommend staying at the Old Presbytery.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This B&B was conveniently located near the shopping area and the waterfront. The room was very nice and the owners were very friendly & helpful. And the breakfast was extraordinary! I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights (once we found the place!) in early October-and were we pleased! Combo of several connected Georgian buildings with marvelously tasteful rooms: excellent linens, towels, color scheme, mattress-and with lovely tea/coffee tray complete with biscuits. Noreen forgets nothing! Breakfasts were a wide choice a 5-6 items daily, and there is afternoon tea with accompanying goodies available for all guests! Easy walking distance to central Kinsale and always someone to answer questions (and provide rope when carryon handle broke!) Highly recommend-the nicest guesthouse I have stayed in in 98 countries! Reserve early!

Room Tip: No lift-might be somewhat difficult if you find stairs challenging!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We sadly only had one night at the Old Presbytery, it was such a beautiful B & B. The attention to detail was wonderful and nothing was overlooked. Noreen was very helpful, the room was lovely and the B & B was a short walk into the quaint little village. The afternoon tea when was arrived was a pleasant surprise and breakfast was yummy - Loved the salmon!
We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil255073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Old Pres for four nights in October. Noreen and Philip and daughters are delightful and very cordial hosts. The rooms are comfortable and roomy as are the bathrooms, en suite. The breakfasts are excellent in a lovely appointed dining room. Afternoon tea with homemade scones and desserts from 2-4 PM daily are worth the stay. Convenient location to everything in Kinsale and great suggestions for dining and music from Noreen and Philip.
We hope we will be able to return to the Old Pres in the future.

Room Tip: Queen room was roomy with lovely bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing