We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I wish we could have stayed for more than our one night! We arrived late but were greeted warmly for our check-in and guided to our room. The layout of the B&B was a bit confusing at first but we quickly figured out to use the breakfast room as our reference point for directions. Even though it was in the evening when we arrived, there were scones, cakes and tea available for us to snack on. On the way to our room, there was a tiny fridge set into the staircase with cold bottled water, and you can also use the fridge to store any personal items needed to keep cold. The room was spacious, and as with the rest of the BYB, has nice warm decor touches, comfortable beds, and spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was wonderful, you can help yourself to muesli, fruits, etc. and also order from a menu of both traditional and vegetarian offerings. Oh and there was a nice computer set up by the breakfast room to check your emails or go online if you need access to a desktop.

The B&B is an easy walk to the main streets of Kinsale and staff so friendly. I would love to go back! (FYI you will need to carry your luggage up/down several flights of stairs to get to your rooms so note of caution for those bringing heavy luggages or have difficulty with steps.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0arte0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
157
454
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We could have stayed at this darling place in this darling town for the whole of our vacation. Alas, we had only one night, but it was spectacular!! The sweetest rooms, balcony filled with flowers, big comfy bed, a bathroom so cute I want to remodel mine at home to be just like it!
The staff goes WAY beyond & the Inn dog is a charmer to boot!! Stay here

Room Tip: Room 6 2nd fl?? The one with the smaller balcony & claw footed tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-ANNA4527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Old Presbytery was hands down our favorite and most comfortable place to stay during our trip to Ireland recently. Philip and Noreen were so very friendly and helpful, giving us very good directions on to Killarney. I wish we could have stayed longer! The beds were very comfortable, pillows were good, and the bathrooms very nice and good water pressure in the showers! We loved the scones, brownies and cakes that were laid out for snacks in the afternoon. The breakfasts were to die for. You can order off a menu plus there are scones, breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc on the buffet. A lovely touch in the evening was when we came back from dinner there were glass lanterns on the front steps with candles in them to light the way. The location is very close to everything. They have their own parking area as well. We would definitely recommend! Oh, and The White House is a great place to eat

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor (2nd floor if you're an American) and had 2 twin beds and a nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Two nights in Kinsale left four travelers with a great impression of the town and of The Old Presbytery. The house itself is actually two houses, with a connection over the short drive into the parking lot. The parking lot (very welcome in a small town with little parking) is tight, and even our midsize car took a wee bit of maneuvering to get into a space and not block others. But that was an insignificant challenge when weighed against this B&B.

The Old Presbytery offers travelers lovely rooms (see photo) and wonderful service. When we arrived, there was complementary coffee & biscuits in the dining room for guests, and assistance with getting luggage up to our second-floor rooms. We settled in and explored the town, after getting some food recommnedations from co-owner Noreen (we know that Philip was somewhere, but never got to meet him!). Off we went.

The best B&Bs offer some sense of the people running it, and this one tells guests that the owners are experienced, calm, and ready to deal with any eventuality. A small library is stocked with books and DVDs (although with our perfect weather I can't imagine spending time in the room watching movies), and they offer a book-swap program that I really appreciated. I left my finished book and picked up a collection of interviews with Seamus Heaney which I'm still working through.

Breakfast was truly excellent both days, whether it was traditional Irish, pancakes, or porridge, and the serving staff (the B&B is large enough to warrant having someone help in the dining room) were friendly and courteous. When we left, two of the four people travelling left a couple of shirts in their closets, and Noreen quickly posted them on to a future B&B with the reminder to "always check the wardrobe".

This is just what you want in a bed and breakfast experience. Friendly, informative, clean, delicious, and convenient. A super value and a place I'd stay in again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We saw good reviews for this guesthouse but they did not prepare us for the best place that we stayed in Ireland. From check-in to check-out, the staff was very friendly and helpful in their recommendations and directions. Our room was very comfortable. Our breakfasts were delicious, the best of all the guesthouses where we stayed in Ireland. The location is perfect for walking the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertNLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is great. The rooms are really nice, the bathrooms new. A lot of charm, the place twists and turns. But the heart of the place is the owner, who not only is friendly and helpful, keeps the place spotless and serves terrific food. Besides the great breakfast, they have tea and sweets in the afternoon. Also, there is a parking lot, a bonus in a small town. We had a room on street level and we heard no street noise, they have triple pane windows for insulation. Kinsale , by the way, is a great place to wander around, a wonderfully charming town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oconnell849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The streets are tight and parking at a premium in Kinsale (if the one public parking lot is full). The Presbytery has its own parking and is in a great location to walk around town. I can say enough about the rooms and service. There are several stairs to negotiate, so ask for a lower floor if you need it. The serve a great breakfast and put of treats in the afternoon. The rooms were very comfortable and in a classic old style. Again, I can't stress how great it was having parking on property!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to get to the upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanky9442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing