We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Delight in Lovely Kinsale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desmond House Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute Delight in Lovely Kinsale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband & I were in Kinsale during the middle of our honeymoon in Ireland earlier this month. I have to say, Kinsale was probably the prettiest town, in my opinion. It is absolutely out of a fairytale & Desmond House was the perfect place to stay.

Michael greeted us upon arrival & insisted on carrying my bag upstairs (such a gentleman). We stayed in the Charles Fort Suite & it had a wonderful view of Kinsale. The room was very large & had the best shower & water pressure we encountered during our entire trip. Breakfast was delicious (my husband thought Michael's eggs were the best we had) & Michael was just an absolute delight. Upon leaving, he provided us w/a list of suggested stops we could make on our way to Bantry, which we followed exactly :) & found extremely helpful.

Michael also had my favorite quote of our trip which came when I was expressing our opinions on Irish country roads... he said, "Americans drive on the right side of the road & the British drive on the left... but the Irish drive down the middle!".

Michael - we will be back, with the family ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Charles Fort Suite, which was lovely, but I'm sure all the rooms are equally ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
216
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a truly fantastic B&B. It is located in the heart of Kinsale. We arrived in Kinsale at around 8:30. Michael, the innkeeper, was waiting for us and saved us a parking spot a minute's walkaway. Then he took our bags to our room. We stayed in the James Fort Suite. The room included a king-sized bed and a twin bid. It was a very big suite designed in rich jewel-toned greens. The room included a nice vanity desk. An especially nice touch were chocolates on the pillows. Michael had great recommendations for us for dinner and helped us with our itinerary for the next day. Unlike some current B&Bs which skimp on the breakfast quality, Michael had breakfast made-to-order for each individual. He also had a nice selection of fresh scones, cake, etc on the buffet. I had a fantastic fluffy, hot omelette that included a side of bacon from the English Market in Cork. It was so good! Finally, Michael was born to be an innkeeper. He is the definition of hospitality. He is incredibly helpful and hospitable without being overbearing at all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fettuchi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Desmond House is a lovely B&B in the heart of Kinsale - pretty much everything is within walking distance. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, very roomy, and very quiet at night. MIchael is a great host - full of welcome and helpful information about the area. The breakfasts are wonderful - recommend the eggs Benedict! We were only able to stay one night, but we hope to come back and stay awhile longer next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxCaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at the Desmond House. Michael is absolutely delightful. He told us the history of the house upon our arrival. The room was huge and the view lovely. The breakfast was one of the best we had and he isn't kidding when he says the eggs are delicious. We had a great time!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runmarathons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

what a great location and a great room! and michael is the perfect host, knows everything about kinsale and goes out of his way to help with anything and everything- I had an early tee time at Old Head and he got breakfast ready early just for me. I left some dress shirts in the closet and somehow he found out where our next destination was and contacted the b&b there to let them know I left the shirts behind (I hadnt even realized I left them behind)...he sent my shirts back to the states for me and refused to let me pay him for the shipping...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Michael is the perfect host and Irish gentleman. He gave us a wonderful Kinsale history lesson upon arrival and attended to our every need no matter how small. His restaurant recommendations were spot on and his homemade rhubarb and ginger jam was the perfect companion for his fresh scones. His attention to detail is evident and he clearly deserves his current 5-star rating from trip advisor

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank islandcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Visiting in August 2012, we enjoyed one of the best night's rest of our 15 day journey. Our room was large and beautiful, and the bathroom offered it's own pampering charms with a jetted tub and thoughtfully provided bath salts. Michael was a wonderful host, a terrific cook, and a genuine raconteur. Desmond House is literally around the corner from the town center, a short walk to dinner at Jim Edward's (a winning recommendation by Michael) and an informative and entertaining history walk with Barry, of Don & Barry (another welcome recommendation). We look forward to staying with Michael at Desmond House the next time we cross the pond.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desmond House Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desmond House Kinsale

Property: Desmond House Kinsale
Address: Desmond House 42 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desmond House Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desmond House Kinsale is a lovely old Georgian house in the center of the old part of Kinsale. Huge bedrooms and full bathrooms including whirlpool tubs. Park your car and walk to the award winning restaurants. Only 4 bedrooms so personal attention of knowledgeable owners is available to help with enjoying your stay. Desmond House Kinsale is a great place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Desmond House Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond House Kinsale Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing