We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Bank House
Ranked #13 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

very comfortable,great food,very knowlegable and friend staff.the street parking is some times hard to find cost 1 euro a hour till 6 pm.Location is great close to all sites in town.the little bakery on site has great muffins and bread.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsaHawkeye44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    116
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
44
170
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of October and had a lovely time. We go to Kinsale regularly - once a year at least to visit relatives in Cork and enjoy the walks, various restaurants and general ambiance of Kinsale. We hadn't stayed at the Old Bank House before. We stayed in room 17, on the top floor with great views of the harbour. We found the room to be very spacious with everything we needed. The bed and pillows were comfy, the tv worked fine. There was bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities that were topped up daily. Everything was clean and the room was thoroughly cleaned every day by the very pleasant and friendly staff. The siting of the hotel is good because although you are on one of the main streets, it is at the quieter end. We slept very well.
For breakfast there are many choices. I thoroughly recommend the eggs benedict and my husband enjoyed his full Irish every day. The staff, although they are also manning the cafe to the general public are very efficient and friendly.
We would definitely return and would recommend the Old Bank House if you want to stay in Kinsale.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed is some lovely five star hotels, but to be honest the Old Bank House really surprised us - it's a lovely quaint hotel with everything you need! and so central. We got a great deal - breakfast was included and some nice extras such as free bike hire and a coffee voucher for some great coffee in their cafe downstairs - a lovely place to stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: try and get a bigger room we had a small room, but then we didn't pay a lot for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen_Muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Selected from the tourist guide book for it's location and availability of a room at short notice.
Very helpful staff from Cafe act as reception and tour guide.
Good size room that just takes the King size bed. Unfortunately we did not get a front harbour view room but certainly got a good nights sleep in the quiet.

Room Tip: If you can get a front room overlooking the town and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently. We were given room 15 which is a nice room on the third floor. It is quite compact so if you were staying for longer than a few days I would ask for a bigger room. There is a lift, again quite small but adequate,save you climbing stairs with bags. Room decor a mix with modern touches e.g. Faux silk curtains, with an old style wardrobe and patterned headboard. Double Bed quite comfortable, nice pillows and duvet. Molton brown bath and shower products provided. Quite luxurious. Room had ensuite bath and shower facilities which is definitely a plus. On the negative we had to wait over 10 mins for toast on the second day of our trip. Marie the staff member apologised. At the time we were having breakfast she was the only staff member present and It was clearly evident that she was trying to cater for all the residents and the visitors who shop in the cafe (which adjoins the breakfast area.). This I feel is unacceptable as you are paying premium prices for a good service. Before we left another colleague joined her. I clearly couldn't fault them, they did their best under the circumstances. They couldn't have been nicer. Another minus was the water stain on the bed cover admittedly on the under side. I couldn't fault the cleanliness in the room overall but the stained cover annoyed me. I did tell the staff member when I was paying the bill. Hopefully they will change it!. We did enjoy our visit and we do like the old bank house for its old worldly charm and style but just a little attention to detail would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear . Those facing the street can be a little noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nore784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 days in Bank house and had the most fantastic time.

Had to find anywhere more central in Kinsale. It's the absolutely ideal site opposite the harbour and right inthe middle of things. Rooms are a good size bright and modern and ther is a lift to all floors. The bed was superb and all the fittings and furnishings are to a very high standard. Only downside is that parking is a challenge. ThEre is a public car park opposite but it's limited to 2 hrs at a time so you just keep topping up with a new ticket!

Breakfast is served downstairs in the gourmet cafe with a huge choice and very high quality. It is delicious. The hotel is part of the local Blue Horizon gourmet group and you can eat dinner in their hotel about 2 mins walk away. Fish predominates but it's an excellent menu and the standards are very very high.

Above all it is the staff that make this place. They're simply brilliant.

We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanmcquillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

+ This hotel is situated in the center of the lovely little town Kinsale. It is an old house but has an elevator. We had a very nice and spacious room, with comfortable large beds. The staff is very helpful and nice.
- There is no private parking belonging to the hotel, so you have find a space in town which you have to pay for, or take a 10 min walk from a free parking.
The prices are quite high, but we would recommend this hotel anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank House

Property: Old Bank House
Address: 10/11 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Georgian Townhouse with a passion for food. Spoil yourself in the luxurious, newly refurbished, award winning Old Bank House Kinsale. Voted one of the "Top 100 Place to Stay in Ireland" by Bridgestone Guides every year since 1990 and winner of Les Routier Irish Guest House of the Year 2005. Located in the centre of Kinsale within touching distance of Kinsale many famous bars and restaurants, each spacious bedroom is a perfect blend of Georgian splendour and modern comfort, with exquisite period pieces, luxury pocket sprung beds and a simple touch of class that makes each visit special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Old Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank House Hotel Kinsale
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing