We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish Couple Kinsale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Irish Couple Kinsale”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently spent a weekend in this lovely part of Ireland. Actons is a hotel that was first opened in the late 1940's. Alot of work appears to have been done to it in the recent past. The lobby is small but well decorated. It has a limited no of rooms and to our best knowledge none have air conditioning. A big draw back as far as we are concerned. We stayed in room 317 at the back of the hotel. No harbour view rooms were available. Our room was well decorated, good large bathroom, tea coffee facilities. However due to the high temperatures we had to leave the wondow open at night. The road below was very noisy late into the night. So as a result we got two very poor night's sleep. Keep this in mind if booking a room here. Harbour view rooms would be best.

The lift in the hotel is very small and old. It apperared to us that there was only one lift in the hotel. It is something that could have done with an upgrade during the re-fit. If you are any way wary of lifts this one will not appeal to you!!!

Breakfast is good and the cooked breakfast is done to order. The rest is served buffet style. One thing we noticed was that items that emptied were not replaced. You had to catch a member of staff and wait for them to return with the requested item.

We ate one night in the hotel bar. The food was good a nice selection of dishes. The general area around the tables could have done with a good clean. The staff were helpful. One lady even checking her phone for us to up date us on the weather condtions for the following day.

There is a leisure centre attached to the hotel. You do have to walk out of the main building to access it.

Walking to all the main sights of Kinsale is possible from the hotel. Its sister hotel the Trident is located just down the road. It seemed to cater for alot of bus tour groups.

Nice hotel and worth a visit. It can be busy and does seem to be very popular as a wedding venue. On sight parking is available but it is somewhat limited. If you head off enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsrob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    312
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
457
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is brilliant!
Clean, efficient and well worth the money.
After travelling down the west coast and stayin in other hotels which were the same cost this hotel shined way above the rest.
We (me, wife and child) stayed in the suite which was a very big room. The breakfast was excellent - cooked to order and a plush selection of continental assortments.
The beds were very comfortable - one I would definitely consider for my own home!
As for the service the staff were very friendly.

Overall an excellent choice and fully recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeGraham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are just back from Actons in Kinsale. The hotel was great , staff very friendly and breakfast really good. For a four star hotel it delivered every thing that I expected. If you decide to go I would definatley pay for a seaview room on a high floor the view was beautiful and no noise at night. The only downside is that the bathroom was very small but acceptable and clean. We would go back, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed recently with my husband & son at this hotel for three days and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, well appointed with modern facilities and good Wi-Fi . The arrival we received on check in was friendly and welcoming as we found with all staff throughout the Hotel. We did not have dinner in the Hotel as several great restaurants to try out in Kinsale itself & within walking distance from the Hotel. Breakfast each morning was a lovely relaxing experience, the food was delicious with a huge variety on the buffet and the hot breakfast was equally as good. The Leisure facilities are also a great addition and there is a great playground beside the Hotel ideal for small children. Definitely a great place to stay in a terrific location and we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent two nights at Acton's at the end of June. When we arrived at the hotel, the clerk at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade us to a harbour view room even though that was not what I had booked for us back in January. The view was lovely, our room was very clean, comfortable and spacious enough for the two of us. The bed was comfortable and even though there was no air conditioning, the room was not at all stuffy as we had both of our windows open.

Wifi reception in the room was hit or miss, I did find that I'd have to stand in our entrance hallway near the bathroom in order to keep my connection at times. The hotel location was great, just a short walk into town.

Breakfast was fabulous. The buffet consisted of a great selection of fruits, yogurts, breads etc. and the cooked to order hot foods were wonderful. The eggs benedict was delicious, we started our days fully satisfied with great offerings. There was a lovely waitress in the breakfast room who heard us discussing our plans for the day and kindly offered suggestions and information about walking to the Bulman.

There was only one disappointing incident during our stay; on our first night there, we had a late lunch and only wanted a light snack at dinnertime. We sat in the bar area and ordered two pints and an order of chicken wings. The waitress who took our order was not the same person who brought out our food. We asked for the check (which came to something like €18.70) and as we were in a rush to leave an go watch a world cup match that was airing, paid the server / waiter / barman who had brought out our chicken wings. We gave him a €20 note and said for him to keep the change. The next morning, as we were leaving the breakfast room, the waitress who had taken our order the night before recognized us and asked if we were the couple who had the chicken wings, we confirmed that it was us and were shocked when she told us that our check had not been closed out at the bar, implying that we had skipped out on our check. We assured her that we'd taken care of it, though were never really convinced that she believed us. My husband felt offended that she would confront us like that whereas I was more concerned that the other server hadn't closed out our check. This incident was never mentioned again and I put it out of my mind and the rest of our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRM-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lovely hotel with great staff - stayed for 3 nights in a huge family room (most hotels don't cater for families of 5) and the facilities were great - Spa, pool and gym great. Good wifi reception in room. Close to town centre. Room very warm but got fan when requested. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hergeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a very average hotel, nothing outstanding. Room was large enough, beds comfortable and everything seemed clean but no AC and even with the windows open it was so hot and stuffy we could not sleep. If you are 5'4'' in height or shorter, you will need assistance getting in and out of the shower - it is raised WAY up and there is no step or grab bars to get safely in/out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catdancin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing