We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Actons Hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to charming Kinsale. The front desk staff were all very helpful... in fact we were able to get a dinner reservation secured by them as we checked in. The setting is lovely, the room was clean and updated, breakfast was delicious. All in all, we would love to stay there another time if we ever get to that part of the world again!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side that is opposite of the alley....kind of noisy from folks coming home late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    312
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
457
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed the June Bank Holiday weekend and were very happy with the Hotel. Very clean and beautifully decorated (Other hotels take note: This is how a hotel should be decorated, perfect balance of old and Modern) Room was lovely, great view of the harbour and bathroom was fab. Bed really comfortable. Slept really well. My only disappointment was that had paid for a deluxe harbour room, but it was on the small side and there was no bath in the bathroom. Hence the lost point.

Ideal location, everything is within walking distance with a huge selection of restaurants. Would well recommend Fishy Fishy, but book before you come down as it gets booked up very quickly. Didn't eat in the Hotels restaurant in the evening or use the leisure facilities so can't comment on them. Happy enough with Breakfast, service was good. Ordered French Toast on the second day and only got one slice of toast however. The yoghurt pots don't work either (They are homemade in a little jar) The lid is far to heavy and they fall over as the pot empty's and you can't get the end out. Looks the part but don't work with usage though

Room Tip: the harbour view room although small, view is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sintob83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lovely room in a lovely hotel. Staff very helpful. Enjoyable, relaxing experience.

On the downside my son and family had a family room which was a nice room but extremely hot and airless. This needs to be rectified!


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in Kinsale. Easy parking right by the hotel for our rental car. Very comfortable room (especially the mattress and pillows), clean, and big lovely view right out onto the harbor! Staff very nice, and spectacular service at breakfast, with great selection of food at buffet as well as from the restaurant.

Only flaw: wish they and other hotels would have a woman try and put on makeup in their bathroom mirrors! Like many hotels, the light in the bathroom is terrible, and have to sit with a hand mirror in front of the window to out on makeup.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Just home from a lovely 4 night stay in a family suite in Actons, (sun-thurs). Very happy overall. The suite (with double & single room) was perfect for us and our toddler. It was absolutely spotless (in fact we both commented that Actons is the cleanest hotel we've been to in Ireland for a while) and had lovely high ceilings and old style original Georgian decor with a very nice modern bathroom with bath. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and I'm 6 months pregnant with a sore back so that says a lot.

Weather was very warm this week so the rooms got quite uncomfortable as there's no air con and the windows only opened about 5 inches (they don't open at all in the children's room, for safety I presume) but on our 2nd night we asked for a fan which was no problem and made our stay a lot more pleasant. The heavy black-out curtains in both rooms were brilliant.

Overall the staff were v accommodating and friendly. The staff in the breakfast room & pool being especially so.

The breakfast was pretty good. It was nice that they took your order for hot food instead of having it sitting on a buffet. I tried a good few things over the 4 days. The pancakes were just divine, really good and so fresh. I think they could work on improving the full-irish breakfast a bit. I'm not sure how 'cooked to order' it is. Felt like some of the items had been under a heat lamp. The rashers were quite thick and rubbery (I prefer crispier bacon) and the sausages were not cooked enough for my liking, they were a bit mushy & pale looking. We ate in the bar twice, once for lunch & one evening meal, and really enjoyed the food, it's of a very good quality.

We all loved the pool, it really is fab. We swam every morning. The pool & changing rooms are so clean and the water was a lovely temp for our toddler. As I said the staff were lovely over there too.

Kinsale is a fab little town. Loved pottering around the quirky little shops & art galleries and the standard of food & service everywhere is so high. Especially loved Lemon Leaf Cafe for lunch.

Would highly recommend Actons to friends & family, we hope to go back ourselves again too.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location opposite the water but set back from the road so no traffic noise and only a very short 300m walk into town Very comfortable room with huge double bed. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at some beautiful properties during our two weeks in Ireland and this was definitely the "least nice". Having said that, our room was spacious, clean and offered a great view of the harbor and nice proximity to downtown Kinsale. Continental breakfast each morning was fine, but the staff wasn't especially friendly.

Overall, Actons was definitely sufficient for our two night stay and we'd recommend it for a quick overnight option in Kinsale.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing