We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-town facing waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was part of our Aer Lingus fly/drive/hotel package. This would rate about 4 stars on a 5 star scale. We were two couples travelling together and had rooms facing the rear. These were quiet rooms. We did not care if we had rooms facing the small harbor as we were out touring during the day. We were on the third level with the one elevator not working. The in-town location allows walking to the nearby restaurants and quaint town which we thoroughly enjoyed after touring outside of town during the day. The free parking is in front of the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel for its facilities, location, and views.

Room Tip: The rear rooms we had were #223 and 225. Remember that hotels in Ireland start with floor "0&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHChicagoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 997 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on the 12th April. We were meant to stay in March but the hotel rang us and asked us if we coukd rearrange ir stay at the Trident instead due to "maintenance" hapoenu at the time. We agreed to rearrange and asked them to upgrade us to another room. This was agreed and we were not disappointed when we got there. We received a room with seaview. Its was fab. We had breakfast included and this was lovely! While at the hotel the lift (which they only have one) was out of service, this didnt bother us although we were on the second floor, but for others this might. We didnt use the bar or leisure facilities. We ate at Hamlets bar which is located in kinsale town, which was recommended to us by a family member. We also had a few drinks here that evening. It was a busy spot. Good is very good and price is good too. We decided to try a club. We went to the bacchus, with free entry before 12am. This too is a great spot.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay ans would definitely be back to stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CarJohn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good points very comfortable beds and rooms very good breakfast cooked as ordered. The bad point was the elevator was not working for over a week and we were on the third floor, my partner has had 6 back surgeries in 4 years and we asked to get a room in the first floor which wasn't possible. I felt that people should have been notified of this before they arrived. RTE 1 switched over to digital over a week previously and this was not tuned in on the televisions. This may seem a small point but it's the little things that make a difference.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tonnahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I booked this hotel last Sept 2013 for my sister hen in April 2014. I was in constant contact via email with Declan in reservation regarding rooms, booking lunch etc. It never phased him the amount of questions I asked. He was beyond helpful. So much so that 2 days before our arrival he rang to inform me that the elevators were out of service and they were trying everything to have them fixed for the weekend. We arrived at the hotel on the 5th April for 2pm as we were booked in for lunch. We were in our own private area and the girls that served us were so nice(I'm raging i never took there names) but they really waiting on us hand and foot. Most of us checked in after lunch and the staff at the reception were so friendly and made us feel as though we were the only people staying in the hotel they gave us there full attention (the hotel was so busy). Unfortunately the elevators were still out of order but a porter was waiting to take our bags for us. All of our group stayed on the 3rd floor. These rooms are stunning. Spotless clean, I could not find fault with any aspect of the room. Breakfast in the morning was top quality. I would like to say a huge thank you to Actons Hotel for make our stay so memorable. I will most definitely be back!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Daphss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A group of 16 of us stayed in Actons over a Friday and Saturday night in March for a 30th birthday.We were all delighted with the rooms,staff,service, food etc.The hotel is centrally located to explore the beautiful town of Kinsale.Staff were warm and inviting and happy to deal with anything we needed(even storing a birthday cake for us).Full use of gym and leisure centre also.We will no doubt return to Actons in the future and have no problem in recommending it to others.Thanks for a superb weekend Actons!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandypea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here fri & sat nite as part of their 2for1 offer for €129 incl breakfast.
Lift wasn't working but that wasn't a problem
Ate dinner the first night in Sydney's as it was too wet to venture out, had tiger prawn salad, very nice too!
Can't wait too
Can't wait to return

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was treated to a weekend in Actons Hotel for my birthday and what a treat it was too. The hotel is warm and comfortable with all mod cons and a fabulous leisure centre where we went went swimming every morning and had jacuzzi, steam room and sauna too. All made very easy for guests to use free of charge.
Every member of staff we encountered seemed happy and relaxed (I love that in a hotel) and they were all so polite and pleasant to us too especially the breakfast staff who actually gave me a birthday treat (lighted candle in eggs benedict) .
The room we had was facing the harbour (suppilment required) but was a really nice sized room. Comfortable mattress and pilows. Tea and coffee making facilities. Big bathroom but sadly no bath. Everything was spotlessly clean and cleaning staff were quick and polite too.
The hotel is old but the rooms are refurbished to a good spec but our room did have very creaky floorboards as did the room above which was a bit annoying but not enough to spoil it and I would definitely go again.
I should mention the food as it is wonderful, there is a huge selection for breakfast and we ate in one night, is was off the bar menu but they offered to sit us in the restuarant which we did and it was lovely. The menu is unusual and varied , Quite a suprise and the food was scruptious. Would recommend Actons to you all.

Room Tip: Sea view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALEDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $145 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing