We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great location in Kinsale. Decorated beautifully. All staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were spacious, luxurious and really clean. Could hear some noise in corridor and in street outside room when people walked by but could not fault any other aspect of the hotel. Made use of the leisure centre and pool, facilities are brilliant. Pool area and changing rooms are clean and warm. Breakfast was faultless, particularly liked that the hot food was not on buffet and was made to order. Plenty of choice on cold buffet and on hot food menu. Breakfast staff were quick to serve us and take away used dishes despite restaurant being almost full. I was impressed by this! Will definitely stay in Acton's again when in Kinsale and will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    305
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
164
451
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Despite having cancelled our booking by mistake though I had confirmed it twice.... Our stay was great.
The room was large and warm and comfortable. Great showers. Thick towels.
No noise at all from other guests or general hotel noise could be heard. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Great breakfast menu including waffles and crepes. Breakfast available until 11am on weekends and a late checkout option ensured this weekend was completely relaxed and enjoyable.
This totally lived up to the expectation and desire we had to feel treated and valued and a welcome relaxing break from the normal busyness of life.

Great choice for a pleasant, comfortable, good value and relaxing break!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gingerjenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had not stayed at Actons Hotel for years and I am happy to report that it has not lost any of its charm. The location is bang central and the staff offer a ,nothing is too much' approach to customer service. Food is what you'd expect in Kinsale - gorgeous! The rooms are clean...maybe a bit of work needed but nothing a minor outlay wouldn't bring up th date>

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rep of ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for two nights. Found the hotel to be well run with good friendly staff. Location is excellent for walking kinsale. The only little downpoint was we felt the breakfast could be a little better but it was by no means the worst breakfast ever.

Overall I would say this hotel is an ideal base for exploring kinsales shops and restaurants

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buddyandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spotlessly clean room but the shower tray needs attention alright its stained perhaps from hard water.

The male manager behind reception desk seemed very distracted & didnt make any eye contact when we asked few simple q's which i found rude i must say.

Lift is teeny tiny but that didnt bother me as i dont use lifts anyway but for an elderly or disabled person it would be rather awkward.

Fab restaurant staff & most helpful & courteous..

Great location-a stone's throw from the town. Very good bar food. I have never seen such a fantastic breakfast buffet i must say & the cooked breakfast was delicious!!

We will most definitely go back. I must add that €120 for B&B is a little steep for a Sat night in February.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view-it will do you good to look out at that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassyLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in the heart of Kinsale within walking distance to the town centre..beautifully decorated bedroom with modern ensuite and lovely sea view..breakfast is excellent with a lovely full Irish breakfast and a huge selection of other cooked foods and a great buffet selection..nice swimming pool..even though we didn't travel with our children we will definitely return here with our kids because it seems like a great family hotel..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Arrived at Actons after a sometimes hair raising drive from Dublin (lashing rain all the way, gale force winds!). A warm and friendly welcome awaited us, we were given a harbour view room as requested (not that there was much to see on that day!) - comfortable, spacious room with a lovely bathroom. Two wonderful night's sleeps and two great breakfasts - I had the french toast on the first morning and the Eggs Benedict on the second, yum! We ate in the restaurant on the second night and again, enjoyed some really lovely food - perfectly cooked monkfish. Afterwards, there was some entertainment in the bar which was enjoyable but not overpowering (meaning it was possible to exchange some conversation without shouting!) All in all, a lovely stay in Actons Hotel. The location is great and every staff member we encountered during our stay was friendly and helpful. I will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaLoren50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing