We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I loved this hotel from the moment we arrived excellent staff so friendly and accommodating the breakfast was fab as were the staff two lovely ladies who were so nice but also efficient nothing was too much trouble thank you the breakfast menu was the best I've ever seen a great variety . The reception staff were really great as we're the housekeeping and a special thanks to the night porter you were a gem . I will be returning again .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline6087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 992 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had heard it was the best place to stay in Kinsale and wasn't disappointed. Can't fault the place at all. It's obviously been modernised and done well. OK, the view out of the bedroom window was of the buildings at the back, but if you read reviews of the place you know that you are likely to get that, and if you are staying in Kinsale and wanting to sit in your room to get a view, don't bother going. The whole point is to go out and see the place!!! We would definitely go back there. It's a superb location.

If I was to gripe about anything, it would be a very minor gripe, and that's breakfast. I spend a lot of time in Ireland and a full Irish breakfast beats anything the world over. This didn't. It just didn't quite hit the mark but, you know what, it didn't really detract at all from our whole experience. It's me being spoiled by better breakfasts in other places and I reckon that I can live with that!!!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64JimmyJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Lovely modern styled rooms. Staff were friendly. Lovely breakfast all cooked to order. Enjoyed the facilities such as the swimming pool. Great location near town centre and looking out over the water. Slightly disappointed that there was no bath tub. Was told after check in that there was only two in the building. However the spacious shower was great, with two heads - a large rain water head or a normal small head.

Room Tip: Request room with bath tub if you want to have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_first_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our son gave us this night's stay for my husband's birthday. We stayed in the Desmond Suite. The room was over-the-top and we loved it. Breakfast was very good but a little too basic for a hotel, I think. We ate dinner in the pub and it was great food and dessert and good service. The front desk people were wonderful at check in....the next morning we needed directions to St. John's for Mass but the girl was not too much help just handing us a map instead of routing it for us as we ran into a lot of one ways and ended up dreadfully late after being hopelessly lost...thank heaven we ran into a walker in the pouring rain who took the time to help us find our way. The bed was the best night's sleep of our trip!!!!

Room Tip: The Desmond Suite is the best!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaWickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely modern and refurbished hotel in an ideal location for enjoying Kinsale. Right on the harbour and easy walking anywhere one might want to go in the village. What sets Actons apart however, is its exemplary staff. After our first evening in Kinsale, on returning to the hotel, Ivan overheard our conversation about being a bit hungry and nearly insisted that we join him at the hotel bar. Thank goodness we did! That night and the following we had an excellent time with Ivan and the local man with a cane who feeds the cats (I'm so sorry I can't remember his name) They were great fun and had excellent advice on what to do in the area and where to eat in the village. Take all of their advice! If you are lucky enough to find yourself in the hotel bar when Ivan is working, settle in and enjoy! You're doubly lucky if he'll make you a sandwich late night when hungry. We look forward to returning in the summer!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

If staying or visiting Cork/west cork no better address than Actons Hotel, great views, fabulous newly renovated rooms, (huge state of the art tv) beautiful corporate identity and design...and to top it off best food and service in town and a great value price...

Ten out of ten !

ten

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank miketobin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Year had a lovely break. The hotel is recently renovated and the rooms are very tastefully decorated had a huge comfortable bed which we loved. Booked last minute requested a harbour view which was no problem all the staff were very friendly and the manager made an effort to chat to all guests which was really nice to see. Breakfast was very busy both mornings due to weddings but we were still served very quickly. We had dinner one evening unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to the wedding taking place but we were served in the bar and the meal was
delicious very tasty ribeye and yummy flour less chocolate
cake. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to revisit in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happybudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,693 reviews
Long Quay House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $141 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing