We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Actons hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel in downtown Kinsale, a quick walk to downtown restaurants, shops, and tours, as well as right across from the Harbor. Parking was easy and there are ample spaces for guests. The buffet breakfast was delicious. Complimentary wi-fi was easy to access. While walls are a bit thin (we could hear a crying child a few doors down), overall it was a very comfortable stay and we'd go back the next time we're in the Kinsale area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear SarahP118,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at Actons of Kinsale. We're glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return in the future. Thank you particularly for your comments about the team here which are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    306
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
165
451
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

A weekend away in Kinsale meeting up with my sister and her husband. Despite the weather forecast Saturday turned out to be lovely and we were able to fully enjoy Kinsale's many charms. We chose Actons because of its reviews and location and were not disappointed. It was comfortable, friendly and well-appointed and good value. However, although I normally do not like to criticise there was one blemish. I ordered an omelette for breakfast on the first morning which was the worst I have ever had. It was a large rubbery pancake in the middle of which had been laid, not mixed, onions, ham etc and then turned over to conceal the ingredients. Three of us had ordered omelettes and they were all the same. The breakfast chef should be ashamed of himself. On the next day we ordered the full Irish breakfast which was absolutely fine. I know that bad omelettes are only a minor issue but a hotel kitchen that does not know how to make an omelette is questionable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Nistock,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel location, facilities and the friendliness of the team.

We are very sorry to learn that you were dis-appointed with your breakfast the morning that you ordered omelettes. We completely agree with you that cooking an omelette is a basic skill for any breakfast chef and I'm sorry that your experience with us fell short on what the standard should have been. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard and I would also like to pass on the apologies of our head chef Garrett Forsey in this regard.

I hope that your experience will not prevent you from giving Actons another opportunity to impress you. Thank you once again for your balanced review, it is often easy to allow once issue to completely influence your views.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We can't say enough about the lovely 3 night stay we had at Acton's Hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the harbour view room which was quite large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were lovely and friendly and helpful and we were very impressed with the Manager Breda Keane who immediately dealt with a small issue that we had. Also the cleaning staff are extremely thorough with the care they take over each room, our room was spotlessly cleaned everyday. The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and you are in the perfect spot near the town and you can walk to the centre in a few minutes. We ate dinner one night in the hotel and it was very nice as was the lovely toasted sandwiches during the day. Also there is a leisure centre with a pool and they also provide various massage treatments which i enjoyed. All in all I would definitely recommend Acton's Hotel for a nice relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 226 harbour view, lovely interior and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear TellerIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Actons and indeed the lovely town of Kinsale. Thank you for your very nice comments about the cleanliness of the bedrooms and the team who are charged with this very important task. It can be a tough task particularly in a listed building and the challenges that bring and we are always delighted when their efforts are particularly noted by our guest.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed dinner and lunch with us.

Thank you also for your kind comment to me, I'm glad I was personally able to play a small part in the enjoyment of your stay at Actons.

Please continue to recommend Actons of Kinsale and we hope that you will return in the future.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

we stayed there for one night i am sorry we did not stay for the 2.The hotel was great with everything in easy walking distance.The room was great very big with a great shower the one complaint that i have that is that the room was quite warm i am sure if i asked for fan they would have had one.the breakfast was quite good as hotel go.if i was staying again i would ask for one of the room to the front

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irelandladyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Irelandladyluck,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Actons following your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay and we hope that you will have the opportunity to stay longer on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a pleasant surprise ! We really enjoyed our stay at Actons. Its in a perfect position for walking into town and the views from the room were fabulous.
The staff were polite, professional and helpful. We had the 30 euro dinner on the first night which was ok -nothing special so wouldn't bother with that again. The restaurant was quiet so dinner was served in the bar.
the Wi-Fi was free and easy to access and worked !! Best hotel Wi-Fi we've come across -its my obsession the rubbish Wi-Fi in hotels!!
Breakfast very good - buffet had smoked salmon and lots of fresh meats and cheese -also a la carte offered omelette, eggs benedict and good Irish fry up .

Room Tip: worth extra for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear WestSussexGooner,


Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our WiiFi facilities, as part of our extensive refurbishment programme this was something we really wanted to get right and we're glad we have done so.

Once again thank you for your kind comments, I hope you will continue to recommend us in beautiful West Sussex.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We where due to stay in Actons in late September for 2 nights mid week but as you will see from my review checked out after one night. After reading reviews about this hotel we where really excited about our stay. Unfortunately we left the hotel with a different attitude and felt we where ripped off!
Let me start of with the positives. The hotel is located in a excellent location right in the heart of Kinsale and has a car park which is a real added bonus. The pool is also excellent.
We arrived to this hotel quite early before 12 noon and as expected the room was not ready. This was no problem and the kind receptionist Anna offered to store our luggage and said she would call us when the room was ready. We left our luggage and went to explore the town. A little later in the afternoon Anna as promised called us to let us know our room was ready. We returned the hotel a little later as we had some lunch and went sight seeing in Kinsale. We came back to the hotel and checked in with a young Irish lady - Anna must have finished for the day. This lady was a little bit scatted we felt and was quite rude. As we had already "checked in" so to speak earlier giving our credit card details and filling out the necessary paper work we where handed our room key and was told that our room was on the first floor and that was about it! We had to ask the questions about breakfast times etc! Not a great start and things only got worse. Went we checked into our room we where placed in a street view room. Don't get me wrong the room was lovely but I was hoping for a Harbour facing room after reading the reviews. I went back down to the receptionist and asked if possible could we change rooms and her response was quite simply NO! She said the hotel was full and as we didn't pay for a Harbour View room there was nothing she could do and we would have to stay in the room we where allocated. Baring in mind that we stayed here mid week in September I found it odd that the hotel could be completely full and no other rooms available. I felt abit annoyed with this response because if I knew in advance that there was a supplement for a Harbour View room I would have certainly paid for this. That night we asked the same receptionist could she recommended somewhere nice to eat. She gave some suggestions and we asked could she make us a reservation in a near by restaurant which she said she would. We had a pre dinner drink in the hotel bar. The girl working was lovely and very chatty giving us some recommendations on things to do and see. The bar lacked atmosphere and if the hotel was "full" as the receptionist said isn't strange that the bar was empty with the exception of one business man? We felt the drink was over priced €5.60 for a glass of wine and nearly €5 for a pint. When we went to the restaurant - Jim Edwards they had no record of our reservation, we said we are staying in Actons and the receptionist booked us a table but no they hadn't received any call form Actons! Due to this we had to wait 45 mins for a table as they had a large group in at the time. Not ideal!
Breakfast the following morning was a disaster; we where greeted by a young courteous man who showed us to our table and offered us coffee, our order was taken without delay and we helped ourselves to the buffet which I have to say was very good with a wide selection. The problem was we waited nearly 25 minutes for two full Irish breakfasts which was only edible at the most. The dinning room was busy at the time but still 25 minutes! The young chap working breakfast did his very best and did apologies for the delay, him and his colleague worked very hard to look after the tables but again we heard them say the same story to several tables. We actually felt sorry for them both as clearly it wasn't their fault for the delay.
After breakfast we went back to our room and decided that we would check out one day early and go stay elsewhere. We went to check out and the same receptionist was on duty. We told her we decided to check out early. Her response was that's no problem. No problem? Yes there was several problems but she didn't even enquire as to why we where leaving early!
Overall the hotel does not live up to the 4 star title. I would strongly recommended Actons to retrain their front office staff and breakfast chef! We will certainly not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Brendax2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons following your stay in September. Thank you for your kind feedback about our receptionist Anna, the location, the quality and cleanliness of the bedrooms and parking. I'm also glad to hear that you got good recommendations from a member of our bar team on things to see and do in Kinsale.

Unfortunately, we also seem to have disappointed you on some aspects of your stay. I am sorry to learn that you were dis appointed to be assigned a street facing room. Unfortunately even though you were staying mid-week in September, this is still a very high occupancy month for Kinsale and our Harbour View Room are really special and are always the first room type to book fully. I apologise sincerely that this message was not delivered in an appropriate manner and that you were spoken to in a manner that is completely unacceptable. Please be assured that I have addressed your comments with the reception team and front of House Manager.

I must also apologise that you experienced a delay with breakfast service the following morning. We cook all our breakfast items to order offering a full range of vegetarian options, fish of the day, a range of omelettes, French toast and of course the Traditional Full Irish Breakfast. Occasionally it can happen that we have a large number of guests come for breakfast together and this can cause a slight backlog in the kitchen however on balance we could not offer the range that we currently offer from a faster buffet style operation.

As a leisure hotel we can sometimes have guests inform us that they are departing a day early or extend their planned stay with us. For this reason your request to change your plans would not in itself raise any concerns with our receptionist. The receptionists should enquire of each guest on departure about their stay again I can only offer my apologies if this was not your experience.

Thank you once again for your comments, we greatly appreciate our guests taking the time to give us feedback as it is only in this way that we can constantly re-assess our operation and continue to improve our standards.

Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing