We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good re-vamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin 8
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good re-vamp”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The work on the hotel has improved the rooms greatly. It's in the best location opposite the harbour and the views are very relaxing. The food has gone from being one of the best in Kinsale(a few years ago) to just average and unexciting. The starters(3) on the "table d'hote" menu were all salad based. Has soup gone out of fashion? The mains were very average but OK for what they were. We used to come for the food but.....

Room Tip: Very quiet location but the harbour views make the hotel a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Wagger,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the refurbishment, we're glad that as a past guest that you like what we've done.

We're sorry to hear that you were dis-appointed with your food experience. We have added soup and some additional options to our table d'hote menu. We hope that you might choose to return on another occasion.

Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    318
    85
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
471
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Kinsale was wonderful as was the Actons Hotel. It was recently renovated, which is always a plus! Our room had a great view of the harbor. The room was spacious, clean and bright. The pub was open until late, so we were able to get a night cap each night we were there. I thought the price was pretty reasonable for the quality of the room. Breakfast was abundant with many choices. We had an overall great experience here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The location was also perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marboe1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Marboe1223,

Thank you for your kind comments which we are delighted to receive. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from the hotel are great, we never tire of them and we get to enjoy them every day! Thank you again for your comments which we have shared on the notice board for all our team to see.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

When this hotel was remodeled they obviously did not take the time to properly clean it because the rooms and especially the hallways were very musty and smelled like dust. It was actually hard to breathe in the hallways. We ended up having to sleep with the window open all night just to get fresh air in. If you have allergies to dust and/or mold DO NOT stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear CBubby2011,

We are so sorry that you experienced difficulties during your stay at Actons of Kinsale. Actons was extensively refurbished over a 16 month period re-opening in mid March this year. Please be assured as part of our re-opening process, all areas received a professional deep clean and all areas are vacuumed and dusted daily. Your comments have ben passed to our accommodation services manager Tina, who has asked to be associated with my apologies to you.

Yours sincerely,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our room is smallish, but lovely, with most of the necessary modern conveniences (but no safe and no fridge). The staff are polite and helpful. The location is excellent, just a couple of blocks from town and with a large parking lot and beautiful harbor views.

I'd be happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank booklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear booklaw,

Thank you for your kind comments especially about our team here which I have passed on. We we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Actons, the location is very convenient to the town and the many restaurants and places of interest that Kinsale has to offer. We're glad you enjoyed the harbour views from the hotel.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First time staying in Actons hotel although we have stayed in its sister hotel, The Trident just up the road. Actons had been closed for refurbishments for the past 13 months and has only reopened in the past few weeks. The staff were all local and very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were either part cold buffet or hot to order and were delicious. They didn't appear to be fully up and running for evening meals and we were the only 2 people in the room. It was very good without being outstanding like the breakfast.
A personal gripe here. Do I have it wrong? Why do the majority of Irish chefs seem to think that if they cook a breast of chicken anyway at all with a wing bone attached and even skin on the breast that they can call it supreme of chicken?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Lcoman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the newly opened Actons, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast with us, Our Head Chef John O'Connell and I believe it is the most important meal of the day and John and his team have put together a varied menu which is being well received by our guests. While our full Irish Breakfast will always be popular it is good to be able to offer a choice of Eggs Benedict, Catch of the day, French Toast as an alternative.

Regarding your personal gripe, the Supreme of Chicken, while the customer is always right I do have to confirm that the specific name for the cut of chicken breast with the wing bone intact either with or without the skin is a supreme. You did start an interesting discussion amongst us here but the matter was put to rest with the help of our friendly butcher and we don't argue with a man with sharp knives!

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited Acton's Hotel recently for the first time since it was refurbished, to have a meal in the bar. We were impressed with the reception area décor as well as in the bar. We ordered sausage and mash and the fish and chips. While the sausage and mash was very tasty the fish and chips dish was not. First of all the fish and chips was served on a wooden board which was clearly not suitable. We had to ask for an extra plate. The fish batter was soggy, so most was left behind. To be fair, the staff asked us re this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandDee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kenanddee123,

Thank you for your review of Actons of Kinsale bar food. We're glad that you enjoyed our Lordons sausage and mash, the sausages are produced locally for us by Lordans Master Butchers in nearby Ballinspittle and have proved very popular.

I'm delighted to let you know that we have reviewed our service standard for the fish and chips. The chips are now served separately in a bowl while the fish is served on the board. this has solved the issue of the batter becoming soggy from the steam of the chips below it. I'm glad to know that our team dealt with the issue to your satisfaction on the day and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
323 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We asked around in Killiney and people said we should stay at the Actons in Kinsale because your rooms had amazing views. The hotel had just been refurbished, the carpets throughout new and uniquely Irish! The service throughout the hotel was warm and friendly. The bar had informed barmen and women. We were still learning about different Irish Whisky. The coffee in the bar excellent. The laundry for my 82 year old Dads shirt, quick, back in a day. We just strolled out the hotel to the finest Restaurants without having to drive. Being woken in the morning by seagulls a unique experience if your windows were left open.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillineyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Killineybay,

Thank you so very much for your very kind feedback from your visit to Actons of Kinsale. We are delighted that you and your father enjoyed your stay with us and we are especially glad to hear that our team were friendly and that our bar staff were informative to you on our great range of Irish whiskeys, I hope you had the opportunity to sample a few during your stay!

I'm delighted to hear that you received recommendations from Killiney about us, I spent four very happy years living and working in beautiful Killiney. With the great views you enjoy over Dublin Bay it's great to hear your comments on the views and sounds of Kinsale. Indeed, I may use your comment about the sound of the seagulls in our marketing materials, very poetic.

We're incredibly lucky to have such a wonderful location, both the great harbour views and the proximity to the many attraction of Kinsale town a short stroll away.Thank you once again for your kind comments which I have passed onto the team here. We hope to welcome you back to Actons of Kinsale again in the future.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing