We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
kerry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here last wknd.The hotel has been given a makeover and the results are delightful.
The bedrooms are first class ,bright comfortable and modern.
The bar and dining room are comfortable and inviting.
We will certainly be returning to enjoy the ambience and great value in a fabulous location.
Finally I would also like to mention the staff who were both welcoming and polite throughout our stay.

Room Tip: with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Caitin
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Actons of Kinsale.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you like all the improvements that we have made to the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back
Kindest regards

Sarah Dallas
sdallas@actonshotelkinsale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    311
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
456
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights over the weekend. Really nice refurb on the hotel. The rooms are really nice and modern with big comfy bed and bathroom has a great shower! Staff where friend and helpful.
Good location as just a short walk down to the shops and cafes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Emmy
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Actons of Kinsale.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and you approve of our refurbishment. I do agree with you that the beds are indeed very comfortable.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back
Kindest regards

Sarah Dallas
sdallas@actonshotelkinsale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just spent a very nice weekend in this hotel.We stayed in room 210 which had a lovely harbor view.The staff are very pleasant and efficient. Especially one of housekeeping girl. The food in the hotel was delicious and I would definitely stay here again because it has a certain charm other hotels lack.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kira
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Actons of Kinsale.
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us. Our rooms to the front of the hotel do have some lovely views of Kinsale Harbour.
Thank you for your kind comments about our team, I will certainly pass them on, they have all been working very hard since we reopened the hotel.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon
Kindest regards

Sarah Dallas
sdallas@actonshotelkinsale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in a twin room. The location is good, very near kinsale pubs and restaurants. Nice view of the harbour.
The rooms are well decorated, nice shower, no bath. The bathroom did have conditioner. Plenty of tv channels, and there was wifi in the rooms, but very weak. Rooms are small. There is a lift.

Check-in was fast.

The bar is pretty souless, and the bar staff are a little inexperienced. Very slow to get drinks, and mistakes in every order. Ok for quiet drink after a journey, but bland otherwise. Loads of other bars nearby though (we didn't venture far as the weather was bad). Fishy Fishy restaurant is one of the most popular in Kinsale and is two buildings away. Highly recommend eating there too, but book it, very busy.

The leisure center is good. Nice pool, towels provided.

Breakfast was excellent. Loads of choice, plenty of fruit, hot pastries, and a choice of cooked breakfasts.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Actons of Kinsale.
I appreciate all your constructive feedback and will certainly be taking this on board.
We would love to have you stay with us again soon

Kindest regards

Sarah Dallas
sdallas@actonshotelkinsale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

very disappointing bar food, mid priced and nice ambience, coffee tasted like instant and 'free homemade treat' was a packaged mini biscuit, fish and chips nicely presented but fish undercooked and slimey, service pleasant but rushed, no one asked if we enjoyed our food!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilikemytreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the experience in Sidney's Bar & Brasserie. I am glad that you did like the ambience of the bar and brasserie however I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations concerning our food standards.
Please be assured that this certainly is not our normal standards at Actons of Kinsale. All our tea & coffees should be served with a mini homemade bite made fresh each day by our chefs.
In relation to the fish that you were served for you meal I did speak with our Head Chef.
I have also passed your comments concerning the service to our Food & Beverage Manager
We would be delighted to welcome you back at any stage, please feel free to contact me directly when you are visiting Kinsale again I will be happy to ensure that you are looked after.
Once again please do accept my apologies.
Kindest regards
Sarah Dallas
sdallas@actonshotelkinsale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights during the week, very friendly efficient staff. Good to see this hotel back in action, great refurb and facilities. Excellent location in the town beside all amenities with stunning views of the harbour and village............we will be back. quinner

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Quinner
We appreciate you taking the time to review you recent stay with us here at Actons of Kinsale.
Please to hear the you enjoyed your visit with us, and thank you for you kind comments about our team we will be sure to pass them on.
Hope to see you back at Actons very soon

Kindest regards

Sarah Dallas
sdallas@actonshotelkinsale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing