We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveler rating
608
403
161
51
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
608
403
161
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wharf tavern executive room residents bar lovely hotel overlooking the water sea view cold buffet the pub lovely view bar food full irish third floor a lovely stay breakfast was excellent pancakes harbour town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Love our room had a big window and faced the waterfront. Updated, nice and clean. Restaurant views of waterfront were nice. Watched seal swimming which was cool. Food was good - typical full Irish breakfast. Noticed a big drop in tide when we were eating,then realized its because it leads to the Atlantic Ocean.

Room tip: Ask for waterfront
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank europeanhaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear europeanhaunt,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially the waterfront location. The Bandon River which sweeps out from right to left, as you look out, passing Charles Fort and the outer harbour very quickly reaches the Atlantic Ocean. Being so close to the ocean with quite a deep harbour creates big tide differences which can be interesting!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

This is a beautifully appointed, high quality hotel in a great location with (mostly) great staff.

We had the misfortune to stay there when there was a wedding on. To say that there was no noise control is an understatement. The entire room shook - and we understood why there were two sets of doors but with the noise level, these only had a minor muffling effect.

What was outrageous was the response of the desk staff when we complained and at checkout - saying that it was outside their control and that the bands were organised by the wedding party so they could not respond. There was no apology, there was no recognition that it might have disturbed our sleep. An arrogant, 'take it or leave it' response lacking any empathy or professionalism from so-called "management".

Even several weeks after the event we are both still seething.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 262nigelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Nigel B,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience while staying some weeks ago.

I am sorry that you have a disturbed night during you stay and equally that you complaint was not handled in a more professional manner.

We do have a high quality hotel and we don't like to hear of any of our guests having a negative experience so if you have an opportunity to make contact I would appreciate it either by email or phone so that we can discuss this more fully.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

We were here for just one night but wished for more. The rooms are beautiful, with modern new bathrooms and big windows looking out over the harbor- spectacular views. We didn’t have dinner at the restaurant but breakfast was good.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank uuperiwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Dear uuperiwinkle,

Thank you for your great review!

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay. Hopefully you will find your way back and spend a little longer the next time, have dinner in our restaurant and maybe a couple of the other great restaurants in Kinsale!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We love a refurbished hotel. They’ve done a great job on the Trident. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the third floor which had stunning floor to ceiling views right over the Harbour. We had room 313 which we think was probably the best room. See photos.. Comfy bed, cosy seating area, full length mirrors, spacious modern bathroom, power shower - all very good. It's a good quality refurb and while the location is fantastic, it's not an architectural gem. With so many excellent local restaurants, we did not eat in. However, we loved the cakes in the bar which were great value at 2.50. We thought the staff at check in were a bit cool and we note that others share this view. However, everyone else was lovely especially in the bar and restaurant. The breakfast was very good. Tip - if you want to sample beautiful West Cork cheeses, have them at breakfast and have a desert for your dinner. The first floor has a very nice lounge area where we settled in with some books. Strangely, we could not order coffee there. The staff in the bar were quite happy to give us a tray and open the doors so I could bring the tray up in one hand and the plates of cake that didn’t fit on the tray. It was not a problem but a strange one. A small nit. Overall, we had a lovely time and it is great to see an investment being made to give Kinsale the quality hotel it deserves. The neighbouring Acton’s looks very nice too but the Trident does not appear to do weddings guaranteeing a quieter stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank LeinsterAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Dear LeinsterAdvisor,

I am delighted that you enjoyed our refurbished hotel. We are very pleased with the work that has been carried out which make the Trident a bit 'special'!

Thank you for your very positive comments and we hope that you will return again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

My wife and I stayed in The Trident last week. The hotel is conveniently located on the water just a five minute from center city Kinsale. The staff at reception were very helpful at both check-in and check-out. The room was clean, well apportioned , the bathroom was roomy and modern, and the bed was comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are in Kinsale. Additionally, if you have time I suggest you take the time to visit the Old Head golf course. Nothing short of spectacular. Probably the most picturesque course in the world.

Room tip: Visit Old Head
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Dear Dave K,

Thank you for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

The Old Head Golf Links is spectacular and well worth a visit as there is nothing like it in the world - unique!

We hope you'll be back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews