We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Great view of the bay. Rooms are avarage and need a bit of an update. Bathroom is nice. Location is a quick walk to the heart of the town. It's a quiet hotel. Breakfast is okay. Free and easy parking which is key in Kinsale! Not sure if I would stay there again but it would not be disappointed if I did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbett1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

We had a beautiful room, No 119 – the Castlepark Suite. The best view across the harbour. Food is good in the bar on the ground floor but the breakfast wasn’t up to standard. The bacon was unchewable and the kipper not too good either. What type of chefs do they have ? Stick to the fruit and cereal, you can’t go wrong with this. Most of the staff are friendly. However we found that our (expensive) room had an ancient hairdryer, I had never seen one like it before. I wished I had brought my own. And the TV was way out of date, really tiny with a bad reception –definitely not Plasma ! Which we thought, for the price of the room, was rather disappointing. When we complained about the TV and the hairdryer, we didn’t even get a “sorry”. Overall a good stay, but the Hotel seriously needs updating – and a new chef in the breakfast kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsoverall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We had a corner room with fantastic views from the windows in two directions. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had sufficient counter space. The room looked a little tired - definitely in need of refurbishment. It also didn't seem especially clean. But the views made our stay very enjoyable, nevertheless. The hotel is in a convenient location for seeing the town of Kinsale.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

The location of this hotel is perfect. The food and bar facilities are excellent but by far the greatest assest the Trident Hotel has is its staff. All encountered were friendly. articulate and caring. The presence of managers and obvious supervision lead to good standards being maintained. Our room, I would argue not 4 star standard, particularily the bathroom, way overdue a refurbishment, was spotlessly clean. Meeting younger staff members cleaning corridors and public areas there was the feel of the young of the community having summer jobs in the hotel. This added to the overall warm atmosphere and a definite bonus to sullen non communicative staff encountered in other hotels. We will come back but a refurbishment is a must.....!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FridayRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Trident while in Kinsale, Kinsale is a wonderful town. The Trident hotel was a good hotel. The rooms were large and the bed was comfortable. THe hotel is at the pier and about 5-10 minute walk to the main part of town. The breakfast in the morning was okay. The buffet was limited and the cooked meal was decent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Attended wedding in the hotel and enjoyed stay. Food was quite good and service very good. View from bedrooms is excellent and price for room is too much but not too bad for the standard. I'm not mean person and generally dont mind paying that little bit extra in a hotel for a drink. But the prices charged particularly at the wedding reception were excessive for both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. Wasn't just me who thought this. I suppose this is how they make their money but not doing themselves any favours. Didn't let it spoil the stay and bar food is reasonably priced and good quality so would recommend hotel but take it easy on the bevvies and your wallet will appreciate it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The website descibes how extensive refurbishment led to the hotel being awarded 4 stars in May 2007. However the en-suite bathroom of our standard room could only be described as 2/3 star! The enamel of the bath was yellow and cracked, the radiator over the bath, on which the towels were hung, was very rusted and the sealant and grouting were either missing or blackened and needed to be replaced. Apparently the standard rooms were not part of the refurbishment program ~were they not inspected by the AA rating people? To upgrade we were quoted another 40e per night! If staying at a 4 star hotel you would expect your room to be 4 star, surely? On a positive note the food in the Wharf Tavern was really lovely and we found all the staff to be very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midweekers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
964 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $135 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing