We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Nearby Hotels
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cork Airport Hotel(Cork)(Great Value!)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
486
364
149
51
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
364
149
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswharf tavernexecutive roomlovely hotelhuge windowsresidents barkippersoverlooking the watersea viewlovely viewthe pubroom was largethird floorfull irisha lovely staylovely roombeautiful townbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here in September while touring Ireland. Parking was free, open air in front of hotel. Reception was helpful but somewhat impersonal. Our room was large enough but was showing signs of age and despite having requested "non smoking" it was very smokey! (This was the only venue in Ireland that we had this occur). We booked months in advance and arrived around 7ish so it was late before we realised the room was not as we had hoped and felt it too late to question it or move. The hotel has a restaurant attached downstairs in which we dined (basic but not bad ). There is a restaurant within the hotel but as we did not use it - am unable to comment.

The bed was comfortable enough and we were provided extra pillows upon request.

Breakfast was inclded with our accommodation and this was served in the dining room on the first floor. It was quite pleasant with a good selection of food available.

The hotel is located on the water front and its an easy stroll back to the small township.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking - suggest you insist.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Cruisin,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and particularly that you got a smokey room. I'm sure that our reception staff would have done everything possible to find you a suitable room if you were not happy with the one you were allocated.

We do have two restaurants in the Trident the Pier One is the main restaurant where we also serve breakfast and our Wharf Tavern which is more casual and a favourite of our local clients.

I hope that you did enjoy your visit to Kinsale even if you were a little disappointed with your bedroom.

I hope that you will return and have a more positive visit.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Welcoming and Friendly - ten out of ten.
Service - Ten out of ten.
Facilities - excellent - ten out of ten.
As a disabled person with a small family, we found the staff very helpful. from the desk, to the restaurant and bar.
The food is very good and beats a lot of expensive 'place to eat' in Kinsale. Excellent oysters in the bar. Top quality in the restaurant and so much food for breakfast, you probably won't need lunch! The bedroom is great , heating just right - a real treat on a wet day to come back to.
After my little boy dropped his electronic gizmo in the sea staff called diver groups to see if they could solve the problem. In other words the desk went out of their way to help - ~Excellent

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 805Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Jerry,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

We are delighted with your scoring - we'll take 10 out of 10 any time! We very much appreciate your kind comments and particularly about our hard working staff. I know that individually or collectively they will go our of their way to be of assistance whenever possible. I see that you were kind enough to comment after your visit in August also - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Trident before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Another fabulous stay in our favourite hotel in our favourite town!
My husband and I held our wedding at the Trident last year and were invited back for a complimentary stay on our1st anniversary. The Trident did an amazing job with our wedding and we had a wonderful anniversary stay, we will always return to The Trident and can't recommend it enough! x

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brightlight1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Ciara,

Congratulations on your first anniversary!

Thank you for your resounding endorsement of the Trident Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 1st Anniversary visit to the Trident and I hope that it brought back very happy memories and that you will be back soon to your 'favourite hotel'.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My partner and I had a very pleasant stay in the Trident Hotel. The staff were very pleasant and at breakfast they did go out of there way to accomadate me as I am gluten intollerant. The only fault is the bedrooms are on the small size but other than that we had a lovely stay and Kinsale is a beautiful place. Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Martina,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us over the October Bank Holiday weekend.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay even if you felt that your room was a little bit small. When you return, which I hope you will soon, maybe an Executive room might be a more suitable choice which would be a larger room, harbour facing and with a large marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Our executive rooms also have air conditioning.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent two nights at the Trident in September and found it to be a great choice for visiting Kinsale and area. The hotel is modern and appears to cater to groups - there were two bus tours when we were there. A short walk from town where you have lots of restaurant to choose from.

Our room was large and bright with a great view of the harbor. Breakfast was substantial and served in a dining room that also offered a view of the water. Had dinner one night in the pub which was very busy but well-managed by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you made a good choice and stayed with us in the Trident, and that you found everything satisfactory.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident and Kinsale in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews