We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get a room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We convinced the receptionist to give us a suite and it was well worth it! We were thrilled with the ocean view and the breakfast room service. It was a delight to stay here and all within walking distance of Kinsale. Clean hotel and friendly staff. make sure you are staying on the other side away from the bar area as it can get noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keiraoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kiera,

Thank you for posting a review of your rcent stay at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you got the room of your choice. Our staff will always try to help our guests as much as possible to facilitate your requests.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    330
    143
    48
    23
See reviews for
160
494
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I chose the Trident to celebrate a special birthday, we stayed in the posh room with an amazing balcony with views over the harbour (spotted the seal a couple of times). Can't fault the room, it was fabulous and huge. The birthday lunch was well organised and the hotel provided a cake for sugar figures that we'd brought over - unfortunately the cake couldn't support the figures so they did look like corpses..but the cake was scrummy.
Kinsale is a lovely spot, definitely the place to go in Ireland if you're into good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Robson63,

Thank you for your review of your recent 'birthday bash' at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the town of Kinsale. I'm sorry that the cake figures sank but hopefully it didn't take from the scrumptious tast of the cake!

Thank you for chosing the Trident & Kinsale for this special event and hopefully you will be back to us before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
468 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Outstanding service by the front desk and management staff. Friendly and effective staff in the restaurants! Great view from rooms facing the Kinsale Harbour. Gorgeous area! Great food! Wonderful Wonderful Experience!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the beautiful harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear DRRIGBY,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

"An outstanding Hotel" and "Wonderful Experience" - these are wonderful accolades - thank you very much!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will see you here again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not knowing all rooms have some sort of water view we specifically asked for an water view room. What we got was a 2nd floor room overlooking the main parking lot and yes, the water. Unless you were properly dressed you had to keep the draperies closed. Aside from that, the room was a typical king room and it was clean. They offer a great breakfast that comes with the room. I don't think this would be my first choice of lodging if I were to go back. Also, the staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenfar93035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding your room, our friendly staff and great breakfast. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your view but at least you did see the water as your room was facing straight out across the harbour. I'm sure you also enjoyed the other spectacular views during your visit to West Cork.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is terrific value. Never mind the star ratings. We took the three nights for the price of two in mid July. This was our fourth visit in as many summers and we will be back. Breakfast was splendid with helpful smiling staff.

Room Tip: Second Floor ..you can see more and less people see you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniorDubliners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear seniorDubliners,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you have returned again as regulars and that you appreciate the good value that is on offer - keep watching the website as we have great offers regularly!

I hope you will be back soon to be greeted by our friendly staff again.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight at the Trident in the Harbour Suite. An amazing view over the bay. Large spacious room with stunning views over the bay and harbour. If you come here well worth booking room 314. I will be returning to stay again. Staff friendly and helpful to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and certainly room 314 has a spectacular view of Kinsale Harbour.

Thank you for your kind comments about our hardworking staff.

I hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent a night at the Trident as we started a tour of the South-west.

The location is terrific with nice water views from our room and while the hotel was clean enough, it just seems a little tired.

They do serve a very nice full Irish breakfast and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Kinsale is a wonderful town with a good number of decent restaurants. Well worth an overnight visit. You are close to Old Head (one of the great golf courses) and to the beautiful towns and countryside of West Cork (Glandore etc).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear htravel,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff and breakfast to a high standard and our location exellent with easy walking access to the town of Kinsale and within an easy drive of the sights of West Cork.

I hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing