We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views of the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg VA, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Views of the Bay”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Be sure to request a room with a view of the bay. We were thrilled with the view we had....huge windows the length of the room. The room was clean and quite adequately furnished, a little wear and tear, but still a great experience. Long walk from lift to the room, but well worth the walk. Short walk into town. Breakfast was lovely and nicely garnished. Try to get there when you can get a table by the windows. The staff was quite professional and knowledgeable. You will like this stop.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side furtherest from the town, 2nd or third floor, overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Christie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our location with the great views over the bay. We much appreciate your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    336
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
163
504
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We initially picked the Trident Hotel because it offered ample on site parking as compared to the hotels in town where parking sounded like it would be a problem. It was the first 3 night stop for us after arriving at Shannon Airport on June 20. We had requested a quiet room and we got our wish. We paid a little extra for a view of the harbor and a small sitting area by the large picture window. By the next day, we realized we had made the right choice in all regards. The location made it easy to walk into town for dinner or to the two forts. Before and after dinner, we LOVED sitting in our chairs watching the harbor activity while drinking wine. The 15' tide differential blew our minds. One evening, we watched a fishing boat return to an awaiting hungry seal which happily jumped out of the water to get a donated fish. Parking was never an issue. We thoroughly loved Kinsale and our hotel accommodations.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you chose the Trident for your stay in Kinsale and I must say you painted a very good 'word picture' of the view from your room. It gives a very good idea of the wonderful ambience of the "The World's End!"

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This isn't a particularly fancy hotel but it has loads going for it. Firstly the views from the executive rooms are just amazing. YOu are so close to the sea and the boats and all that makes Kinsale so special. Other reviews have said that the rooms are a bit dated and need updating but we didn't think so. The rooms are quite plain but they are modern and in the executive rooms (which were good value for Kinsale in our view) were spacious with lovely bathrooms. The staff on reception were excellent - very friendly and professional. The seating area right on the water is amazing and it was quite easy to get a table there which was hard to believe in July. And its got a great pub (see seperate review). What's not to like? Go - its really good and doesn't deserve some of the picky reviews its had.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra for the space and the guaranteed amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Penmaenmawr2,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location and facilities to a high standard. Thank you for your comment on our hard working and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location a short walk from the main town centre with plenty of choices for restaurants and bars. The rooms (We chose the 3rd floor King) were large great views comfortable beds and big bathrooms with great separate walk in showers. Its more of a good Best Western hotel than a Sheraton but then it was above our expectation for what we paid. The breakfast is a bit cafetieria conference style service than personalised caring and is not as good as the rooms would suggest should be provided. there are a few signs of wear and tear but everything very clean.Free car parking a plus also. Would we return? A big yes.

Room Tip: The bigger KS rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear MG_Eclipse_Boy,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the town of Kinsale and that you found the facilities and location to be good. I'm sorry that you weren't too impressed with your breakfast service as we find the combination between the cold buffet and hot breakfast service from the kitchen to be a good balance.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back on another occasion before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I organised a meeting of about 50 people for 3 days at the hotel. Most of the people attending the meeting were from overseas. All of the feedback that I got from the delegates was positive: friendly and professional staff, good food and an excellent location with views of the harbour from everyone's room. Most of the delegates had not heard of Kinsale before and were really impressed by the town as well, a fact that was certainly helped by fantastic weather!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Simon,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent conference.

We are delighted that this event went so well and hopefully you will have an opportunity to host another before too long. Kinsale lends itself to small and medium sized conference so that the work can take place and you still have the charms of the historic and vibrant town to balance the mood. I think you did say that you would leave a little more time to enjoy what Kinsale has to offer both on land and sea.

We will be delighted to give you whatever support you may need to arrange a similar event.

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The rooms most give directly on to the sea. They are perfectly furnished and well sound proofed.
Rather confusingly the ground floor reception is actually floor 5, so go for bedrooms facing the sea on floor 6.
Restaurant and sun deck in on floor 4, with spa on 3.
The evening meal was as would be expected from a Michelin starred place.
This is a place to go back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely room (222) with an unbelievable view. Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was spacious and v clean. Huge windows to take advantage of the incredible view but the curtains were black out which kept the room nice and dark in the morning. The room was hot so we kept the windows open but it was fine as there was no noise in the morning. Found the staff really helpful, obliging and efficient. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 222 and 317. Fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayniesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jayniesmurf,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

We like to get the 'Thumbs up' from our guests and yours is very welcome! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room, the view and the staff to a high standard. We can't always promise the sun but we certainly on a roll at the moment and we're not too far from Cork for another quick visit.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing