We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After a great start to our tour of Ireland this property left us wanting a bit more. The location is beautiful - right at the harbor, but something seems to be missing. We traveled with 3 other couples and each had a junior suite, which frankly is a must here I'd say. The suites are large and have nice views. Bathrooms are large and nicely appointed. Service was OK -- I don't know if they were just busy or if jaded from the volume of tourists. Breakfast is included and very good -- try to get a table near or at the window for a great morning view. Absolutely DO NOT MISS a meal at Fishy Fishy. That absolutely was the best dinner of our entire trip. Reservations are a must because it is hopping. There is no fitness center at the hotel -- it's at its sister property, Acton Hotel, a short walk down the street. That was a bit disappointing but the fact that our boys played golf at Old Head made up for it. The town of Kinsale is very quaint and there is a terrifc shop, Grandma's Bottom Drawer, that is not to be missed if you like lace and/or cashmere. Two of us found cashmere ponchos that we bought and love.

Room Tip: Junior suites are great - be sure you ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Kwagmeister,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I'm sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and you felt there was something missing from your stay. Judging by your itinerary we would have been quite different to the style of hotels you stayed in during your visit - many of which were resort style in country locations. Our advantage is that we are located in Kinsale on the harbour and within a few minutes drive of the Old Head Golf Links. There are approximately 50 places to eat within easy walking distance and you have highlighted Fishy Fishy as being one of the excellent restaurants in the town.

Granny's Botton Drawer is a fine example of the shopping available in the town which also boasts pottery, crystal, gold and silver smiths, with many other quality crafts.

We do have a variety of room offerings in the Trident, from Standard, Executive, Junior Suites and Master Suites, so hopefully have these options will suit most of our guests.

I hope that your visit to Ireland was overall a positive experience and that you will consider returning in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Kinsale was beautiful but don't stay here! We paid for our room ahead by the travel agent but did not confirm it. We arrived late from Dublin and had paid for a water view but ended up viewing the back trash and noisy back street. The staff treated us as a burden, and after much protest, finally put us in a great room the next day, however, without a smile or one word of apology.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view without looking at the crowded parking lot. UPGRADE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenM829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear MaureenM829,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I'm sorry that you did not find the staff helpful or friendly when you wanted to change rooms. I can see through our records that, as you say you checked in late, and the hotel was alredy full. Our manager on duty who met with you explained that and agreed to change your room the next day and upgraded you to an executive room. The room that was booked for you was a standard room and there was no charge for a sea view.

Again I am sorry that you felt you did not receive a helpful or friendly service but it would appear that everything possible was done to to deal with your request at the time.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

booked this from the US as we planned our own trip. Based on reviews and location we booked this hotel. Pleased when we arrived... it was the best choice in Kinsale itself with nice view and handy location. Pleasant and helpful staff. When we arrived the hotel had a special event and parking limited. Hotel GM came out and helped me find a place.

Room Tip: If you need a firm mattress for your back.. ask about this checking in. I should have....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear KCStephen,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Kinsale and the Trident Hotel. I also appreciate your kind comments about our staff.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.

I was the car park attendant!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June, and was really pleased with the room and service, particularly for the price we payed - 85 Euros. Our room had a view straight onto the harbour, and was nice and clean with a huge bathroom with separate shower and large bath. The breakfast was lovely and served by friendly staff. A short walk along the harbour front takes you to the main shops and pubs so it's ideally situated and has a free car park, however places can be at a premium as patrons of the hotel restaurant utilise this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzywoozy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Suzywoozy6,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

We very much appreciate your kind comments about our staff. We are very fortunate to be in such a prime location and as we do have parking it is better just to leave the car and walk around the town as the streets are very narrow!

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at the Trident last year, and returned again this year. Lovely room , fantastic staff and would def recommend. We will be back again next year. I agree with other contributors that some parts of the hotel could do with a re furbelows, but the fantastic staff and views more than make up for the 20 minutes you spend in the bathroom each day. Thank you for our lovely break and see you in 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Nevin6,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel again!

We are delighted that you have come back to again this year and that you have had another positive experience. I'm sure that you noticed that the majority of the staff were the same that you met last year - and thank you for your kind comments about them as they are a wonderful asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back again before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spectacular views from the bedroom of kinsale harbour. The room itself was very good but could be improved. Food and staff were all excellent and I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Keith M,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will stay again.

We are very fortunate with our location and I am also pleased that you found the staff and food to your liking.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

First off I cant say anything bad about the staff as they were friendly and very helpful. Food was very good also. I was a little disappointed with the rooms, They need to be updated. I was expecting a little more. Hotel is located nicely but did encounter a problem with parking on one night. If rooms were updated I would highly recommend the Trident.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Owen G,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff and the food to a high standard. I am sorry that you were dissappointed with your room but as we have on-going refurbishment and maintenance I'm sure that any shortcomings you found will be remedied before too long. It is unfortunate that you had difficulty parking one night, but on the positive side - we do have parking!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
997 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: Lower o'Connell Street | World's End House, Kinsale P17 HY20, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $140 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing