We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family room or not a family room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“family room or not a family room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for 1 night with my wife & 2 children, we had booked a family room & were expecting at least one double bed & one single bed with a fold away bed for the fourth person, what we got was our double bed pushed against the wall & then 2 fold up beds wedged between our bed & the other wall, ending up with a wall to wall bed During the night the 2 fold up beds collapsed & our kids ended up sleeping on the floor.
We put up with it due to it being a family gathering & the hotel being full we complained in the morning at checkout & they gave us a €20 discount.
Other than this we had a great family occasion & found the hotel staff very helpful & friendly, along with some good food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danfajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    324
    142
    48
    23
See reviews for
156
482
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I find some of the reviews for The Trident highly suspicious. It's not bad but it's not good. On the whole it wasn't the worst hotel I have ever stayed in but it certainly wasn't the best. It definitely is not a four star hotel, maybe 3 star tops. The Trident does not represent value for money and I totally object to being shown a price per person per night even though the minimum occupancy is two.

The receptionist was not welcoming nor was she unfriendly. The room (an executive room) was roomy but very tired. It over-looked part of the harbour (a crane, a digger and one dingy). Don't plan on having to dry your hair or iron anything, both the iron and the hair-dryer in room are cheap and laughably ineffective. Parking at the hotel is a lottery so be prepared to have to park half a mile or more away and walk back to the hotel. There is a swimming pool, but it's half a mile away and they make you wear swimming caps.

Kinsale is the self-styled 'food capital of Ireland' but this wasn't evident in the 'Irish Breakfast' served at The Trident. The ingredients were cheap, the sausage was notably poor quality (what animal provided 'the meat' I have no idea but I'm pretty sure it wasn't pork) , the tomatoes were tasteless, as were the eggs. The only items that seemed be of any quality were the white and black puddings.

If you have to visit Kinsale then I can only hope there is somewhere better.

Room Tip: Top tip: Look elsewhere for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godsowncounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

After a nightmare start to our holiday in the Carlton Kinsale, we were relocated here by the Carlton, because of so many issues we had with cleanliness and lack of maintenance there. We were given an executive room, which we found to be dated, and not to our liking. After a phone call down to reception, the manager hiself was dispatched up to our room, and brought us off to see another room. We were taken to the Harbour View suite, which was a huge room, very modern, well appointed, and was in my eyes, their presidential suite. Hal, the manager, a very helpful and friendly man, who strives for customer satisfaction, spent a good deal of his time, making sure we were happy with this room. Its obvious, that this hotel is a family run business, and the customer is king in their eyes. We had a lovely afternoon relaxing on the huge balcony, which commanded fabulous views over the harbour, watching the yachts and other boats, coming ang going. That evening, we had a meal which was included in our stay, which was very good value and quality for the price. Next morning we ordered our breakfast to the room, so we could relax at the large table, and eat a lovely breakfast, whilst admiring the view. The dining room also has lovely views over the bay. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay, thanks to Hal and his team for coming to our rescue, and making it a memorable visit. Next time we come back here, we will be booking in advance, and hoping to get the same suite or another such suite, all of which are located on the third floor.Thanks again Hal, a true gent and saviour.

Room Tip: Third floor suites are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The rooms were clean, well maintained and views of harbour were brilliant. Staff were friendly and did not overdo it. Food was great and well presented. Intend to go back when we get an opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of harbour. Upgrade can be got at discount rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in june 2011 and had a very enjoyable time,all the staff were very helpful and attentive.The bedroom was very well presented and view of the harbour.The food was excellent. Only disappointment was that evening meals were served in yhe bar which was poor choice by the hotel as they boost at having 4 stars!! Would i stay there again ? Yes of course i would thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in Sept 2011. We were greeted at reception by Charlotte, she was really pleasant and gave us an up grade to a junior suite which was just brill. The room had a great view over looking the harbour. The room was beautifully presented and the bathroom / shower etc was enormous. The freshly cooked irish breakfast was fantastic and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant. We also had an evening meal in the Pier One restaurant over looking the harbour which was excellent and great value. Again the staff were really pleasant and very efficient. Would definitely recommend to others and would certainly go back. Job well done to the Trident Hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrison g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel shpuld not be classed as 4 star.
Old blankets on the beds & pillows as hard as rocks.
Compared to othe 4 stars in Ireland this would just rate as 3 star.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annon1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
Old Bank House
#14 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing