We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish & Chips”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

You can not beat the Fish and Chips + mushy peas.
top quality and reasonable! Family food just right.
The chips were cooked just right and the light batter was excellent.
Nice atmosphere, fast service.

Room Tip: Book a reservation the place get crowded!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 805Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Blue Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 697 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel in Kinsale for two nights recently. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist . Her name was Madalene. We were upgraded to their best room as we were celebrating an Anniversary. We had a very lovely meal in the Blue Haven Bistro that night and was given a Port on the house! Breakfast was really very good with a great selection of both hot and cold food available. All together a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollCo_Waterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just returned from a beautiful stay at the blue haven hotel.
We had a warm reception when booking in and this carried onto our meal in the Fishmarket restaurant later that night..
Looking forward to returning very soon.
The Dunlea family cork=)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isaacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner in the Blue Haven Bistro.... The decor is simple, resembling the interior of a ship in a very subtle way. Our server was attentive without being cloying. The mussels were tiny and tender swimming in a yummy broth. My husbands salmon was well prepared and presented, and my Hake was perfectly seasoned and cooked, and of course, absolutely fresh!
In Kinsale, a real "foodie" town, visitors are spoilt for choice, and we are glad we chose The Bistro at the Blue Haven Hotel.
Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend break. Great staff, superb breakfasts, comfortable bar with good entertainment but the plumbing isn't great. We had a cold room and a scalding shower. Otherwise would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Phil304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here while attending a wedding in Kinsale. We cannot recommend it enough. The rooms were super comfortable and clean. The bar had a really cozy atmosphere and the food was excellent. Breakfast which was included was really good and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. The only downside was on street parking but it definitely didn't take away from our stay. Would really recommend this hotel for a stay in the beautiful Kinsale.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel has many good facilities but business users should be aware that it seems to be primarily a tourist and holiday resort. I stayed on a midweek night and was kept awake by live music in the bar until nearly midnight. This seems to take place 7 nights a week. In addition I was woken at 5am by delivery lorries at the supermarket opposite. Not what you want after a hard days work, or if you have an early start.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at opposite side to bar area
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
947 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $124 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Haven is a stylish, nautical, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Kinsale and recently awarded No. 1 Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland in the Irish Hospitality Awards. Voted one of the top 20 seafood spots in Ireland, The Blue Haven is a well-known culinary gem and its reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale is a special one. The Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from: our luxurious Bar, The Fish Market, Aperitif Wine & Tapas Bar and The Newport Lounge. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from local shores, carefully prepared by a team of the best international chefs. Experience our Gin and Tonic selection, our Premium Whiskeys and The Ultimate Irish Coffee, whilst listening to great live music 7 nights a week in our bar. Home baked cookies, King Koil pocket sprung beds, pillow menus and Nespresso machines in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing