We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for the Blue Haven Bistro”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner in the Blue Haven Bistro.... The decor is simple, resembling the interior of a ship in a very subtle way. Our server was attentive without being cloying. The mussels were tiny and tender swimming in a yummy broth. My husbands salmon was well prepared and presented, and my Hake was perfectly seasoned and cooked, and of course, absolutely fresh!
In Kinsale, a real "foodie" town, visitors are spoilt for choice, and we are glad we chose The Bistro at the Blue Haven Hotel.
Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 727 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend break. Great staff, superb breakfasts, comfortable bar with good entertainment but the plumbing isn't great. We had a cold room and a scalding shower. Otherwise would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Phil304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here while attending a wedding in Kinsale. We cannot recommend it enough. The rooms were super comfortable and clean. The bar had a really cozy atmosphere and the food was excellent. Breakfast which was included was really good and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. The only downside was on street parking but it definitely didn't take away from our stay. Would really recommend this hotel for a stay in the beautiful Kinsale.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel has many good facilities but business users should be aware that it seems to be primarily a tourist and holiday resort. I stayed on a midweek night and was kept awake by live music in the bar until nearly midnight. This seems to take place 7 nights a week. In addition I was woken at 5am by delivery lorries at the supermarket opposite. Not what you want after a hard days work, or if you have an early start.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at opposite side to bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were passing through and needed somewhere to eat on a windy Sunday lunchtime. The Blue Haven restaurant and bar were full but staff opened up another area and made the seven of us comfortable. Drinks were ordered and arrived quickly and similarly there was very little delay in fulfilling the food orders. The quality and portions were excellent. I can't comment on the hotel but I'd guess it must be as good as the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8100bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were staying in another part of Kinsale and were looking for a good spot for a night out. The bar happened to have a cracking live band playing, We found seats easily enough and joined in the fun as the band rocked the place. I believe they were called Sons of Steve McQueen. They played rock stuff like Bon Jovi but also a bit of Garth Brooks. A very very enjoyable evening, we ended up staying all evening. A great spot for a great night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOR_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a charming hotel. Great staff. No elevator so be preapred to haul your bags three flights. Rooms were ok … there was mold on the wallpaper around the window, bathroom could have been cleaner. Beds were super comfy. TV was outdated. Breakfast was awesome. You have to park on the street and that was challenging!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,693 reviews
Old Bank House
#14 of 52 in Kinsale
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $123 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Haven is a stylish, nautical, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Kinsale and recently awarded No. 1 Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland in the Irish Hospitality Awards. Voted one of the top 20 seafood spots in Ireland, The Blue Haven is a well-known culinary gem and its reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale is a special one. The Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from: our luxurious Bar, The Fish Market, Aperitif Wine & Tapas Bar and The Newport Lounge. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from local shores, carefully prepared by a team of the best international chefs. Experience our Gin and Tonic selection, our Premium Whiskeys and The Ultimate Irish Coffee, whilst listening to great live music 7 nights a week in our bar. Home baked cookies, King Koil pocket sprung beds, pillow menus and Nespresso machines in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing