We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, central location, good entertainment”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, central location, good entertainment”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent two nights in the Blue Haven and enjoyed a superior bedroom at no extra charge as we are repeat customers. The room was large and beautifully decorated and very different to the 'usual' hotel decor. Breakfast was good and dinner on one night was very good. Wine was reasonably priced and the band 'Blue Fusion ' was really good and we enjoyed some impromptu dancing!!! The location is very central in the middle of Kinsale within walking distance of everything. The only drawback is the hotel does not have a car park but parking is available nearby but is quite expensive. Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethireland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    196
    92
    35
    16
See reviews for
108
314
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snyder, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the wonderful attractions in Kinsale. The restaurant serves full breakfast with the best coffee. The Pub has a traditional Irish band and dancers on specific nights and they are a must see! The only downside is trying to find parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a lovely experience we had on our 10th wedding anniversary.We received terrific service from madeleine and mike who were both charming.The Breakfast was excellent and the bedrooms very cosy(maybe a little too warm) we have stayed here twice before and could thoroughly recommend it.Kinsail is a great little town with plenty to do and lots of lovely restaurants.There is something for all budgets.We are looking forward to our next trip to the blue haven.A big thankyou.

Room Tip: Better to get a room on the second floor as the rooms on the first floor were a little too warm in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very pleasant stay on Sunday night. The main problem with Blue Haven, bedroom so so small and hot. The room, has a lovely little yard but the window does not open very far and a door would be more appropriate to allow one to take advantage of the outdoor space. No natural light in room and even on a sunny day artificial light. Standard of bed linen and bathroom excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with large windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nualaduignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed food at blue haven at lunchtime midweek. I had beef burrito with wedges €10:95 my husband had fish and chips €15:95. Both dishes were delicious. My husband said best fish n chips he has ever had! Busy spot in heart of Kinsale.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KellyC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is an excellent small hotel but a huge heart - cannot recommend it enough. The service was excellent, food outstanding especially the breakfast - Kinsale is a lovely little town and the Blue Haven Hotel is a gem

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USVisitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Once again this fantastic hotel provided just what we needed for a Sunday lunch - we were brought to a nice , suitable table in the busy bar area , immediately provided with menus , colouring sheets fr the kids and a drink order was taken - we order a selection of the roasts of the day from a very well composed menu . Our food arrived out , piping hot and very tasty . The table next to us ordered hot chocolates for their kids , which were promptly spilled by them , the waitress took it all in her stride and even when the mother took out her frustration on the server ( a downside to the service industry unfortunately ) she handled it very professionally - will shall return !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishJohnny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 50 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 50 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-known Culinary gem, The Blue Haven is a stylish, award winning, nautical style boutique hotel located in the heart of Kinsale. The Blue Haven will welcome you with open arms. Just a stone's throw from dozens of great restaurants, lively bars and interesting craft shops... yet only 25 minutes from Cork City. While you visit Blue Haven Kinsale enjoy the home baked cookies on arrival, King Koil Pocket Sprung beds, Nespresso Machines in your room, Great Food in the gourmet capital, Live Music every night and lots of activities, walks and treasures to find in beautiful Kinsale on The Wild Atlantic Way. – Ireland’s longest coastal route a 2500 km epic trip of Ireland’s western coastline. Blue Haven’s reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale's Blue Haven is a special one. Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from, the Seafood Cafe, to the luxurious Bar and Wine & Tapas Bar “Aperitif”. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from the local shores, carefully prepared by a team of chefs. Blue Haven prides itself in delivering the ultimate in friendly and efficient service to its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing