We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is an excellent small hotel but a huge heart - cannot recommend it enough. The service was excellent, food outstanding especially the breakfast - Kinsale is a lovely little town and the Blue Haven Hotel is a gem

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USVisitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    199
    92
    36
    16
See reviews for
109
317
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Once again this fantastic hotel provided just what we needed for a Sunday lunch - we were brought to a nice , suitable table in the busy bar area , immediately provided with menus , colouring sheets fr the kids and a drink order was taken - we order a selection of the roasts of the day from a very well composed menu . Our food arrived out , piping hot and very tasty . The table next to us ordered hot chocolates for their kids , which were promptly spilled by them , the waitress took it all in her stride and even when the mother took out her frustration on the server ( a downside to the service industry unfortunately ) she handled it very professionally - will shall return !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishJohnny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Blue Haven serves delicious, local quality food. The Glin Valley Irish Chicken Supreme is one of the nicest meals you can ever eat! I eat this every time I go there which is at least once a month and I love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kinsale is a beautiful town of modest size and does not have any 5 star establishments. Blue Haven is in the centre close to the bars and restaurants and is good for tourists. Rooms are comfortable and adequate, the bar is open late often with good live folk music. Rooms at the front can be noisy. Service and welcome are simple, breakfast is freshly cooked, but there is no one to accompany you to your room however the room cost is reasonable and therefore good value.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food here is lovely - probably one of the nicer breakfasts I've had. The room we had was on the small side but adequate. The building is listed so they have to keep original windows - this makes for a very noisy night - street noise and a god-awful sing along until midnight. The staff were pleasant and the location is central. Kinsale is such a lovely town. I wouldn't stay again but that is no fault of the staff - it is simply because the rooms have zero sound-proofing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We called in for a light lunch at this little gem of a place having just flown into Cork airport that morning. There is a good choice of menu which is reasonably priced. We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch, served by a very friendly lady. Overall good value and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely town so much charachter. Have been to Kinsale many times. Staying at the blue haven was a first we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed here with our 6 month old and 18 month old. The staff were very friendly and easy going. When we went for breakfast the staff couldn't do enough to make us feel comfortable and even prepared a fresh pancake for our 18 month old. We will Definatly return

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-known Culinary gem, The Blue Haven is a stylish, award winning, nautical style boutique hotel located in the heart of Kinsale. The Blue Haven will welcome you with open arms. Just a stone's throw from dozens of great restaurants, lively bars and interesting craft shops... yet only 25 minutes from Cork City. While you visit Blue Haven Kinsale enjoy the home baked cookies on arrival, King Koil Pocket Sprung beds, Nespresso Machines in your room, Great Food in the gourmet capital, Live Music every night and lots of activities, walks and treasures to find in beautiful Kinsale on The Wild Atlantic Way. – Ireland’s longest coastal route a 2500 km epic trip of Ireland’s western coastline. Blue Haven’s reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale's Blue Haven is a special one. Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from, the Seafood Cafe, to the luxurious Bar and Wine & Tapas Bar “Aperitif”. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from the local shores, carefully prepared by a team of chefs. Blue Haven prides itself in delivering the ultimate in friendly and efficient service to its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing