We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel, rooms, location, staff and cuisine”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Blue Haven/Old Bank in December '12 and cannot praise it enough! The rooms were excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful with very good food to choose from. To top it all, it is right in the hear of Kinsale a great location for seeing at the sights, browsing the quaint streets and taking in the wonderful atmosphere of the town. I will stay there again on my next visit and will always refer friends and business associates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Blue Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 696 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I recently attended a wedding in Kinsale and stayed in Room 20 (Single Room) of the Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale. On first impressions of the hotel and accommodation I was impressed. The service and the attitude of the staff was impressive as was all the facilities in the hotel, breakfast, comfort and hospitality. However, I don't know whether the worse rooms are reserved for single people (who have less of a voice than 2 people), as I discovered that in Room 20 the shower was luke warm at the most, the kettle didn't work and cold air came in through a window that wouldn't close. This made what should have been a comfortable stay uncomfortable and I was highly disappointed as it wasn't what I was expecting at all. It's fair to say that friends (couples) who were staying in other rooms in this hotel had a fabulous experience without any of the draw backs I experienced. To be honest my experience would make me think twice about staying here again as unfortunately it appeared to me that the worse rooms are being offered out to single people and to experience this being followed through into the quality of accommodation offered is very disappointing. I certainly wouldn't hesitate by saying it is worthwhile place to stay & visit but whatever you do, if you are a single person don't stay in Room 20 of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a December visit to Kinsale when the town was rather quiet. Relative to other places in town, the Blue Haven was nicely busy at night. On a cold night it was cosy and comfortable and the restaurant was reasonably busy, not like other restaurants in town. The evening meal was nice quality and the service was friendly and helpful. The bedroom was small and old fashioned but had the basic facilities. Floor board noise from above comes through, without it being a major problem. It is basically very dated upstairs. Breakfast was poor overall. The diningroom was cold, the layout of the cereals and other starters was quite poor. The cooked breakfast was unattractive in taste and presentation. Clonakilty black pudding was not served. We had got a special deal which made this hotel stay reasonably good value. However,it did not live up to our expectations, particularly breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlawnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Even though the Christmas party season was in full flow we lived this ace hotel. Exceptionally helpful friendly staff, good food, fab breakfasts and brilliant live music! The sons of Steve McQueen rock!
I'd love to go back to kinsale and would not think twice about staying here again(and again)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a long hard day on the road and ended up in Kinsale later than we wished we had. Too many evenings on small narrow winding roads in the dark where they drive 80mph finally got to us! At first my husband said "This town is a dump!" We were so tired! It was a little bit of an effort as there is no elevator. Our room was good sized and the bathroom was nice. We ended up staying in the room that night. We couldn't gather up enough energy to do down to the bar to hear the music! After a good night's sleep we awoke to a quaint and charming village! It had beautiful little shops. The breakfast was really good. It was the first relief from all of the same breakfasts we had while we were in Ireland. We had Eggs Benedict and wonderful raspberry pancakes. The staff were very friendly and helpful! What seemed to start out as something not so good turned into something very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahaluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

. We stayed here last May and again in November and were not disappointed. The staff were brilliant, always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great, fresh and cooked to order, plenty of choice. We also dined in the Bistro and the Bar and found the food excellent. The hotel collection also have lovely cafe and coffee shop, just the thing to have a mid morning of afternoon break and relax. We stayed 2 nights but relaxation wise felt as good as a week break. Entertainment in bar in evenings was good. Kinsale is great place to visit and to eat out, but really The Blue Haven Collection has it all, you would not need to go any place else. I'm planning my next visit already.
Liz

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moloney_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Even though a few little things weren't quite perfect the staff at this hotel couldn't do more to put things right. Endlessly patient and cheerful. Lovely room, comfy bed and all very clean. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. Bar with live music while we ate a nice meal. Only one place to stay on a break to Kinsale and that's here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakelly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
950 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: $123 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Haven is a stylish, nautical, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Kinsale and recently awarded No. 1 Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland in the Irish Hospitality Awards. Voted one of the top 20 seafood spots in Ireland, The Blue Haven is a well-known culinary gem and its reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale is a special one. The Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from: our luxurious Bar, The Fish Market, Aperitif Wine & Tapas Bar and The Newport Lounge. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from local shores, carefully prepared by a team of the best international chefs. Experience our Gin and Tonic selection, our Premium Whiskeys and The Ultimate Irish Coffee, whilst listening to great live music 7 nights a week in our bar. Home baked cookies, King Koil pocket sprung beds, pillow menus and Nespresso machines in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing