We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at The Blue Haven Hotel recently and adored it, I had been to Kinsale on a few occasions and stayed in some of the larger hotels but this time I was on my own and apprehensive as a result - I needn't have been. The hotel is brillantly located for pottering around the town, the entrance lobby and stair area is definitely not plush or large but it's an old building and it's absolutely charming - my room was small but I was told this from the outset and I had absolutely no issue with it at all, it was spotlessly clean, the view wasn't amazing but again I wasn't planning on sitting in the room for any length of time so it was fine. My bed was amazingly comfortable and I was loathe to get out of it - even for Breakfast next day!
The bar area is lovely and comfortable with the Bistro off of that, I relaxed for an hour or so with a glass of wine, there was plenty of coming and going with both tourists and locals in for food - the Bar menu looked brillant and I was really tempted to eat there but I also wanted to potter to some of the other bars and restaurants in the "foodie capital of Ireland"! After dinner I went back to the Bar to have a drink, it was busy - again with both tourists and locals - a great sign of a good establishment if the locals frequent I find. There was live music which usually doesn't interest me but these were very good.
Breakfast next morning was lovely with everything hot made to order, the way it should be :)
Madeline the receptionist is a huge asset to the hotel and she was really friendly throughout my stay. All in all, I thoroughly recommend The Blue Haven and I'm really looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9oakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    191
    91
    33
    16
See reviews for
98
307
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed there with my partner in May 2012. I would highly recommend going to Kinsale for anyone who hasn't been - it's really picturesque, it's very close to the sea (Old Head which is about 15km away is a must see!) and it's close to Cork City so plenty to do and see for everybody.

The hotel itself is in a great spot which is both a plus and a minus: it is really easy to find and it is right next to many of the Kinsale restaurants / cafes / bus station / shops however that comes at the price of no hotel car park and noisy rooms facing the street. If you are staying at the hotel just bare in mind that you would have to park in one of the two free car parks in the town which can get quite busy over the weekend.
The room we stayed in was quite spacious and very clean. The furniture had an old fashioned feel to it but it actually worked within the hotel decor. There were full tea / coffee making facilities plus an iron and a hairdryer. The bathroom was a good size, very clean and was fully stocked which is not always the case. I particularly liked that there was a letter from the hotel management welcoming us and letting us know what the weather would be like. The directory of services folder which included a list of important / emergency numbers was a simple yet great touch.
We found the staff very welcoming and polite and the customer service great.
There is great food choice within the hotel - we ate in the Bar. The atmosphere was great and I would highly recommend the steak sandwich and the chocolate, orange and vanilla cheesecake - delicious!
The only downside was that our room was facing the street and was right above the reception / bar area so it was quite noisy up until 3-4am which is why the ear plugs came very handy.

Room Tip: For light sleepers or if you are traveling without ear plugs, I'd advise picking a room on the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RumyAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Blue Haven is in a great spot in the middle of Kinsale, right at the hustle & bustle of things. In terms of location, this is perfect.

We stayed in room 1, which was nice & very spacious, though not the most comfortable of beds I've ever slept in! The hotel has a great bar area & there was live music every night, plus the service was very good so you're well looked after here. We had breakfast included in our price each night & the food was good, though unfortunately was nothing special really. That said, there are loads of great bars & restaurants in very close proximity (in particular The Spaniard Inn, Fishy Fishy & The Greyhound were nice) so it's no big deal.

Parking was the only thing that was a bit of a pain. There is no hotel car park, so you either have to pay for on-street car parking (& it's difficult enough at times to get a spot nearby!) or else leave your car in a free car park, which is about a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KABDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I bought a foodie-hotel break for two through LivingSocial Deals with Blue Haven Hotel in Kinsale. It was a great deal which included 2 nights accommodation, free lunch, wine with your dinner, one day bike hire for two, a Blue Haven cookbook and a complimentary box of chocs in the room. I had to change my dates a number of times but each time I called the lovely Madeleine at the desk was very kind and accommodated me on each change with no hassle or extra charge to me at all. The room was beautiful and spacious, and the decor had a kind of old world feel to it with lovely ornate chairs and lamps and nice high windows. The (giant) bed was super comfortable and although we didn't avail of it they had a pillow menu from which you could choose your preferred pillow softness, which was kind of cool.

The food at the freebie lunch was delicious. I thought they might skimp on the portion size it being part of the deal but they were massive, and really tasty. Breakfast every morning was cooked fresh to order with a nice selection of breads, cheeses, salmon or fruit to have while you waited.

The location of the hotel itself is ideally situated being less than a minute's walk to the water, 3-4 mins from the main bus station and all the best pubs and delicious restaurant within rolling home distance.

Two important things to note maybe for older guests are that they do not have lifts in the hotel so while there is someone to carry your bags up for you, you'll still have to carry yourself up. Also there are no hotel parking spots but there is a free carpark 5 minutes walk away.

The quality and service we experienced at Blue Haven in Kinsale was fantastic and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is such a quaint hotel. Our room had window seats you could sit in and view Main St. A grocery store was right across the street and the owner was delightful. Kinsale is a cute town with great shops. We were in Ireland for 10 days and went from Dublin all the way around the coast and Kinsale had the best shops with unique items. We took a beautiful walk up to Fort Charles and ate dinner at "The Stolen Pizza". We lived in Italy for 4.5 years and this was some of the best spagetti carbonara we have ever tasted. All of his cheeses and other Italian ingredients are imported from Italy. We also ate at the Blue Haven Bar and the food and entertainment were great. The young lady at the front desk was so helpful in giving us driving directions and information on sites to see in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathgar, Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband Dave and I were booked in for two nights from 3 - 5 May. We were to stay in Blue Haven but asked for a quiet room. They kindly put us up in Sister Hotel, Old Bank House which is only a hop & a skip away and they left our luggage down for us. All the staff were lovely - they went out of their way to be kind and helpful. The food was fab. too esp. the breakfast. No rubber sausages or rubber eggs here. All hot food served to your table and loads of choices on an extensive menu and lovely starters too that you can help yourself to. There's a cute little shop attached with lots of home-made stuff to buy if wanted.

Room Tip: Room was fifties style but large, clean and a nice big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillydog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the 15th of April and from check in to check out we just loved every second of our time here. Madeleine at reception is an asset to the hotel, she was so friendly and helpful and made us feel like we were the only people staying there. We had my Mum and our three little girls with and we were unaminous in our prise for this gem of a hotel. If I had to have a gripe it would be the lack of a lift that said, the staff handled our bags so it really is just laziness!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulabelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style property in the heart of Kinsale, the Blue Haven graciously combines the charm of old Kinsale with the modern luxuries of today. Each room is individually furnished with exquisite furniture, luxury pocket sprung beds, plasma tvs and finer touches to make each room unique. With a reputation as excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail, each visit is a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing