We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Perryville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Perryville House
Ranked #6 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Perryville is a truly beautiful property in a stunning location, overlooking the harbour. Kinsale is a beautiful place and staying somewhere like Perryville is in alot of ways the "perfect" place to say...alot of the rooms overlook the water, 4 poster beds, beautiful furniture... however that's where the story changes...the business is run by 3 people, think they are all related, one of them is very sound and most helpful, however the other 2 were so rude, helpful when it suited them...at times made you feel you were trespassing on "their property" ...they so need to learn to be polite!! Anyway if you decide to go you will see what I mean, both good and bad..if you decide not to go there are so many other options...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    44
    12
    10
    14
See reviews for
45
179
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying in Perryville House. We spent a wonderful 2 days there during our memorable trip to Ireland. Barry was so friendly, helpful and humorous and the owners Andrew and Laura were truly great hosts. We also had the pleasure of meeting their daughter Katie. Its so nice to still see family run guesthouses.
Unfortunatley the weather was wet so we couldnt get out to the golf course but Laura was'nt going to let that ruin our trip. She booked us into a lovely restaurant for lunch and suggested we take a drive in the rain down to west cork( which i thoroughly recommend).
Each evening Barry organised dinner for us in different restaurants, it was nice to get a taste of some of the good ones while we were there.
Our room was stunning with fabulous harbour views and tastefully decorated by Laura.
Breakfast each morning was so delicious I dont know where to begin! There was freshly poached fruit which was a real treat, fresh soda breads and delicious honey that I gather came from Andrews own bees! I dont eat eggs myself but my husband raved about them so they must have been good too!!!
I really have nothing bad to say about Perryville House and i'll be recommending it to all my friends and we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed in Perryville having read all of the reviews on here. We arrived at around 2pm and were welcomed by Barry who said we could have a free upgrade to the top room. We too were in room 37 as a fellow reviewer has said and the climb to the top is exhausting - but good exercise!! The room was beautiful and the house is stunning. The view of Kinsale from our balcony was fabulous. No complaints... None!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixielala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
media1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend trip to Kinsale and feel our money would have been better invested in a tent !
We stayed at the Perryvile House, and for €99 per night they have some cheek.
I am sure that 10 or 15 years ago it might have been a plesent place to stay, but the fact that the present owners have done little or nothing apart from a few dodgy patch up jobs in the past number of years makes the Perryville House look shabby.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room's, the breakfast consists of one block of cheese, a bowl of slightly old alpen, stale bread and a few other assorted bowl's of left-over's the owner's were reluctant to eat themselves. You could order a cooked breakfast but as advertised on the back of the bedroom door €12 would be a bit expensive.
When you arrive you are presented with a real key and a gaint fob which you are told to leave in a potty at the end of the stair's every time you leave as the owner's could not be bothered to man a reception area, and if you want to re-enter you have to ring a bell and wait for one of the owners to get up off there backside to answer the door.
In today's economic climate the owner's of the Perryville House might be well advised to reduce their price' s perhap's €20 per night might reflect well on what is on offer and the owner's could also do what every other establishment does and ask their guest's if they had a plesent stay at check-out time instead of just taking their money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank media1Media1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We arrived very early 8.30am, we didnt expect our room to be busy but just wanted to say we were here and would come back after a wander. We were let in and told our room would be ready about 12oclock, which was fine. There is parking opposite for Perryville House for about 10 cars but they have to double park so leave your keys on reception if you go out and are blocking someone in and they will move it for you.

Your room keys have to be left at reception whenever you go out and you have to ring the bell to come in.

The house itself is very lovely, huge rooms. Not much atmosphere though.

We were asked if we were ok with a few stairs - we said we were. Only to find we were on the top floor which is 8 flights and 68 stairs (yes i counted them). After 3 days i found muscles i never knew i had! room no 37. It does have a beautiful view with a little veranda, a huge bedroom and massive bathroom. However, i kid you not the stairs are a complete pain.

Breakfast was nicely set out in the dining room. The staff were friendly.

We paid 123 euros a night, bed and breakfast. No tea or coffee in the room which we definitely needed after the mammouth climb. :)

There is no bar, restaurant or room service - this is not a hotel. (The managers words not mine!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish in Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Three of us (my wife, 4-month old daughter and I) had a 3-night stay at Perryville, beginning on a Tuesday in the high season. The very positive points are the excellent central location, car parking, beautiful rooms, great staff and great breakfasts. Barry particularly is an excellent host - welcoming, helpful with organising dinner reservations and an absolute gentleman. The main not so positive point is that we were not made to feel welcome by the hostess, Laura. The other not so positive point is the need to buzz the door each and every time we wanted to enter the house. We've never before had to be admitted to a guest house or hotel by staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCMMIrishinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Owners were incredibly welcoming and rooms were just perfect. Ask for a view of the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krafty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perryville House

Property: Perryville House
Address: Perryville House Hotel Long Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Perryville House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Perryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perryville House Hotel Kinsale
Perryville Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing