We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to tour County cork”
Review of Perryville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Perryville House
Ranked #6 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2008

we have just returned from a short vacation to ireland . the highlight of the trip was Kinsale . we stayed at perryville house for 3 days . what you would expect for a traditional family run irish home . clean , warm , comfortable bed and good breakfast the owners were very friendly and gave us the heads up on the restaurants .good value for money
we ate beautiful fresh fish all the time the best restaurant for lunch is the Fishy Fishy cafe . they dont take plastic
cards cash only . Crackpots and Hobies were the best for dinner .
I bought a real handmade aran sweater in cronins shop .Kinsale is devine . narrow streets friendly people lots of pubs with irish music . If you are coming yo ireland make sure kinsale is part of your trip . John and Mary Collins . New York

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 354 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2008

We have just come home from a truly wonderful short trip to ireland .our trip was centred around a family wedding in kinsale .
we were booked into Actons hotel where the wedding was held . Kinsale is small fishing town with cute narrow streets and shops with a lot of resraurants and pubs parking is a nightmare . actons hotel and perryville house have parking Actons was overbooked and they put us in Perryville House. we were so lucky , this home was a real find . we were there for 5 nights and the service decor and hospitility was fist class . the breakfast was the best i ever had and the house was full of fresh daffodills . we ate in 3 restaurants . max's , crackpots and the vintage . all were good but crackpots was the best . We did the historical walk with Don and we were hoping to play golf at the old head but the course was closed for another 2 weeks . we went out to see it and we will be back to play , it looks amazing . This was our 1st trip to ireland . next time we will come for longer and tour counties kerry and clare. we love ireland

Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank drogheds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Perryville House is billed as a "luxury guest house" and while it is a decent place to stay, I have certainly stayed in better, less expensive places.

The decor of this accommodation is as advertised and you can tell that a lot of thought and effort went into making it homey, full of antiques and very "country chic". Our host was most gracious, helpful and welcoming. Our room, bed and bathroom were all large, comfortable and spotless. Plus the location in Kinsale is difficult to beat. Parking is provided (first come, first served) which is handy and most places in Kinsale are easily within walking distance.

However, the walls were a bit on the thin side; we could hear guests returning for the night for several hours after we had gone to bed (the fact that they didn't bother to keep their voices down didn't help, I'm sure) and we heard ones above us walking about as they got ready for bed. Further the rug that graced our room was rather unpleasant underfoot being made of some rough grass-like material that probably was good and study but not very cushy. The same style was used in the bedroom next to ours, too.

The cold breakfast was varied and filling (for me) plus we were offered toast and tea but I felt that €12 extra for a hot breakfast was asking a bit much. Between that, the cost and the thinner walls (unthinking other guests) the stay was, for me, not all that special.

I give four stars overall because it IS a clean, nice place to stay and, as mentioned, the location in Kinsale is difficult to beat. But I also warn that folks who consider this guest house read all the reviews thoroughly and completely so you know exactly what you are getting.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IrishFlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Our group of four just returned from Ireland. We stayed for five nights at The Perryville House. Management couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We have stayed at the Perryville before and will continue to do so. Right in the heart of Kinsale and close to so many wonderful sights.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycevanbiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

The only reason we stayed here was that all other suitable accommodation in Kinsale was booked.
We were offered the best room at a discount. Despite an oversized room and bathroom, still, value was not good. This first floor room was noisy from the road and there was no cooked breakfast available. The internet did not work.
The hostess did not tell us her name nor offer us tips on Kinsale.
Security was a shocker. Guests were made to leave their room key in a pot by the door. These keys could easily be collected by other guests as the owners did not regularly clear the keys. Particularly annoying was being made to wait at the front door while owners were in the back office, possibly on a lengthy phone call.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rodney-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

LOCATION: The location is great. It is on the main street but I didnt notice any traffic noise, at least from my room.

ROOM: We had the room on the website (with the poster bed) and as a result probably one of there better rooms. The room was nice and large, and much larger than the only other room I saw in the hotel. This room has a huge very un-private garden exclusive to it. Other rooms windows look out onto it and it's not a place that you want to hang out since there is really no place to sit. The concept is nice, but it's fairly worthless. I would prefer one of the higher rooms with a sea view. The entire hotel and rooms has sisal carpeting which isnt pleasant on the feet. You almost have to wear shoes in your room. There was a leak from the upstairs room that was going into the bathtub and they drilled a hole in the ceiling to release the water.

BREAKFAST: I have stayed at 4 hotels in Ireland now and this was the worst. Not a lot of options; stop serving at 10AM (even on a sunday).

STAFF: Not very pleasant. One person told me twice in 5 mins to lock the door since if it is left open, people WILL burglarize the room. The place doesnt look unsafe but she was rude with her speech. Then then next day I get my car only to find that they didn't lock the doors.

We also stayed at the Carlton which has a beautiful view, much nicer rooms, and was completely refreshing after our Perryville visit so I recommend staying there instead.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We just returned from our trip to Ireland and Kinsale was the last night. We hadn't made reservations, and that was a mistake. All the B&B's listed were already booked. We were left with Perryville and it was a disappointment. It was the most expensive of all the B&B's we stayed. The sheets were rough and the bathroom shower was moldy. The house itself was beautiful and the free use of the internet was a big plus. The breakfast was limited and if you wanted eggs you had to pay more for them. I would recommend making reservations during the busy summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyHau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
997 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perryville House

Address: Perryville House Hotel Long Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $232 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Perryville House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Perryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perryville House Hotel Kinsale
Perryville Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing