We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Compass Hill House

The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
The entrance hall. The first floor living room in the day-time.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
The entrance hall.
The first floor living room in the day-time.
The pink Garden Bedroom (triple) ideal for kids.
Garden view from the pink room.
Old world kitchen: up-to-date living.
The first floor living room in the evening.
A collection of shells.
The bright, airy landing looking at yellow room.
The short corridor outside the twin bedroom.
The Ground Floor sitting room.
Late May in the garden seen from the BBQ area.
Early June in the garden with Laburnum in full bloom.
Compass Hill House at the top of St John's Hill.
A view over the harbour from in front of the house.
Harbour view from the living room.
A view from Summercove out to sea.
Harvest time around Kinsale.
Miaow! Find Leo in the Garden...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
650sian
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at compass hill house - 2 families all ages, have had the most wonderful time. The house had a lovely feel, full of character, large enough for us all easily, very well equipped. We were extremely lucky with the weather and made full use of the garden. Great location, lots to do and see in Kinsale beautiful walks, fantastic food, lots of pubs and music. Would highly recommend. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spaciousness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2015
Thank you for this lovely review! You are welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Compass hill house”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having spent 5 days - 4 nights at the Compass hill house all I can say is I loved it. The house is such a beautiful old house, it has everything in it that you would need for 1 day or a few weeks. We had 10 people staying and used both kitchens which was a lot of fun. We could not fault the house and its amenities at all. I would certainly stay here again and hope we all will do again..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
Thanks to all for booking with us and for now telling everyone about the nice time you had. You are very welcome to return whenever we have the availability!

ML & M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepysan...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eclectic, but far too ramshackle to be enjoyable”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
12
people found this review helpful

Maybe my expectations were raised too high by the slick pictures and hype, but there was, for our family, far too much wrong with this house for it to be a good place to stay.

On the up side, it's gloriously situated, very, very pretty, and big. We stayed for Christmas and the owners had decorated the house and we appreciated that.

The down sides were these. Firstly, it was freezing cold; secondly, the electrical system had many features that we felt were unsafe; thirdly, owing to a boiler fault, or maybe it is always this way, the house (and our clothes by the end) stank of part burned heating oil; fourth, the beds were the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced; and finally, the house is so stuffed with the owners' things that there was nowhere other than piles on the floor for ours to go. We felt ripped off, especially as owing to a currency mix up that I never understood and the owners didn't document we ended up paying €200 over the advertised price.

To elaborate: we were told a week before we arrived that the Aga had broken, but not to worry as there was electric heating. That was fine, really - in any event the Aga only heated the water. On arrival the house was very cold indeed, with dehumidifiers in most rooms, and a horrible smell of heating oil fumes that was eye watering in the ground floor kitchen. We are old hands with Agas, so we closed off the room, opened windows and assumed it would go. It didn't, though by day 5 it was confined to the ground floor and by day 7 almost bearable. The ground floor was unusable throughout our stay.

The electric system is old - I'd guess 25 years or more. Delights included finding a plug that the wire had been cut off from (so it had exposed potentially live ends) inserted earth pin first upside down in one socket where the router, with a French style plug, was jammed in; sockets so low to the ground no plug could be used; broken sockets with bare metal exposed; two strand twisted wire to lamps; and switches taped over with masking tape. On Christmas Day, with four heaters on not on full blast, all the electrics tripped twice.

The mattresses are cheap, sprung mattresses. I'm fairly small and couldn't sleep without back ache, of which even our teenage sons complained as well. I was literally woken by the twanging of springs and the lumps these formed were palpable even through blankets. I genuinely didn't get a good night in all the time I was there.

The house is prettily, stylishly furnished but bear in mind that every cupboard and most drawers are locked off or full of the owners' things - drawers full of old door knobs, bits of string, etc., cupboards so full things fall out if you open them. In two of the three double rooms there was no drawer space and in one no wardrobe either - it's literally a bed and a desk in the ground floor bedroom. I had to pile pants and jumpers on chairs. The garden yard was messy and full of junk. Maybe if the ground floor had been usable we would have had more room, but it wasn't because the smell was overpowering and my son found his asthma kicked off down there.

It's such a shame as this has the potential to be a stunning house. We knew the owners were away and had only one contact with them over the break - to be honest we tried to ignore the problems and go out as much as possible - but raised the issues as genuine feedback on return. We suggested they look to their maintenance people, upgrade the electrics and mattresses, and tentatively suggested some refund in the light of the fact that a third of the house (half the living space) was unusable. In response I received an astonishingly rude, sarcastic rebuttal, no apology or suggestion of recompense, just an email full of bold font and underlining. I definitely can't recommend this place. Sorry.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGast...
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really glad we stayed at Compass Hill House”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great space and location! We particularly enjoyed grilling and relaxing in the garden space, reading by the bay window with a view of the harbor, and easy walks to nearby reastaurants and shops. Hope to return soon!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2014
You'd be a very welcome return visitor! Glad you enjoyed all there was to offer in the house, and that it was a relaxing holiday for you all - thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful harbour view.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

House felt very welcoming. Beautiful position in the lovely town of Kinsale. The house offered plenty of room for our extended family group to socialise together whilst giving a measure of independence, when required, for the wide age range of three generations. The position is excellent providing stunning views over the harbour and towards the forts and is within a few minutes walk of the shops and restaurants.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thanks for the nice review - you are welcome to stay again anytime. If you do return, you can avail of the 10% returnee's discount.
All the best for the remainder of your summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeirdreKa...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Kinsale accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Compass Hill house is an excellent place to rent for an extended stay in Kinsale. The house is perched above the town with a lovely view of the harbor from many of the rooms. It is a quick walk to downtown and accessible to a scenic walk around Compass Hill. The house is very honey and the beds very comfortable. Given we were multiple families coming together for a holiday we appreciated the variety in bedrooms - queen beds, singles, even a crib. The kitchen had everything we needed for having family dinners and the yard in the back was ideal for relaxing in the evening and BBQing. Marie-Lousie was extremely helpful and accommodating before the reservation and while we were there. We loved our stay in the Compass Hill house. We would love the opportunity to stay in this great house again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Thanks for the very nice words. We are pleased that everything worked out OK for you and that you found the house comfortable and enjoyable. Feel free to contact us again for future bookings, when, as you are returning, you will receive a 10% discount.
All the best,

ML
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjmalkin
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house in a great location”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just come back from a great week in Compass Hill House Kinsale. this is a clean well equipt house with everything we could have needed and just a short walk in to the centre of kinsale where there were enough pubs bars restarants and cafes to keep everyone happy. We will deffinatly go back and would reccomend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great space
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review - you are, of course, welcome to return anytime! Plus, you get a discount for coming back. ML
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing