We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Joy's Accommodation
Ranked #48 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Sadly for us all the hotels and other accommodation was full due to a golfing thing in the town. We found the place to be dirty and smelly. We didn't know this was a share room for about 8 people. The rock hard pillows reeked and there were prickles in the bed...YUK! We paid €10 extra for the bathroom but found out too late this did not include towels!!?! No breakfast or happiness was included.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovinhippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joysaccommodation, Owner at Joy's Accommodation, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I was good enough to GIVE YOU 10 EUROS REFUND, because you arrived very late ( 11 pm ), in a great rush to rejoin your friends, and did not ask for towel hire.
You did not even bring your baggage to the room .Your husband said it was too late. You probably had towels in it !!
You stayed in a STUDIO APARTMENT with 1 double bed and 1 single bed.
I do not have ANY ROOMS which ACCOMMODATE 8 PERSONS !!!!!.
The Goose feather pilows provided are NOT ROCK HARD.
SILK SCATTER CUSHIONS are for decoration, NOT for sleeping on !!!!
You obviously used them for sleeping, and found them to be not as soft as pillows ( but even these are NOT rock hard ). !!!
There are NO prickles in the bed !!!
Dirty, smelly, reeking is a figment of your imagination. Everything is very CLEAN.
Your descriptions are BIZARRE !!!
EVERYTHING YOU HAVE WRITTEN IS UNJUSTIFIED.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
6
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Arrived on a Friday night in late July with a friend. Met Joy who is friendly and welcoming. We had a room just off the kitchen which was comfortable and clean. We also had bikes which Joy allowed us to bring in with us (thanks).
We did hear people coming in during the night but Joy had told us that our room was just off the kitchen so I have no complaints there. It is a hostel after all so, in my opinion, noise is expected on some level.
The next day we had a race and Joy allowed us to come back after to shower and clean ourselves up (thanks again!)
Very happy with Joy's. She is very friendly and accommodating and her hostel is pretty much in the centre of Kinsale (1 minute walk to the pubs/restaurants). I would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COCuilleanain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joysaccommodation, Owner at Joy's Accommodation, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for a genuine honest appreciation of the Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was a good place for the cheap price. It was ideally located (though the TI initially sent my friend and I in the wrong direction). The service was very friendly, and worked with my friend and I even though we had to make a few last minute date changes. There was a nice little heater in our room, which came in very useful.

Our room had pros and cons. We were in a bunk bed that was really comfortable. But the roof over our room was a sort of thick plastic-ish material, which meant that when the sun rose the room was pretty bright. On the far side of the room was a glass door to an odd hole in the ground with a creepy looking ladder (this went up to the patio, I discovered). There was another window/glass door into what appeared to be a kitchen under construction. The walls on one side of our room were stone and had a lot of cobwebs on them. Our room was right off the kitchen, which meant we could hear any conversations going on in there. It was a bit awkward because the shared bathroom was on the back side of the kitchen, so you had to walk past whoever was there to get to the toilet. All these things weren't a BIG deal, but were a little odd/inconvenient. They were doing some construction on the house, so it's possible our room was undergoing renovations.

Still was a good value for our money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midenianscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Joy's Accommodation, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
The accommodation was comfortable and habitable, despite the fact that there are Renovations in Progress.
The kitchen should not be used after 11 pm, so as not to disturb occupants on the Ground floor.
Through the back door is an Atrium in progress - it is UNFAIR to call it a hole in the ground. It is at ground level to the room.
It also serves as a fire escape Exit. The ladder is safe, secure and functional.
It will be a bonus when the adjoining kitchen and bathroom are completed, and Private to this room.
There are several other toilets/bathrooms which you could have used, if you found the one at the rear of the kitchen inconvenient.
The Feature Stone Wall has now unfortuneately had to be covered to avoid further cobwebs.
It is very clear in my website that the house is 400 years old, and should be appreciated for its Historical value, relative to the original residence of the Cork Garrison, and not expectations of grandeur for the modest charges for your stay.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

First the positives -
Lovely place to stay. I was charged a single rate for a double room (many places don't make this concession to single travellers) and for 20 euro I got incredible value - a room with character and a bizarrely comfortable large double bed (room #3). Joy was very courteous and genuine and was very accomodating even though I arrived late on a Sunday night. The hostel was clean and the location was ideal - short walk to the centre but not so central that you get all the noise.

Now the negatives -
Actually, I couldn't spot any and I am at a loss to understand why there are such strongly worded negative reviews of this hostel. I wonder if there is something sinister behind the negative reviews - the truth is that Joy's is the best hostel to stay in in Kinsale (I have stayed in others) so perhaps a competitor hostel is responsible for putting out the negativity? What a terrible thing to suggest!! Surely, that can't be true ...... can it?!! Stay in Joy's and find out for yourself!

Room Tip: I would recommend Room #3 without hesitation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joysaccommodation, Owner at Joy's Accommodation, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
It is good to know that you appreciate all the efforts, time and expense to make a comfortable stay for guests. Thank you very much.
You have hit the nail on the head - horrendous ongoing untrue and unjustified rumours are being spread around Kinsale about my Hostel. There have been many attempts to close it down !!!. And rogue phone calls Etc Etc !!!! Very sinister to put it mildly.
Regards, Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dempsey's Hostel
Dempsey's Hostel
#3 of 6 in Kinsale
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#37 of 53 in Kinsale
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#16 of 53 in Kinsale
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's Accommodation

Property: Joy's Accommodation
Address: 21 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Joy's Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joys Accommodation is an independant Guesthouse/Hostel is located in a quiet residential street, a few minutes walking distance to the Town Centre. It has "Old World Charm", and 400 years ago was the residence of the Officers of the Cork Garrison. When the soldiers returned from the Battlefield, they drew water from the well, and then retired to their huts in the garden. The Historic Old Wall of Kinsale is at the rear of the Garden.There is a table and chairs on the terrace for outdoor eating.It is Self-catering with a communal kitchen/diner as well as Open PlanKitchenettes in the rooms. The rooms have en-suite or private bathrooms, and a communal sitting room with Sky TV, Free Wifi and Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Joy's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing