We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf at its finest”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Head of Kinsale
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cleburne, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Golf at its finest”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

One of the great golf courses in the world. Lucky to have added this jewel to collecdtion of Top 100 in world. (Have played 24 so far) Visually staggering --- great condition for end of season. And bonus --- hotel of 14 rooms one of the best ever! Not cheap but worth the money if you are going to Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Lighthouse and the Sea --- Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pushincushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My first time at the Atlantic Ocean. I am happy that I went to the cliff there. It is really ammazing and beautifull. It look like an actual head. Unfortunetly the park was closed and I didn't find a place to reach the water.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurencija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Discovered this special place by word of mouth. "You just have to go and experience it," was the recommendation. We were not disappointed. Spectacular setting, great service and attention to detail, delicious food, luxurious rooms, and a golf course to inspire and test the best amongst us. A truly worthwhile excursion off the beaten track. Take a couple of extra balls, and a caddie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeasuredPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

this is a small property on the course... the course left me speechless.. the property was wonderful.. the staff so accommodating... the food was excellent and the service was better... and the views were incredible

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This a trip for golfers only. The golf course is on a two mile peninsula into the Atlantic ocean 300 feet above sea level. Every hole is stunning. The pictures on the web site do not do it justice. The amenities around the course, markers, steps, benches, flora and exceptional. They have 100 maintenance men to service the course and area around the hotel, people were working everywhere you looked but were not intrusive. They all know course etiquette. You will not regret paying the large sum to play here.

The Hotel is first rate. The arrival is not as grand as you might be greeted at Ashford. You can not drive up to the front door but they do send someone to the parking lot to get your bags. There is no practical way to have a valet service the way it is laid out. The room are large modern and comfortable, bathrooms are well above average. Marble everything, soaking tub and shower, robes, stone cups to rinse with. There is a definite stone theme here.

Service at every level is great. There are no "no's" here. Food is 3 star which is a lot better then most clubs. If your with a non golfer Kinsale is a 25 minute ride and great port town.

Room Tip: Room 6 and higher give you a better view of the finishing hole outside your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in Cork for a few days , decided to take a drive out to old head and have a look , and a spot of lunch , after an long drive from Cork , we were turned away at the gate , told it was private not open to the public. In this day and age I feel this is unacceptable if this is the case they should have a sign up , or say it on there web page. We were in Adare Manor a few weeks ago and on arrival we were greeted by a very nice welcome from Rodger and had a very nice afternoon tea . We have been to the K Club on a lot of occasions and have always been greeted with a smile . All I can say is that the Old Head need to review there policies .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

After a 3 and 1/2 hour drive along the worst roads in Ireland to get to Old Head I was surely to say the least. As the bellman met us in the parking lot with a "buggie" I could tell that this hotel was out of the ordinary. Our suite looks out over the ocean ocean and a working lighthouse. The evening meal was exceptional and the golf course makes Pebble Beach look like a cow pasture. I suggest you come for the golf and stay for your own pleasure. The staff is attentive and all seem to have that great Irish sense of humor. There is a more than adequate fitness facility. I wish I could have stsyed longer.

Room Tip: All 16 suites are excep th ional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
926 reviews
6.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
684 reviews
14.3 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
401 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Head of Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Head of Kinsale

Property: Old Head of Kinsale
Address: Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing