We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and even better breakfast”
Review of Ashgrove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashgrove B&B
Ranked #28 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location and even better breakfast”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The B&B is very nice. Rooms are large with plenty of outlets for charging all your devices. Wi-fi worked great. The B&B was quiet even though I believe it was full or close to it on the night we were there. Breakfast was excellent. It was a little tricky to find but not too bad so make sure you get good directions before you leave. It is pretty common for B&B's in Ireland to be a little difficult to find. Location is great. It is just up the hill and an easy 5 minute walk into down. In some parts there are no sidewalks so you'll have to be careful. The roads in the city centre are very narrow as well. Plenty of good value places to get food within Kinsale. We were only there for a night and visited the Desmond Castle and Charles Fort. I would skip Desmond unless you have the Heritage Card.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Ashgrove B&B for one night in early August. It is a Bungalow style B&B, with all bedrooms on the ground floor.

Pros: Ashgrove had one of the biggest rooms and bed of all the B&Bs where we stayed in our 9-day trip to Ireland and had lots of outlets! It seemed a very contemporary and clean, hotel-level accommodation. Wireless was available without a password, so getting online was a breeze. It's close to downtown, up on a hill, so there was a pretty view at breakfast even with the seaside fog rolling in. Breakfast was EXCELLENT! Delicious, well prepared and beautifully presented.

Cons: This B&B was quite difficult to find, even with directions. We finally had to call the B&B, even with a GPS and after consulting our mobile phone apps. (TIP: Ireland B&Bs rarely have addresses, so GPS users should be given the Kinsale Further Education College location, which is right across the street from Ashgrove.) Honestly, our shower experience was dismal: the water pressure was terrible, and the water never got hot, just lukewarm; even that only lasted a few minutes before getting ice cold. I had to shave my legs in the sink! :( Unlike other B&Bs, we were TOLD when breakfast was (7:30 to 8:30), not asked when we would like to have it, and oddly, all the guests in the breakfast room were whispering during breakfast, and the staff moved busily and almost silently. All of this led to quite a formal breakfast experience – though the meals we had were outstanding. Our host was polite enough, but not friendly, esp. by comparison to other B&B hosts. She wasn't there to greet us upon arrival (though one of her assistants was), and didn't say much the next morning at breakfast. In fact, when I turned in our voucher after breakfast, I apologized for giving it to her morning of our departure, as she hadn’t been in when we arrived. She replied crisply: “That’s correct, I was not.” We couldn’t find anyone to alert we were leaving, so we just left after signing the guest book in the front hall.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very quiet but poor water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Kinsale is a great spot on the coast and although a little difficult to find Ashgrove was a positive experience for us. Margaret greeted us and the room was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable. Advice on various options of where to eat was well received and proved accurate. The best part of the stay was the breakfast, very generous and fresh in the breakfast room with a lovely view over the harbor. We would be happy to return both to Kinsale and Ashgrove.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our one night at Ashgrove in Kinsale was mostly uneventful. No one was at the place when we arrived midafternoon, so we walked into town for awhile. Margaret had a helper who greeted us later. The room was fine, though I concur on the low water pressure comment. The breakfast was very good and in a nice sunny room. We found Margaret nice, if reserved. Not uncommon in these parts. Kinsale center is a brief walk downhill, but that is what makes Ashgrove appealing. It's not in Kinsale's busy center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The B&B was a little difficult to find and off the beaten path. It's a bit outside the city center. The view from the breakfast table was awesome however and the breakfast was one of the best we have had in Ireland so far. Fruit, yogurt, egg, ham, toast, sausage and tomato. Not to mention the orange juice and coffee. Very yummy!

The hostess was nice as well.

Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSportschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

- Nice, warm and careful owner
- Great rooms and good en-suite
- Good breakfast in first class breakfast room
- Kinsale is a very nice harbour place to walk around

Room Tip: I should go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvdrdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at this B&B for one night during a honeymoon trip.
Arriving was a bit hectic as we had some issues and thought we would arrive late. We phoned Margaret from Dublin and she was very kind and told us not to worry and to take our time. We received a slightly reserved but not rude welcome upon arrival. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very uncomfortable and the shower very weak with pressure. Our walls were paper thin and we could hear conversations out in the hall ( mainly at 5 or 6am when a couple were leaving and whispering but we could still here...)
The location is excellent with a short walk into a very lovely town.
Breakfast was very very good and we especially loved the frosted glasses for the orange juice. There was a full cooked breakfast along with fruit and yogurt. Over all we would reccommend this place for a stop over but with the bed being really awkward probably not more than that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kneesha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
0.0 mi away
The K Kinsale
The K Kinsale
#31 of 53 in Kinsale
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 53 in Kinsale
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbour Hill Farm
Harbour Hill Farm
#8 of 53 in Kinsale
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
7.4 mi away
Bridgeview Farmhouse
Bridgeview Farmhouse
#2 of 3 in Kilbrittain
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove B&B

Property: Ashgrove B&B
Address: Ashgrove Bandon Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ashgrove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing