We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP RATING -- And Deserves it!”
Review of Walyunga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walyunga
Ranked #29 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“TOP RATING -- And Deserves it!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Kinsale is a fabulous place to visit in Ireland -- and walyunga is THE place to stay. We stayed there in September 2012 and LOVED IT. The house is a few miles outside of town on a plateau that overlooks fields and hedgerows, with a great view of the ocean. The room was large, impeccably adorned, clean and bright -- with a double set of windows overlooking a beautiful garden. Everything was "barefoot" clean, with crisp, white linens, beautiful duvet, a wonderful sitting room across the hall and a large modern -- and very clean bathroom. And what made it special as well was the full tub. The proprietors were wonderful, from arrival to departure. And the breakfast was masterful, with all the typical options -- salmon and eggs, full Irish breakfast, cereals, yogurts, toast, etc. They gave us a great recommendation on a restaurant -- Jim Edwards (in the center of town). HIGHLY recommend Walyunga. You won't regret it. If you would like more information contact me at dukedad@gmail.com. Thanks again Myrtle and John for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent two nights in Myrtle and John's front bedroom which has the most beautiful view across Myrtle's colorful and well tended garden to the fields below and eventually the ocean. They are very genuine and truly lovely people and they made us feel very welcome in their home. I wished we had longer to talk to them. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and we didn't need much more to eat each day. Kinsale had so much for us to do and if we come back we will stay longer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed with Myrtle and John at Walyunga on the first night of our honeymoon. The serene location up on a bluff overlooking the waters below was a welcoming sight after a frustrating airplane journey to Ireland. Myrtle extended warm welcome and showed us to our room with two large windows overlooking their manicured garden and the sea below. After settling in, Myrtle provided a informative overview of the town of Kinsale along with dinner recommendations depending on what we were looking for. She also recommending the fort in the morning, which was well worth the visit. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and Myrtle and John were delightful to converse with before setting out for a day of sightseeing in Kinsale and heading southwest along the coast.

Apart from the wonderful stay, Myrtle went above and beyond on customer service. My wife has a treasured stuff animal she still keeps and left it in the covers at Walyunga on the morning of departure. We didn't discover it was missing until arriving later that night in Killarney. Myrtle and I exchanged emails and she offered to ship it the hotel we would be staying at in Dublin at the tail end of our trip a week later so we wouldn't have to drive several extra hours off our planned route. My wife was ecstatic to be greeted by Rocky upon arrival in Dublin. It was a extremely king gesture and representative of their customer service. Cheers.

Room Tip: If the back room (when considering from the primary entry point) with the large windows overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

When Chris showed us to our corner room with its two large picture windows looking out across a lovely garden to the sea, I said, "You've got a bit of heaven here." It was that beautiful. I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable room and splendid setting. Chris and Myrtle are kind, caring and helpful people, and it was a pleasure to visit with them. Myrtle helped us plan our time in Kinsale and then went on to offer useful tips for the remainder of our trip.

Not only do Chris and Myrtle have a charming home, but there's a wonderful walk down to Sandy Cove. And a scrumptious breakfast! I'm running out of postive adjectives...couldn't ask for anything more and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during the last leg of our honeymoon in Ireland. It was by far our best B&B experience of the trip (although we really didn't have a bad stay anywhere). The owners were friendly, the food was delicious, the property grounds were just lovely and the location -- set up above the town -- made for a quiet, peaceful stay. Myrtle and John even left a flower, some chocolate and sweet note in our room, congratulating us on our recent nuptials.

I would absolutely recommend Walyunga B&B to anyone planning to visit the town of Kinsale.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My friend Diane (on her very first trip to Ireland) and I, felt so welcomed and comfortable in this lovely B&B. Our hosts, John and Myrtle, were fabulous. We didn't have a car, and travelled by bus and train, but it was no problem for these lovely people to transport us in and out of Kinsale. The accommodation was superb in Walyunga. The breakfasts were delicous, and we felt as if "this is the best of what Ireland has to offer" in terms of welcome, superb scenery, gracious hosts, and general feel-good memories.

Room Tip: Any room suggested by John and Myrtle is wonderful. Go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Best Breakfest we had on our trip to Ireland. Hostess most helpful and her husband even helped with a flat tire. View was stunning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
959 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Kinsale Holiday Lodges
Kinsale Holiday Lodges
#5 of 6 in Kinsale
3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#11 of 53 in Kinsale
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walyunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walyunga

Property: Walyunga
Address: Sandycove, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing