We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place...Great Location...Great Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Antonio
Ranked #10 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great Place...Great Location...Great Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My family stayed at the San Antonio B&B in Kinsale for 2 nights in July 2013. The location was perfect....within walking distance of everything. The B&B itself was really neat...very old...a lot of history. But very clean and well maintained. And the host was great! Jimmy was personable, helpful and made a great breakfast too. Our large traveling party occupied 3 rooms at the B&B...everyone thought it was great! By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving family!
Jimmy was the perfect host! Would highly recommend the San Anotonio B&B to anyone visiting Kinsale! (It is a beautiful city too!)

Room Tip: Parking is tight since it is right in town....but Jimmy will help with this too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good location, in town center but quiet. Room ok, bed ok.
Host very friendly and will advise on any topic. Superb breakfast, freshly cooked upon order, home made bread.

When returning to Kinsale (which is possible, nice little town with plenty of places to eat and drink, beautifull hikes in the area, so a perfect destination for a few days out) we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our very first stay in Ireland was with Jimmy at his San Antonio B&B. Perfect beginning to a great vacation. Breakfast was a delicious, traditional, full Irish and impeccably served. Jimmy never steered us wrong with his recommendations for restaurants or sights to be seen. Everything was nearby. It was a pleasure to come back after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itchiemitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Kinsale streets aren't easy to navigate, so your Garmin won't help you find the San Antonio. Park and walk up Cork Street to the corner of Friar's; the house and small front-yard parking area is surrounded by a hedge . . . there's a larger parking lot across the street.

Jimmie greeted us at the door and led our party of three to two rooms on the third floor, both architecturally unique and delightful. When we asked him about a pottery studio outside of the city, he dialed it up for us and let us speak to the owners for directions and hours of operation. From his breakfast service to his recommendations of dining places, Jimmie made us feel like honored guests, even seeing us out to our car. We felt like we were leaving an old friend after two days. This gentle-man (take the word either way) possesses the special quality of making you feel at home. That, in itself, is priceless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Might be hard to find but location was great to walk the town, Jimmy gave great advice for where to go for food and some AWESOME music, breakfast was great--only complaint was that the towels were a little "worn" ..but am I in Ireland for fluffy towels NO!! Thanks again for a great stay in Kinsale

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you plan to stay in Kinsale, and you should, this B&B is the perfect location. It's a great old house (a former rectory) that has been converted to a B&B and is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Kinsale. Another big plus is that there is a small parking lot in the front yard; parking is not easy to come by in Kinsale proper! Our bedroom was up the grand staircase. The bedroom had modern furniture, flat screen TV and wifi. The bathroom was older but had a great shower. Jimmie is a great host. Be sure to ask him about some of the artifacts displayed in the house!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Jimmie is a wonderful host and this is a great place to stay. It's in a great part of town, only about a 5-10 minute walk to the city center. As many of said below, Jimmie's breakfast is great. There is also a small parking area if you are driving. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsims74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio

Property: San Antonio
Address: San Antonio 1 Friars Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing