We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only suitable for small people...”

Rockview Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Only suitable for small people...”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We happened to stop in kinsale and the cheery exterior caught my eye... We went in took the room dumped bags and left to experience kinsale... It was only when my Fiance tried to have a shower he is 6" 4 or so that we realised the bathroom was tiny.. couldn't fit in the shower and when he needed the loo the door had to remain open wide open he could'n fit in bit like putting a square peg in round hole... He is not as wide as he is tall i might say of normal width... i tried to use shower and even i hit my head and im 5 " 2... the room was clean enough but we got no tea bags. we paid extra for a cooked breakfast which was standard nothing amazing and the bacon was very very salty.It did for the night but I think i would look for somewhere more comfortable next time..

Room Tip: Make sure you fit in Bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justine140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Anchorage Bed and Breakfast, which I didn't see listed in TripAdvisor, so I will write this review here, as the people that own the Rockview own Anchorage as well. We stayed 2 nights, a Friday and Saturday.
We had a nice big room, that looked clean to me. The parking, while not their own lot, was adequate enough, they have a large public lot close by. There were a lot of stairs to get up to the Anchorage, but they had warned us about that prior to booking. Location was good I thought, very close to town although not right in it. 5 minute walk to town. Kinsale can get loud on the weekends.
My biggest beef with this place was the noise that traveled right through the house. The owners rambunctious 4 year old kid stayed up till midnight one night (later than we were) and you could hear everything going on with him and the other guests. Noise really travels in this place, beware!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vtjbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a week's tour of south-west Ireland. The room was fine and was an easy short walk to the centre of the town - about three minutes. We were a little disappointed with the welcome - everywhere else we had stayed during the week away was so welcoming and the hosts really friendly, however here we didn't even get a 'How was your journey?' It felt like we were wasting their time by speaking to them and like they couldn't wait to get rid of us the next morning once we had paid for our night's accommodation. A bit of a shame for our last night of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Ideal low cost B & B, no frills, central location, Mary was very friendly and a big breakfast was served in the dining room.

The stay was practical and the premises was clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here while attending a wedding. The lady who looked after us was so nice. The room and bathroom was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. We felt so relaxed and we really enjoyed our stay. Would absolutely stay there again. Highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckystar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. It was our first B&B in our trip so we didn't really know what to expect...The location is really great, just a block away from the resturaunts and shops. We were able to park right behind the house, and there is overflow parking right around the corner. This B&B is pretty straight forward...you get a bed and a big breakfast. Our room was nice, but sneaking a peek at some of the others I think we got the best one. The bed wasn't very comfortable, but it was big. The bathroom was also nice, and there was built in storage around the bed if you wanted to get your suitcase out of the middle of the room. Downstairs is the dining area (no sitting room or other rooms in the house). The owners live in the house behind this one, so it was not hard to let them know when we arrived. They were really friendly and made a huge traditional breakfast as well as cereal. The food was good, but after experiencing breakfasts at other B&B's after this one, we realized it was very basic. It was in the middle for what we paid for B&B's on our trip (40 euro)...not sure if it was worth that much, but overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernmcgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Française en Italie
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

As the other review says, there is absolutely no facility for people who cannot go throuh the very small stairs.
The room were small, bathroom was terrible. I can write the same things that are reported in the other review.
According to me this was not really very clean.
No "family welcome" at all, this was more like a motel... Lots of very small rooms with those small stairs...
This is absolutely not worth spending 90 euros for two people as we did.

This is in the center of Kinsale, but Kinsale is very small so you can find other places to stay there much better than this one... (the one that was behind their car park seemed to be lovely from the outside - but be aware of this because lot of B & B's in Ireland seems very nice from the outside and are not good at all inside...)

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnseLazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kinsale hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joy's Accommodation
Joy's Accommodation
#48 of 53 in Kinsale
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#39 of 53 in Kinsale
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rockview Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rock View The Glen, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing