We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Introduction to Kinsale”

Don & Barry's Historic Stroll in Old Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don & Barry's Historic Stroll in Old Kinsale. The original daily walking tour of Kinsale. Daily 7 days from Kinsale Tourist Office at 11.15 April-Oct. Plus early bird tour at 9.15 May-Sept, Mon- Sat. Selected by Rick Steves as 'Kinsale's single best attraction' Duration 1 hour approx, suits all ages, rain or shine!Tours Nov-March by appointment only
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Introduction to Kinsale”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We very much enjoyed the historic stroll ! It provided us with a great historical perspective for the lovely Kinsale. When we visited Charles Fort, we understood the significance of the harbor and its impact on the Town of Kinsale. Start your stay in Kinsale with this tour!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fpigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    30
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Informative AND intertaining!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

There is no better way to digest a "full Irish Breakfast" than by strolling through Kinsale with Don and Barry. Kinsale absolutely overflows with charm with its twisting narrow streets, noisy seagulls and the salty smells around the harbor. But these fellows take you through the rich history of the place, pointing our the significance of tiny alleys and mysterious slopes (left over from rolling huge barrels of cargo down to waiting ships), and even an intact section of the town's medieval wall. Before that I never realized that a battle outside those walls changed Irish history forever (but let them tell you about it). From the Middle Ages to the sinking of the Lusitania and the Irish Civil War,this is Irish storytelling (and a bit of exercise) at its best!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I were touring Ireland last month investigating possibilities for setting up a sister city partnership with our small town in West Virginia, and Kinsale was one of the towns we were looking at. We had also been told that Don and Barry's Stroll was a must-see. We tried it out and were overwhelmed how wonderful it was. Barry has an amazing knack of making everyone feel included and appreciated, especially when you realize that every tour has people from all over the world who have varying skills in understanding English. He was entertaining, funny, informative and engaging. I would recommend it highly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnmmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryMoloney, Owner at Don & Barry's Historic Stroll in Old Kinsale, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks John,
I'm so happy ye enjoyed your Kinsale visit.
Here's to future stronger links with Lewisburg.
Come back soon,
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great way to know a bit more about Kinsale”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely way to spend an hour and a half. Barry was utterly charming, shook hands with everyone on the tour at the start and took a genuine interest.
It can't be easy delivering the same tour all the time but Barry's enthusiasm was very genuine and really added to the experience.

It was a great way to see a bit of Kinsale and hear the history of the town. We finished up out on the water front with a very engaging story of the Battle of Kinsale. Also included in the tour was a trip to the graves of those who died in the Lusitania "outrage" and a very interesting telling of the shipping provisioning history of the town.

Thank you Barry, pity you weren't my history teacher when I was in school, I may well have done better!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gleann2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent for the whole family”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our family of 5 went on this tour and thoroughly enjoyed learning the history and information about Kinsale. It was informative and very worthwhile... one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don & Barry's Historic Stroll in Old Kinsale also viewed

 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Don & Barry's Historic Stroll in Old Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing