We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best mistakes!”
Review of Duvane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duvane House
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best mistakes!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were having trouble with our phone, so I went to the Tourist office in Cobh and asked them to call the B& B we wanted to stay at (we usually plan as we go). I pointed to the wrong one in the book, but it was a great mistake! Noreen greeted us warmly and asked about our day. We were offered a choice of rooms and once we chose one, we chatted, had tea and discussed where to go for the evening. She gave us directions and told us where to park so that our car would not get locked in the church parking lot! Breakfast the next morning was terrific! They even make their own delicious honey! The room was spacious and the bathroom was comfortable. The house and surrounding gardens are full of charm and character. We will definitely stay here again and send others Noreen's way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our party of three adults and one child stayed at the lovely Duvane House for one night in July 2012 on an overnight visit to Clonakilty. We chose this B&B because of the promise of a rustic, period farmhouse set in amongst pretty gardens and we certainly weren't disappointed. The house is full of character and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable. Added to this, Noreen gave us such a warm welcome I felt like I was visiting my own family. We really appreciated how our four year old was fussed over and given a personal tour of the farmyard. There's a great choice for breakfast and we enjoyed the chance to try out fresh local produce -- and got loads of tips on where to pick up our own supply of fish, veg and brown bread during our self-catering stay in Skibbereen the following week. All in all, I'd highly recommended a stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room on the first landing to the left and loved it. The beds were so comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at Duvane House and were given a very warm welcome from Noreen who is very friendly and chatty and goes out of her way to help. As we were the only guests staying at that time we really were well looked after. The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable and we were also offered a choice of room. The breakfast was also very good and we were offered a variety of choice. An excellent choice for anyone staying in this area.

Room Tip: The back room with two beds faces the back of the farm so for a better view the front of the house w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanieL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Duvane House is a lovely home and located in the delightful heritage town of Clonakilty. We felt welcome and comfortable from the moment we walked in the door.Noreen is eager to help with suggestions of what to see in West Cork to make sure your visit is memorable. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room of the farm house that glistens with crystal in the china cabinets. Noreen's homemade jam, marmalade and honey (from her hives) made breakfast even more delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night at Duvane House in Clonakilty, a shame as our stay was very enjoyable. Noreen was very welcoming and we were allowed to pick our room as we were the only guests staying. The Irish breakfast the next day was just what we needed. There was also home made muesli, fresh fruit and honey from the farm's beehive. The reason why we picked a B&B is because the local hotels are quite expensive. No regrets and can highly recommend Duvane House. The room had a lovely decor and large brass bed. With the delicous breakfast and warm hospitality, we couldn't have wished for a better place to stay in Clonakilty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereisonlyoneofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Having been advised to go to West Cork, we arrived in Clonakilty on a sunny afternoon, and began looking for accommodation. First try was
with the Tourist information Office, and the result was a room at Duvane Farm. Lucky old us! It wasn't difficult to find, although the N71 to Skibbereen is quite a busy road, so you need to be careful when turning into & out of the farm.

We were greeted by Noreen McCarthy, and as we moved our bags upstairs
she rustled up tea and biscuits, and then sat and told us about the farm and the area. Duvane Farm is no longer a fully working farm, because Noreen and her husband, Rensie, have semi-retired, but there are horses, dogs, cats, some hens and peacocks about the place, plus Noreen's bees, from which she gets the honey you eat at breakfast.
Our room was big, with furniture to match, and an enormous brass bedstead. There were tea/coffeee facilities, and the ubiquitous TV in the room. The only quibble we had was that the bathroom was a bit small, but its an old house, not built as a B&B, so allowances must be made.

Breakfast was taken in a lovely dining-room, which seemed to prompt conversation between the guests, and the food was very good, with plenty of choice. There was loads of space for parking, and, despite being close to the N71, there was little noise. We explored the region, going to Baltimore and the Mizen Head, and were struck by the beauty of the area. Closer to Clonakilty are the beaches at Inchydoney, but its very well known, and thus very busy. When we went to look at it the weather was sunny & warm, and everyone and their friends were there. The roads are narrow, parking is haphazard,
and the presence of a tour-bus (getting stuck) made us leave rather quickly! There are plenty of other places within a few miles, however, so the best thing is to explore the lanes and find tranquillity. Another place of interest is Lough Hine (or Ine), near Baltimore, which is a unique sea-lough. When we went there, a chap was selling ice-cream cornets which were delicious, and great value! We'd happily direct any traveller to stay with Noreen & Rensie McCarthy, who have the happy knack of making you feel as though you've known them for years.

  • Liked — Period charm
  • Disliked — Small bathroom/shower (Wasn't THAT bad!)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Acker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
3.3 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
134 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duvane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duvane House

Property: Duvane House
Address: Ballyduvane, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Clonakilty
Hotel Class:4 star — Duvane House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing