We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Charming Clonakilty!”
Review of An Sugan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An Sugan
Ranked #12 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Earlier this month we stopped by chance for one unplanned night in Clonakilty on our way back to Dublin following a holiday down in Kerry. We arrived mid-evening and walked around this charming little town to find somewhere to stay. We discounted various hotels on the grounds of cost and kept wandering around until we chanced upon the beautiful flowery front of the An Sugan Seafood Bar that fronts on to the main street. We noted that there was B&B accommodation adjoining the restaurant on a quieter street; it is a lovely big old house that has been completely refurbished to an excellent standard. Our bedroom on the second floor was extremely spacious, tastefully decorated, had a comfortable bed, modern ensuite bathroom with shower cublicle, etc.. We had already eaten before we arrived in Clonakilty so we cannot comment on the award winning An Sugan Seafood Bar apart from saying that it was very busy indeed and the seafood menus looked delightful!

We spent a wonderful evening in the town, enjoying a free traditional Irish music session in O'Donovan's Hotel. We also spent a pleasant hour in a characterful live music bar called 'De Barra' on Pearse Street.

After a very comfortable night in the An Sugan B&B, we had breakfast and it was delightful featuring a lot of locally sourced food. Instead of picking the hearty Irish breakfast we selected scrambled eggs with local Union Hall salmon and it was very tasty indeed. There was also home made bread and it was outstandingly flavoursome, so much so that we asked for the recipe and was given a handwritten version to bring home with me. The jam and other preserves were also home made. All in all, definitely the best breakfast we have had in an hotel or B&B for a long time!

If we had read the reviews below on the internet we would have immediately discounted this Seafood Bar and B&B and that would have been a terrible mistake!! We would encourage everyone to go and visit Clonakility, what a charming town it is, and we plan to return there and stay at An Sugan again, hopefully next year if possible. It is within easy reach of Cork Airport and would make a great long weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

Karin Kraus
Email: mom_of_262@yahoo.com
Phone: N/A
Message: We visited your restaurant twice during our 2-week stay this May. Your food was outstanding! My husband and I really enjoyed the brown bread served with our meals.
Since we live in the USA and won't be able to come by anytime in the near future, I was wondering if you would possibly share your brown bread recipe?
It was the best we had (and we went to a lot of restaurants) and I would love to re-create it. Only, of course, if it isn't a guarded secret recipe.
Thanks in advance!

Karin Kraus

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hubble2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Eat here last year & was very good,; but this year what's happened?
We eat on a Monday evening, only appeared to be two staff on and they were completely indiferent to customers.
My wife's rib eye was tough and small. Every thing was extra!
No Atmosphere what so ever.
We vist Clonakilty each year but will not be going back there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stupug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Please do not eat in this pub if you have a quesy stomach.

We ate lunch at this pub recently and I can only describe the food as revolting. The onions in my toasted sandwich were black; a point which the bar man found extremely amusing.

I can;t for the life of me understand how they have a Georgina Campbell sign outside the door-she obviously didn't have the ' toasted special'.

Avoid at all costs and go to a real restaurant.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank Erasmus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

I've just returned from a week in Clonakilty, Co Cork. We were recommended "An Sugan" by a friend so decided to try it out last Thursday night. We were seated fairly quickly on arrival which was great, but then the "fun" began. We had the most ignorant and obnoxious waiter you could ever imagine. We arrived about 8.30pm and would have like to have had a drink or 2 before ordering but when we asked the waiter when the last food orders would be taken he informed us rather abruptly, "NOW, You are the last orders". You can imagine how strange we found this when 3 couples walked through the door 45 minutes later. We ordered our food which we weren't waiting a life time to be served but this was sent with no cutlery. We sat and waited for about 5 minutes but when the waiter never materialised we went and got our own. We were one set short when he did show up again and when we asked him to get us another set he stormed off, came back and basically threw the cutlery on the table and asked "Everything alright now" rather sarcastically. When we were served our main courses, a friend asked for some mayonnaise which was also flung onto the table from a distance. I have to say our experience here, even though the food was very good, will be enough to make me never return. An awful shame. Get it sorted Denny

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
Thank Garreth_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

I was recently attending a Hen Night in Clonakilty, all the women were staying in An Sugan it was €35pp B&B, which considering it was the june bank holiday weekend it seemed very cheap, after reading these reviews now i know why.

My complaint is about the restaurant food, staff and service in which a group of 17 people received.

Because everyone was staying in the B&B it made sense to have a quick tea in the bar ( bar food) before all heading out for the night. Even though we had arranged to have dinner in the bar, because there was such a large group of us they put us in the dining room upstairs and told us that we only had an hour to eat as there was another group coming in. As we all only wanted a quick bite with a few glasses of wine we didnt mind.

That was until we saw the menu, it was a complete rip off. Chicken Goujons and side salad €15.90 this did not include chips, that was an extra €3.90. Lasagne €15.90 with side salad did not include chips. Most of the main courses included veg, potatoes or chips, but the courses that are popular bar food fare did not.

When we asked the waiting staff could they do anything about the price of the chips ( after all there was 17 of us there a few extra baskets of chips wouldn't have broke the bank) so she got he manager. Who turned out to be the most ignorant unhelpful person i have ever met in the Hospitality industry. He kept saying there the prices, thats the way it is. Well he didn't say it for long as we all got up and walked out.

He lost out on about €500 as we were ordering 6 bottles of wine also, it was there loss.

I rang the Emmet Hotel after leaving and asked them about their bar food menu, price wise etc. I told them we were on our way 17 of us could they cater for us. On arrival they had tables pushed together for us, it was outstanding service. The Emmet Hotel had a beautiful menu, and the Chicken Goujons there were €14.50 which included a lovely fresh salad and chips. The staff were so friendly and helpful they even kept coming around asking us did we want more chips.

NO MORE TO RIP OFF REPUBLIC: THOSE DAYS ARE GONE

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank chuckenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I did not stay in the B&B section of “An Sugan”, but did attempt to have lunch in their restaurant. Below is the text of a complaint I sent to the Food Safety Authority (FSAI) about my experience:

Last Wednesday, 15 August 2007, my family and I, six persons in total, went to "An Sugan” in Clonakilty Co. Cork for lunch. We were seated in the inner room on the ground floor, beyond the bar. Immediately after sitting down we began to notice the flies. More correctly, it was impossible not to notice the flies, as the room was simply “alive” with them. At one point, there were three flies on my father’s shoulder, multiple flies crawling on a wooden fitting immediately behind him, as well as more on the table in front of him and others flying around us. The number of flies was unbelievable. In thirty years of extensive travel all over the globe, I have never, ever, anywhere encountered anything remotely like the number of flies we found in An Sugan. In a word, it was disgusting, and a clear breach of elementary health standards. We heard other customers complain to the staff about flies actually on their food, so after a few minutes of this I went and complained to the bar man, who I believe is also the owner. His comments indicated that he was aware of the problem, but was unable to do anything about it. Unable even to control flies?!! We got up and left at this point.

To conclude, the problem with flies in An Sugan last Wednesday was far, far beyond any normal level, and was unbearable. This restaurant should be closed until they can establish and maintain basic hygiene standards.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
3  Thank Wexflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
401 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Sugan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Sugan

Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Sugan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Georgian property, once home to poetess Mary Jane Irwin, An Sugan is a family-run guesthouse and seafood restaurant. Located at the heart of the historic city of Clankilty, the guesthouse is 10 minutes' walk from Clonakilty Museum, which boasts a display of Michael Collins memorabilia. Each room at An Sugan feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture is chic and modern and guests can enjoy a stylish environment. Yoghurt, cereals, and Full Irish breakfast are also included in the room rate. Next door to the guesthouse, the An Sugan seafood restaurant boasts an award-winning menu which is designed to complement fresh fish delivered daily and local produce. Guests can enjoy the West Cork Seafood Pie and Traditional Fresh Fish & Hand-Cut Potato Chips. The restaurant also offers lighter options and home-made desserts. 5 Km from the property, Inchydoney offers beautiful beaches and scenic views of the sea. Whale watching, fishing and surfing are amongst the activities available in this seaside town. Templebryan Stone Circle, also known as the Druid Temple, is 2 and half km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your An Sugan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing