We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, excellent experience.”
Review of An Sugan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An Sugan
Ranked #12 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, fantastic service, great breakfast, excellent value.
Will be back - highly recommend both the guest house and the pub, food was beautiful.
Very friendly staff - they could not have done more for us.
Will definitely be back here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanemcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 117 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The rooms are exactly as they look on the website and ridiculously cheap, which is refreshing!! They were finished to a high standard. A lot of money has clearly been spent on the modern, comfortable finishings. The artwork throughout the house was beautiful and the sitting room was comfortable with some great books to be perused at leisure. The breakfast was superb and cooked to order. I was in the area for work and didn't have much time to fully relax and enjoy the surroundings. I can't wait to get back to Clonakilty and when I do, I will most definitely be staying at An Sugan!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 which is featured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us this review. Your comments mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for weekend at start of Feb on the winter special offer which was great value. When we arrived staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was beautiful, stylish design and very comfy bed. Bathroom was clean and modern although I would have liked a bath as well as shower for that extra bit of luxury but the shower was hot and powerful so I survived! Location was central and near lots of good restaurants as well as the delicious an sugan restaurant itself. Will be back again if going to Clon again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Delightfully, friendly Inn; Room accommodation very friendly; Dining very, very good; Owner and staff pleasantly efficient, yet, extremely welcoming. Would definitely recommend staying here when touring West Cork.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carole B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very well known and liked west cork restaurant and bar. Specialising in sea food but with good all round menu. The home made chicken gougans are delcious, and really cosy eating in front of the fire. Reasonably priced and good for families as well, call in if you are in Clonakilty shopping or passing through.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thanks Dave for taking the time to give us feedback. Its very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband is from this town and we have stayed in many places over the years. An Sugan is just SO charming and beautiful. The location in the smack middle of this gorgeous little West Cork coastal town can't be beat. We have been going to their restaurant for 30 years but this is the first time we stayed there . The dining room where they serve an amazing Irish breakfast ( everything homemade) is bright and sunny . Adjacent to that is a beautiful fireplaced living room. The bedrooms are bright and extremely comfortable , irons in the room which was very helpful as we were attending a family wedding. My only suggestion would be for them to have a few adapter plugs for US/or Europe > UK for guests to use . We would HIGHLY Recommend to anyone visiting Clonakilty!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsayOdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback Lindsay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay on our guesthouse and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a lovely meal in An Sugan this weekend.

We shared the Clonakilty pudding starter which was a lovely mix of white and black pudding. A must for any tourist when in Clonakilty.

I had the mixed seafood in the filo bowl which was really nice and my fiancée had the seasbass which was even nicer.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murpmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks you so much for your review and kind comments.
We really appreciate you taking out the time to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Sugan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Sugan

Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Sugan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Georgian property, once home to poetess Mary Jane Irwin, An Sugan is a family-run guesthouse and seafood restaurant. Located at the heart of the historic city of Clankilty, the guesthouse is 10 minutes' walk from Clonakilty Museum, which boasts a display of Michael Collins memorabilia. Each room at An Sugan feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture is chic and modern and guests can enjoy a stylish environment. Yoghurt, cereals, and Full Irish breakfast are also included in the room rate. Next door to the guesthouse, the An Sugan seafood restaurant boasts an award-winning menu which is designed to complement fresh fish delivered daily and local produce. Guests can enjoy the West Cork Seafood Pie and Traditional Fresh Fish & Hand-Cut Potato Chips. The restaurant also offers lighter options and home-made desserts. 5 Km from the property, Inchydoney offers beautiful beaches and scenic views of the sea. Whale watching, fishing and surfing are amongst the activities available in this seaside town. Templebryan Stone Circle, also known as the Druid Temple, is 2 and half km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your An Sugan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing